We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$234
Hotels.com$234
Priceline$234
Travelocity$234
Agoda.com$234
ZenHotels.com$241
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
397
21
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
397
21
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home away from home washer and dryer andersonville neighborhood gas grill two bedroom suite lincoln square quiet hours garage parking great neighborhood a great place to stay chicago area restaurants and bars within walking distance definitely stay here again three nights long weekend the loop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2022

Great small hotel in a great area on the north end of Chicago. Easy to get to and very close to the main street of Andersonville and walking distance to Uptown. This is a modern space with a vintage vibe. The main lobby is very open with coffee available 24x7, a very nice sitting area with a fireplace and a well-stocked library with comfortable seats and a large table. The staff is outstanding, warmly greeting us whenever we came and went and had some excellent recommendations for the area. Truly a guest-centered hospitality.

We picked this spot due to the walkability of the local area and within walking distance of the Aragon where we were going to a show. Booking it kind of blindly, we made a great choice. Good restaurants and bars in the area and very walkable, even late at night.

We really appreciated the reserved parking as it was easy to get in and out. Our room was a double on (405) and, while right off of the elevator, it was very quiet. The room was actually an apartment - fully furnished kitchen, a nice living room and separated bedrooms. Both bathrooms were very large, and there was even extra blankets, towels and pillows available within the room. Good lighting, and excellent view, and everything was clean. The room even has a small balcony (a bit cold for sitting on while we were there) with excellent views and a ready-to-go gas grill.

The beds and furniture were very comfortable and the full-sized refrigerator was a nice touch.

Overall, a great stay, great staff, and a great location. Definitely stay here again when coming to the Chicago area.

Room tip: Ask for a room on 3rd or 4th flor for better views
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheAngeloS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RICK VERKLER, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2022

Thank you TheAngeloS! I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and happy your blind choosing paid off! Thank you for taking time to share your experience with this lovely and thoughtful review. It was really nice meeting you and I appreciate all the wonderful accolades! I will make sure to share this review with our team!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Happy Holidays!

Rick Verkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2022 via mobile

This hotel of Suites was what I prayed for...it is a Hidden Gem in the Andersonville/Lincoln Square Area of North Chicago...between 5-10 minutes from all the CULTURE ... The Suites are spacious and emaculate with all the emenities of a upscale Beach Condo. It also had Great On site Parking by reservation...12Ft ceilings..crown moldings..in unit washer & dryers ...need I say more..I WAS IN LINCOLN PARK BECAUSE OF THE DEATH OF MY BROTHER AND I FOUND MUCH COMFORT HERE...TRIP ADVISOR NEEDS MORE STARS FOR THIS ONE.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank juliebC5119HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RICK VERKLER, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2022

Dear Julie,
Thank you so much for this lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you and I am so happy we could be here for you at this difficult time. I truly appreciate all the kind words and I hope we can welcome you back under happier circumstances next time.

Warm regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2022

EXCELLENT!!! Beautiful, big condo/flat! Large, bright kitchen and LR, balcony with a grill and a view! Beds very comfy, private self parking in a garage shared with one other guest. We would 100% stay here again! It is 8 miles from the Chicago Theater, which is why we were here, for a concert. Uber from hotel to downtown and back. Great bars and restaurants within walking distance too! Highly recommend!

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank spartaw2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RICK VERKLER, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2022

Thank you for this wonderful review! It was a pleasure having you stay and we're delighted you enjoyed your time with us! We are spoiled by our amazing neighborhood of great restaurants and shops and glad to see you enjoyed them, too! Thanks for taking time to share your experience and I look forward to your return...100%!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2022

We made the move from CA to Chicago and needed temporary housing for two months prior to moving into our new home. Our daughter suggested The Guesthouse Hotel and it proved to be the perfect accommodation. The hotel is very dog friendly (a must for us) and the staff is extremely welcoming and accommodating. The location is ideal as the Andersonville neighborhood has great walkability and a wonderful variety of restaurants, cafés, and small independent shops. The hotel suites are well appointed and include an in-unit washer and dryer. The kitchen has all the basics needed for an extended stay and overall we felt quite comfortable in our temporary home. And we took advantage of the lovely rooftop deck to view the Blue Angels air show performance. In addition, covered garage parking is available. Without doubt I can’t recommend The Guesthouse Hotel highly enough and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to visiting family and guests.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janishugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RICK VERKLER, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2022

Thank you for this fantastic review! It was a pleasure to be your temporary home while you got settled here in the Windy City!
Thank you for taking time share your experience and all the accolades. It's greatly appreciated!
We hope you're enjoying your new Chicago home and if you ever want to pop over to the Roof Deck to watch the Blue Angels again, just say the word!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2022 via mobile

A quality hotel with a very congenial staff. The rooms were clean and large with a nice balcony. Everything about the hotel was excellent except their refund policy is uncompromising. We booked the hotel for seven nights and after three nights our plans changed and asked for a refund. The staff was adamant that this was not their policy as it was stated in the original policy. Most people do not read the policy and I thought they could've been accommodating or at least offer a solution. But they did not and most people would question staying there after their position.

Room tip: Uncompromising refund policy if your state has to be shortened
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 499peterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews