We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in near Midway airport”
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Inn Midway
Ranked #45 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A gem in near Midway airport”
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We are staying here as I write this review. We're here based on other Trip Advisor reviewers' recommendations. The Carlton Inn Midway is a real gem. Our room is not large, but is very clean and comfortable. The front desk clerks go way beyond giving service. I mentioned when I made my reservation that we were going to a Cubs game. When we registered they gave us a complete printout of the bus route to take to get to the game. They had prepared it in advance. Where have we ever received that kind of service? Nowhere in this country! The inn also provides shuttle service to and from many of the dining establishments in the area. And free parking and wifi. I thank other reviewers who made us aware of this wonderful inn. It is really nice.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnicolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    202
    48
    15
    9
See reviews for
215
209
50
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Ultra clean hotel and great value. Stayed 2 nights on a father son get away and this hotel was perfect. Its short walk to the subway or they are always willing to give you a shuttle ride and pick up. its a little far from the city but the price is right. Decent neighboor hood but not much to do in the immediate walking area. If its a girls trip stay in the city. Guys youll be fine here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We arrived too early to check in so the only room available was a smoking room. Yolanda let us check it out, but it was a too smelly for us non-smokers. She indicated there would be more of a choice after the 12:00 noon checkout time. We came back and she was able to accommodate us. I was unaware of the fact that when you book through Travelocity, you aren't guaranteed the type (non-smoking) of room you requested. Yolanda explained all of this and was still able to arrange for the type of room we requested. Yolanda was great!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to assure you get the type of room you requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We just stayed a week at the Carlton Inn, and it met our needs--and our budget--very well. We wanted an affordable hotel because of the length of our stay, and we needed a place to park that wouldn't bankrupt us. We also needed easy access to public transportation to get into the city each day (we had to drive TO Chicago, but prefer public transport, when we are there), and we wanted a hotel with free WiFi, breakfast, and microwave/refrigerator, if possible. The Carlton Inn came through on all accounts.

Others have already commented on the wonderful customer service here, and I agree. They gave us transit maps, dining recommendations, rides to and from the El stop when desired, and fulfilled every request (use of iron and ironing board, more tea bags at breakfast) immediately and pleasantly. They even bought my extra transit passes from me, when part of our party was not able to join us as planned, saving me a major hassle in trying to return them. (The Carlton Inn sells 1- and 3-day CTA passes as a service to their guests, but I had bought mine online before traveling to Chicago, and they had no obligation to help me out.)

Now, don't expect a newer, up-scale hotel that's just around the corner from Navy Pier. You'll pay a fortune for *that*. The Carlton Inn is older and about 20 minutes out from the Loop (plus a 5-10 minute walk to the station), but if you head into a stay with that knowledge, you will not be disappointed. The neighborhood is working-class, but doesn't feel dangerous, at least not as late as we were out. (We walked a lot and had two children with us, so I'm very safety-conscious.) There are many places to eat nearby, a mix of local restaurants--including a Giordano's (stuffed pizza)--and national chains. There's also a strip mall nearby, which came in handy.

Our room was a bit dark and the decor seemed a little worn, but it was very quiet, the AC worked beautifully, the TV was good, the WiFi was fast, the sheets and towels were fresh, clean and nice, the beds and pillows were great. Our bathroom was small and a bit dingy, but clean, and the shower was hot and strong. The breakfast isn't fantastic, but there's enough variety that everyone can find something they like: orange juice, apples, oranges, yogurt, donuts, bagels, and sausage/egg/cheese-on-bagel breakfast sandwiches.

Bottom line: This isn't the Ritz (or even the Hampton Inn), but it's as good a deal as you're likely to find in Chicago, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel is truly surprising. It's in a quite bland if not iffy neighborhood, and when you drive up and see the set-up, it looks like an old-style, roadside motel with the two floors and outside, fire-escape-style access. But it's a terrific value for Chicago. The rooms are clean and well-maintained. There is security posted to keep you and your car safe. And the front-desk staff is EXTRAORDINARY -- with concierge-level help to get you around and offer suggestions. I never would have thought this was a good option, but it really is. And it is the staff who makes it, as several other reviewers note. This hotel management should teach effective hiring and training practices (this coming from a professional HR person).

Breakfast is good as well, though quarters are a bit cramped.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#135 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Southwest Side
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Quality Inn Midway Airport
#139 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Inn Midway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Inn Midway

Property: Carlton Inn Midway
Address: 4944 S Archer Ave, Chicago, IL 60632-3623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#72 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,693 - ₹ 11,613
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Inn Midway 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Inn Midway offers the amenities and services of home or office. We are located 1.8 miles from Midway Airport with complimentary 24-hour transportation to and from. Whether you are in Chicago for a convention at McCormick Place or Shopping the Magnificent Mile we are 7 miles from the downtown area, with easy driving access via I-55 and around the corner from the Orange Line Elevated Train, a 15 minute train ride to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Carlton Inn Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Inn Midway Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing