We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Inn Midway
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$ 636
US$ 587
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 247
US$ 231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 263
US$ 234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 248
US$ 209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 586
US$ 375
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 425
US$ 369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 645
US$ 421
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 234
US$ 167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 254
US$ 216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 204
US$ 161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
440
226
53
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
226
53
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange linetrain stationshuttle servicefree shuttlepark and flypancake machineroom was cleancontinental breakfastclose to the airportyogurtmicrowave and fridgechicago areaan early flightrental carlate at nightpublic transitflat screen tv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Ultra clean hotel and great value. Stayed 2 nights on a father son get away and this hotel was perfect. Its short walk to the subway or they are always willing to give you a shuttle ride and pick up. its a little far from the city but the price is right. Decent neighboor hood but not much to do in the immediate walking area. If its a girls trip stay in the city. Guys youll be fine here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We arrived too early to check in so the only room available was a smoking room. Yolanda let us check it out, but it was a too smelly for us non-smokers. She indicated there would be more of a choice after the 12:00 noon checkout time. We came back and she was able to accommodate us. I was unaware of the fact that when you book through Travelocity, you aren't guaranteed the type (non-smoking) of room you requested. Yolanda explained all of this and was still able to arrange for the type of room we requested. Yolanda was great!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to assure you get the type of room you requested.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We just stayed a week at the Carlton Inn, and it met our needs--and our budget--very well. We wanted an affordable hotel because of the length of our stay, and we needed a place to park that wouldn't bankrupt us. We also needed easy access to public transportation to get into the city each day (we had to drive TO Chicago, but prefer public transport, when we are there), and we wanted a hotel with free WiFi, breakfast, and microwave/refrigerator, if possible. The Carlton Inn came through on all accounts.

Others have already commented on the wonderful customer service here, and I agree. They gave us transit maps, dining recommendations, rides to and from the El stop when desired, and fulfilled every request (use of iron and ironing board, more tea bags at breakfast) immediately and pleasantly. They even bought my extra transit passes from me, when part of our party was not able to join us as planned, saving me a major hassle in trying to return them. (The Carlton Inn sells 1- and 3-day CTA passes as a service to their guests, but I had bought mine online before traveling to Chicago, and they had no obligation to help me out.)

Now, don't expect a newer, up-scale hotel that's just around the corner from Navy Pier. You'll pay a fortune for *that*. The Carlton Inn is older and about 20 minutes out from the Loop (plus a 5-10 minute walk to the station), but if you head into a stay with that knowledge, you will not be disappointed. The neighborhood is working-class, but doesn't feel dangerous, at least not as late as we were out. (We walked a lot and had two children with us, so I'm very safety-conscious.) There are many places to eat nearby, a mix of local restaurants--including a Giordano's (stuffed pizza)--and national chains. There's also a strip mall nearby, which came in handy.

Our room was a bit dark and the decor seemed a little worn, but it was very quiet, the AC worked beautifully, the TV was good, the WiFi was fast, the sheets and towels were fresh, clean and nice, the beds and pillows were great. Our bathroom was small and a bit dingy, but clean, and the shower was hot and strong. The breakfast isn't fantastic, but there's enough variety that everyone can find something they like: orange juice, apples, oranges, yogurt, donuts, bagels, and sausage/egg/cheese-on-bagel breakfast sandwiches.

Bottom line: This isn't the Ritz (or even the Hampton Inn), but it's as good a deal as you're likely to find in Chicago, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel is truly surprising. It's in a quite bland if not iffy neighborhood, and when you drive up and see the set-up, it looks like an old-style, roadside motel with the two floors and outside, fire-escape-style access. But it's a terrific value for Chicago. The rooms are clean and well-maintained. There is security posted to keep you and your car safe. And the front-desk staff is EXTRAORDINARY -- with concierge-level help to get you around and offer suggestions. I never would have thought this was a good option, but it really is. And it is the staff who makes it, as several other reviewers note. This hotel management should teach effective hiring and training practices (this coming from a professional HR person).

Breakfast is good as well, though quarters are a bit cramped.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The people at the front desk were VERY helpful! When going to different destinations the people at the front desk gave us a map each time and highlighted what train stops to get off on. They also gave us their phone number and we were able to call for information when we needed directions somewhere while we were downtown. The last day we were there they let us check out a couple of hours late, and they kept our bags for us until time for us to go to the airport. Breakfast was okay, same thing everyday, but not bad. It was quite a distance from the attractions downtown, but was close to the airport which was great since we got in late. I was very happy overall, and when I got to Chicago again, I will definitely consider staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews