We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Can't beat the price, location, atmosphere. The hostel itself was clean, modern, bright and the staff was super friendly and helpful. We had a private room with half bath which was perfect.
They had a Saturday night barbecue and it was a chance to meet everyone staying there.
Definitely will stay again!

Room Tip: pay the extra bit to have at least a half bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,322 - 1,326 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

I had a very good experience staying at the hostel solo, in Chicago. Location was near a train station and shopping.

Room Tip: make reservations far in advance--let them know if you need a bottom bunk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdfrancis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We got there and were updated to our own private room! The free breakfast and wi-fi is a nice touch. Not alot going on for the under 21 guests that cant go to the pubcrawls.. A bit frim the trainstation into the city.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed in the Getaway last summer for 8 nights & it was the best idea I had all summer. The breakfasts are brilliant catering for everyone, the planned nights out and trips around the city are A1 with an outing everyday on a weekly planner. Great atmosphere. The BBQ's are fun and its a very social hostel. Will be back all the way from Ireland!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a bathroom as the communal showers and toilets can be a few minutes away from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bekka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The location is great and rooms are top notch. We had a large group over and after a long flight from Ireland (8 hours) and a 40 minute taxi ride from O'Hare we were all tired. The staff were friendly, got us checked in quick and were very helpful through out the stay.

The card system for doors is very good in the evenings you can only access the building and from common area to the rooms by card. So even when we landed back in late from a night out we had no issues getting back into the hostel. Just don't lose your card, it'll cost you 5 bucks and you won't get in. Lucky enough no one from our group lost one.

There are a number of bars with in walking distance and the table toppers at the lionshead were good value for money if you have a large group that like beer!

Lincoln Park & Lake Michigan are near by, if you don't mind walking and exploring the sites. The redline Fullerton stop for the 'L' to downtown is around a 7 min walk from the hostel which is very handy.

Breakfast in the morning was great and free!!! A selection of cereal, bagels, toast, fresh fruit & coffee!

When we were over there was a mini heat wave which is abnormal for March time in Chicago, which made the rooms pretty hot and hard to sleep at times! The Air conditioners don't normally go into the rooms until later in the year when it gets very hot and humid. But still I couldn't recommend this Hostel highly enough! We all had a great time in Chicago!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardcrinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#115 of 192 in Chicago
730 reviews
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hostelling International Chicago
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 60 in Chicago
1,022 reviews
Wrigleyville
Wrigley Hostel
Wrigley Hostel
#11 of 60 in Chicago
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Getaway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Getaway Hostel

Address: 616 W Arlington Pl, Chicago, IL 60614-2682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 1,592 - ₹ 8,726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chicago Getaway Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Style in Chicago's Chic Lincoln Park Located in Chicago's affluent Lincoln Park, the Chicago Getaway Hostel is rewriting the house rules on hostel style. Policies once etched in stone are being cast aside in favor of fresher, friendlier approach. Membership fees are out and hotel-like amenities are in at this stately 1928 Georgian Revival landmark that, ironically, returns to its early 20th century roots as a boardinghouse for women. Today, all guests are welcome to enjoy free breakfast, free WiFi, free linens, free housekeeping, a 24/7 chef-caliber kitchen and a BYOB policy. Add nightly events like pub crawls, brewery tours and barbecues and it's easy to see why Chicago Getaway is fast becoming the city's favorite spot for affordable short-term and extended-stay accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Chicago Getaway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Getaway Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing