We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean, great staff and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
“very clean, great staff and good location”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Everything. More of a hotel than hostel.. Great location. Secure clean friendly & very helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Bonjour Queen03:

We're glad to have served someone such as the Queen03 during your stay to Chicago. Providing a great experience for all of our guests, including royalty is of utmost importance to us. We'll be working hard to achieve a great stay for you on your next visit. Until then, Au Revoir!

Sincerely,

Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    548
    124
    57
    43
See reviews for
157
257
588
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Getaway is clean, well furnished and spacious. Staff are friendly and helpful. They've got guitars and a piano to use. Location was really cool. It isn't in the city center but there are heaps of bars and shops with walking distance, as well as a train station.

10 guys to a dorm room was a lot, but that's hostels for you.

Tons of hostel run activities and bar nights.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Matthew S:

Thanks for taking time in your busy schedule to write such a great review of our top-rated Chicago hostel. We're glad to have had you as a guest, and look forward to seeing you lounging in our well furnished and spacious common areas again soon!

Sincerely,

Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed there for my 9 days trip, and it was great! There is a breakfast buffet, and the staff is always welcoming. The kitchen is well equiped and the whole place is EXTRA clean! Don't lose time by searching a place to stay, and stay there (in Lincoln Park, near a metro station).

Room Tip: I was in the first dorm near the entrance and it was not too noisy or disturbing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martineenvoyage305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear martineenvoyage305:

Thanks for reviewing our top-located Chicago hostel! We're glad you had a great time during your 9 day stay. We know we'll see you next time you're in Chicago, so safe travels until then!

Sincerely,

Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Unbelievable layout, rooms, massive multiple common areas. It did get a bit noisy at night in the common rooms as there is a piano, but this is part of the social aspect. Heaps of people from all over and really outgoing staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applesauceanthem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear applesauceanthem:

Thanks for the great review! We strive to be the top hostel in Chicago and around the USA. We're working hard to set high standards for ourselves that we hope the hostel community will follow. Our location in Chicago's Lincoln Park neighborhood gives us a great opportunity to show our guests how wonderful Chicago really is.

We hope that you'll be back to see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed at the Getaway Hostel because I needed a bed for one night only- I was in Chicago only for the weekend, so I wasn't going to spend much time in the hostel. This was my first experience with a hostel and I was thinking frat party, so I was very pleasantly surprised to see the diversity of the guests. It really felt like home. My bunkmates were considerate, the facilities were awesome, If I stayed there longer I would have been just as pleased. The breakfast is a continental so bring your own protein (you are allowed to cook there). They have on-site laundry facilities- nice. The wi-fi was a little spotty in the room just because there are probably too many guests competing for the bandwidth. They do have express station computers to use or simply take your computer to the tv room so you are close to the router. The room and bed were comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the shower was large. I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skcorroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Skcorroh:

Thanks for the great review of your experience at Chicago Getaway Hostel! We strive to provide the best hostelling experience possible in the USA. We're a great hostel for the first time hostel guest as we are very boutique hotel oriented. We strive to have the atmosphere of a boutique hotel with the social experience of a hostel; and all at an affordable price.

We know there are a lot of lodging options in Chicago and look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 189 in Chicago
872 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#13 of 189 in Chicago
2,718 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hostelling International Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Getaway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Getaway Hostel

Property: Chicago Getaway Hostel
Address: 616 W Arlington Pl, Chicago, IL 60614-2682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,135 - ₹ 18,438
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chicago Getaway Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Style in Chicago's Chic Lincoln Park Located in Chicago's affluent Lincoln Park, the Chicago Getaway Hostel is rewriting the house rules on hostel style. Policies once etched in stone are being cast aside in favor of fresher, friendlier approach. Membership fees are out and hotel-like amenities are in at this stately 1928 Georgian Revival landmark that, ironically, returns to its early 20th century roots as a boardinghouse for women. Today, all guests are welcome to enjoy free breakfast, free WiFi, free linens, free housekeeping, a 24/7 chef-caliber kitchen and a BYOB policy. Add nightly events like pub crawls, brewery tours and barbecues and it's easy to see why Chicago Getaway is fast becoming the city's favorite spot for affordable short-term and extended-stay accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Chicago Getaway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Getaway Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing