We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Booked Here Stayed Elswhere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #62 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Booked Here Stayed Elswhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I booked a room at the River Hotel after seeing the reviews on here. The price was right and I had looked at the Club Quarters (which is the sister hotel located in the same building) and wanted to stay at Rivers. We ended up staying in Club Quarters anyway. I was really disappointed. I talked to management about it and was told that they were booked up and our only choice was to drive to another hotel a mile away. Sort of defeats the purpose of staying on the River.

So we stayed at Club Quarters and the experience we had was very similar to the other reviewers. The room was small but clean and comfortable, until the patron next door started signing every morning with his radio around 7 am. The walls were so thin we could hear people in the hallway the elevators, and our neighbor doing all sorts of things. Location was great, price was right, but I wouldn't stay again. When I book a room at a hotel I expect to stay there, not somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tulipgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    350
    101
    54
    29
See reviews for
134
337
103
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Location, location!
We booked a "small double" via Travelocity. On our trips we only use our hotel rooms for sleeping, so this was no problem, particularly since it was spotless...and on the 23rd floor with an extraordinary night-time view. This property is a bit quirky: you need to insert your room key card into the slot of the elevator cab, wait for the green light, then hit your floor button; you check in by inserting your credit card into an ATM-like machine and your room keys pop out; it's evidently two hotels, River Hotel being floors 4-10 and Club Quarters the rest (so apparently we really stayed at Club Quarters, the "business" hotel although we booked the room as River Hotel),
The staff, every one of them, were impeccably helpful. When we called down re a window we couldn't open, some one was at our door in a few minutes.
Hotel is basically at intersection of Mich. Av. and south side of Chicago River, A few blocks from the El and subway. Easy walk to all 3 river boat tours (the CAF one is worth the $35!), the Loop, Mag Mile right across the river.
Given our bargain rate and some negative reviews here on TA, we were very happily surprised with this hotel at its unbeatable location, and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Michigan Av and Wacker are "favored" by emergency vehicles, so the higher floor the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Sleek hotel in the best location there is in Chicago--right on the Chicago River and Michigan. I had a 10th floor room with a view right down the river with its numerous bridges. The room was really a nice sized room, though it was called a suite. My room was super quiet-I never heard another guest during my 48 hour stay. In fact, though the hotel was full, I never saw another guest on my floor. There was free Wi-Fi access.

Room Tip: Would definitely book a suite, on a high floor, and ask for a north facing river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leawooddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Yes the rooms are small but who cares when you're traveling by yourself. The ascetics make up for the tightness. I loved the fabric of the bedspread. And so comfy. And in the hall is a fill your bottle water dispenser. Who wonderful. Totally recommend this hotel for Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is our second review of this wonderful hotel. Last stay was October 6, 2011.

Management put us on the 10th floor this time to avoid street noise. Awesome river view and terrific accommodations.

Room was great, unfortunately we left some things in the room. Our bad, but the hospitality service never returned any of our three phone calls. I was told that the River Hotel does keep any lost and found for one month. Sadly I left a pair of shoes with running orthodics in the room, along with our son's school-logo cross country T-shirt. $400 worth of running stuff (yes, it was marathon weekend). As I patiently waited and waited for anyone to call back and did indeed call every few days, no one could determine whether they found our things or didn't. A ''no'' phone call would have been helpful. None at all is somewhat disrespectful.

Do stay here. It's a great hotel and they will keep your luggage after you check out if you have a late afternoon train to catch. Just DON'T leave anything in your room. You'll never see it again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohiofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#74 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,734 - ₹ 19,728
Hotel Class:4 star — River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the River Hotel and into the stunning surroundings of Downtown Chicago. Shimmering skyscrapers tower over the Chicago River as Wacker Drive bends to meet the city’s most famous thoroughfare, Michigan Avenue the start of the Magnificent Mile. These sights sit just steps from the inviting accommodations of the River Hotel, a Downtown Chicago boutique hotel devoted to providing personal service and a helpful range of amenities for business and leisure travel alike. Our Michigan Avenue hotel boasts an array of thoughtful onsite amenities: instant registration and checkout, 24-hour concierge service, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a modern fitness center, chilled, purified bottled water, and three state-of-the-art meeting rooms make for a seamless business travel experience. Savor authentic Italian cuisine and fabulous deep dish pizza at the onsite restaurant, Bella Bacino’s Italian Bistro & Pizzeria. The Chicago River Hotel offers everything you need in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing