We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“BRING BACK COMFORT INN!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #23 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“BRING BACK COMFORT INN!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We checked in 3/16 and left on 3/19. Our room, while it had a view, that was about the ONLY nice thing I can say. Our room wasn't even complete with the remodel. No big mirrors only that crappy one in the bathroom with that dumb kiss mark on it. No closet to hang ANYTHING up, our fridge DIDN'T work. We called maintance to have them come fix it, but didn't even show up. The air in the bedroom didn't work at all either. I too booked with comfort inn and got a e-mail 2 days before we arrived to let me know that the 2 bed suite I had booked for 2 couples wasn't available....GREAT ACME, you let a LONG TIME guest know 2 days before we arrived PLUS we drove from Minneapolis to Chicago. THE ONLY saving grace was the woman I did speak with about the hotel SCREW UP and I didn't get a deal on the room, but I did get 3 days of free parking. I will never stay here again......too bad cause it was the best location. I know I'll go to Embassy...kidding corner from this joke.

Room Tip: Yeah pick another location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanlamb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Hi susanlamb76, first let me thank you for your visit and your feedback. I see you were here in the midst of our change over, we did re-open as the ACME Hotel Chicago on April 27th so I do apologize about our in between state when you here in March. Unfortunately in order for us to freshen up the hotel we had to have rooms out of order and some rooms that had been previously booked were no longer available. This should not happen, and I apologize. I can assure you that this has been completed and the next time you visit Chicago we should also have our restaurant and lounge open. I did want to lend my hand when you visit Chicago again, please contact me and I will personally assist with any reservations you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,936
    777
    158
    50
    25
See reviews for
514
1,220
185
526
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed from Friday April 27 to sunday April 29 2012. First things, i booked the hotel under comfort inn and suites, to come to find out the hotel switched names, so we pasted the hotel at first. I called the number to verify it was the former comfort inn and the lady on the phone said yes. I then asked her what garage to park in since there are several on the block. She proceeded to be rude, then hung up on me! Once we got parked, we had to carry all our luggage a block in downtown chicago on the street. Trying to check in took OVER 20 mintues. No employees there knew how to work the computers or what they were doing, i told them the woman on the phone hung up on me, and they didnt even respond with an apology or anything. Tons of constructions, construction worker in the lobby and breakfast area. Dust everywhere. Workers have loud radios they listen to. Our room was VERY small but an updated one. No mini fridge, no drawers, not even a clock in the room which was odd. Plus theres a glowing kiss print on the bathroom mirror you cant turn off that glows under the door at night. My boyfriend checked us out, while i was still packing. Once I returned the parking pass later on, the first desk woman told me my bf already got the receipt, i asked him and he said no. She acted like i was lying to her, and got an attitute about it because she obviously didnt know how to work the computers to print it out. Finally about 5 minutes later, she realized it was on the counter! with no apology or anything she just handed it to me, no "thanks for coming" or "have a great day". Staff was SO rude and needed training BEFORE the hotel was ready for business extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: get an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murraymary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Hi MurrayMary, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us on our very first day as the ACME Hotel. I do apologize for the check-in process. As you mentioned we had just gotten our new property management system installed that day and you experienced a much slower than usual check-in. You may have noticed the system trainers who worked with us through the weekend to iron out any teething issues we had with the new system. Additionally, our breakfast area on the second floor was still undergoing some changes, and furniture in the lobby was being changed, both of which are now complete. We are very excited about the changes we have been going through and are looking forward to our restaurant and lounge being added to the hotel this fall. We have already shared your comments with the various staff you came across and appreciate you taking the time to let us know. Again, we sincerely apologize and do hope you will give the ACME Hotel an opportunity to serve you the next time you come to downtown Chicago or the River North area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#17 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
dana hotel and spa
#50 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#9 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
The James Chicago
#41 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Property: ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,770 - ₹ 21,719
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing