We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit. It's wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Music City, USA
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“3rd visit. It's wonderful.”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This was my 3rd visit to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. It keeps getting better. The doormen, the front desk, the concierge, everyone. They are so friendly. The rooms are holding up great which shows the level of care the cleaning and maintenance staff take. The location is excellent too. A few blocks west of the top shopping on Michigan Ave. Two blocks south of great little restaurants and bars on Rush, and two blocks north of a Metro red-line stop for easy access to Wrigley field. I think about trying some other hotels when I plan Chicago trips, but why?

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the John Hancock tower and you'll be able to see some of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeylizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,918
    1,003
    183
    59
    41
See reviews for
675
1,598
313
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Unfortunately, we just stayed in this hotel one night, and it was truly a fabulous night's sleep! The beds here are wonderful, with a thick featherbed on top of the mattress, down pillows, and a down comforter in a soft white duvet. The room was a decent size, but the bathroom was huge with a separate shower and tub, and nice toiletries from L'Occitane. Not the cheapest room we've ever had in Chicago, but definitely one of the nicest!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fivebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Was there 5 days for business, fantastic location, short walk to magnificent mile shopping area. Nice toiletries, no toothbrush though so BYO, nice turn down service nightly. The breakfast at the cafe was very good. If you are in rush and no time for breakfast, just grab a free coffee and the same cafe, wonderful service.

Room Tip: Pick a higher level for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in may for my bday. Got to check in early and they had a special cake for me when I ordered room service. Everyone was helpful in tell where and how to get to certain locations. Close by everything to walk or even take the subway or train. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishYONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We picked Chicago to enjoy our 32nd anniversary. We also after much research we picked the Sofitel as the place we wanted to stay. It was just perfect. From the kind greetings as we stepped out of our Limo until the moment we left to come home it was as friendly as it could possibly be. We absolutely enjoyed every moment of this trip.
Carrie M.. went out of her way to make sure our accomodations were perfect and the Prestige suite she suggested was just perfect. We felt very special every time we entered our suite.Thanks Carrie!!
Peter the Best Concierge ever. He was spot on in everything he suggested. From dinner at Francesccas to, sight's to see, Peter's suggestions were suggestions from someone that knows and loves Chicago..Thanks Peter!!
To the rest of the entire staff of the Sofitel, thanks you all for making our anniversary a very special weekend for us. You all truly raised the bar for any future trip we make.. I look forward to visiting Chicago and the Sofitel again!!
LeBar.. was a great place to unwind and enjoy a great cocktail. The crew of LeBar were all superb and took great care of us..
And Oh My gosh..the beds were so very comfortable and I loved that huge well appointed bathroom!!

Room Tip: Prestige suite 1908 was a superb room.. great views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,790 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,601 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,980 - ₹ 29,184
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing