We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel is worthy of the good reviews. Stayed on the 17th floor and the lounge with its drinks was a great relief after temps in the hundreds! Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall we had a good stay at this hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank SteveA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for your comments! I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the Business Lounge! I hope that we see you again on your next trip to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,424 - 4,428 of 4,937 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

We loved this hotel. We can walk to millennium park and train station, overlook navy pier. Brand new modern sleek deco. Tuning track and outdoor pool. Kids enjoy it too. It is so different from a traditional hotel, they lved the novelty.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfan066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your experience with us and the view! I hope that we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel was awesome! This is our 4th hotel we have stayed at in Chicago and it is now our favorite. From the moment we were in front of it, to the moment we left, we were treated like first class people. Every employee always said hello and most asked how our stay was going, including the ones that were busy and didn't see us coming. The hotel is decorated chic style. The bar and restaurant are so gorgeous, we stopped to take a picture of it.Check in was a breeze and took all of 5 minutes. We arrived around 12:30 P.M. and our room wasn't available, so they upgraded us to a park view without us even asking. About half of the rooms have balconies, but we never plan on spending much time in the room so it doesn't bother us if we had one or not. The rooms are spotless and large by Chicago standards. The beds are comfy, but we've had better. The bathroom is large and spacious. The shower has a rain shower head. We had no problem with hot water or water pressure. We also found out that the hotel shares it's building with apartments or condos. If someone didn't tell us this, we would have never known. The tenants have their own elevators.
Gym: I think because the hotel shares it's building the gym is massive. It is larger than any suburban gym that you can belong to. It has a large room for yoga along with everything you need. The free weights and cardio equipment is all new and kept in pristine shape. The gym also has half of basketball court in it. Also on the gym floor is a room that has a pool table and poker table.
Pools: There is an indoor and outdoor pool along with hot tubs to go with each. The indoor pool is kind of small, but it gets the job done. The outdoor pool is much larger and also has a separate kids pool. There is a massive courtyard along with a 1/5 mile running track that is cushioned. In the courtyard, there are plenty of comfy couches,chairs and some private cabanas, along with a fire pit. There is also a sauna and steam room available in the spa.
Location: The hotel is approximately 3 blocks from Millennium Park and a little further to Grant Park, 3 blocks to Michigan Ave., and about a 15 minute walk to the Navy Pier.

When we go back to Chicago, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffinmich82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! I am truly honored that you had such a great stay with us and that we are your new favorite! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and talk about each of our amenities! We look forward to your next trip to the city; thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The location of the Radisson Blu in Chicago is outstanding. It is just around the corner from the most profitable hotel in town (the Hyatt Regency), across the street from the Fairmont and the terrific aria restaurant and there's an obvious reason for them to be where they are ... just a very short walk to Millennium Park (and the amazing Art Institute of Chicago), to Michigan Avenue, and a bit further to Navy Pier. In the middle of a hot summer, being close to everything makes a difference, and the Radisson Blu became a cool, pleasant oasis in the heat.

My room took a bit getting used to. The decor is ebony black, mirrors, the namesake aqua blue in the carpet, and glittering marble everywhere in the bathroom. (Yes, it really does glitter, casting light dots on the walls!) The bed was amazing comfortable, with crisp white sheets, lots of pillows and a fresh comforter. The bathroom was huge and impeccably clean. The door to the shower doubled as a sliding door to give the toilet some privacy. The soaps were top-notch (Anne Semonin), the towels fresh and plentiful, and there was plenty enough counter-space for my own toiletries. The shower smelled a bit moldy and the hot water took a little while to get warm, although these are very small concerns.

The concierge was excellent and offered several excellent recommendations (try Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe for breakfast - the Signature "Berry Bliss" Pancakes are outrageous ...
Buttery pancakes stuffed with blueberries & layered with mascarpone, topped with blackberries, strawberries, vanilla cream & a blackberry coulis), as well as taking deposits for the architecture tour. The front-desk staff were welcoming and efficient, although they need a better system for communicating between different shifts.

Definitely recommended. But, don't pay for an upgrade. I was assured at check-in that I had been upgraded, but was given the smallest room on the floor. My 'park view' room didn't have views of Millennium Park. And, I didn't get a balcony - this on an architectural masterpiece that is known for all its balconies!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wombat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that our location was so perfect for your needs. I have shared your compliments with our concierge team! I hope that we see you back at the hotel soon; thanks again!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is excellent- great location could walk to many sights/shops, lovely hotel, great to be able to relax in pool area when staying in city especially in view of heat wave! Bar and restaurant firstclass couldnt fault it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for your review! I am honored that you enjoyed your stay and had such a great experience at the hotel. I hope we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,233 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 192 in Chicago
7,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 9,748 - ₹ 38,345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing