We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“delicious food, very busy, need to book months in advance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Girl & The Goat

Girl & The Goat
Reserve with OpenTable
Girl & The Goat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 9,439 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: West Loop
Cross street: Halsted
Transit: #8 Halsted Bus at Randolph
Description: Girl & the Goat has been serving fun foods, craft beers, and making wine in a rustic and kick-butt environment since summer 2010. The restaurant opens at 4:30 every day, and stays open until 11pm on weeknights and until midnight on Fridays and Saturdays (until those last late night eaters scrape their fork across the plate for the last time, or finish licking their plates until they're shiny and clean). The Goat's menu is divided into three categories: Vegetable, Fish, and of course Meat--while vegetable, fish, or meat are respectively the main stars of their categories, there are crossovers in each area so you'll get a little bit of everything. Bread is baked daily, and there are always new creations on the menu. Girl & the Goat sits in the West Loop smack dab in the Randolph Restaurant Corridor, but the location is still gritty enough to appeal to the chef’s integrity. The Goat has a variety of seating choices, including a comfortable lounge, bar seats, standard table seating, and four seats close enough to the kitchen line that you might be asked to help.Girl & the Goat blended their own wine, and it's tasty. There are beers on tap from Three Floyd’s and a couple others. If you're lucky, you might come across the elusive collaboration beers that Stephanie personally crafted with a couple of beer buddy cohorts. In addition to tap beers, there's also a bunch of bottles to choose from. Girl & the Goat is open 7 days a week, because The Goat is a tireless beast, and besides, who needs rest anyway? Girl & the Goat accepts reservations but always welcomes walk-ins, nomads, adventurers, and those of you who don’t like to plan.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“delicious food, very busy, need to book months in advance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This restaurant has a great vibe and when we got there at 9pm it was packed. We had a reservation for 930, which was the earliest we could get, despite booking about 3 weeks in advance. The pork shank was amazing, but the menu is always changing. The staff are very helpful and the set up is one where you order many dishes and share amongst the group. The staff will stagger the dishes with lighter ones first which is helpful. The "not so campbells" bread is amazing - two dips inspired by campbells soups, mushroom and tomato. Cost was about $50-$60 each including a bottle of wine and one dessert shared between 4 as we were rather full by that stage.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,649
    439
    187
    43
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Bar atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

After dinner my friends and I realized we would have had a better experience if we stayed at the bar. Our table was not available when we arrived so we had a drink at the bar. The bar crowd was friendly and diverse and the bar staff very accommodating. Once seated, we had a young and seemingly inexperienced waitress attempt to tell us how and when to order. When one of my guests explained that during her last visit she felt rushed and would like to space out the dishes, the waitress seemed to stick to "script" and said she wanted everything at once and she would space it out. The bread was DELICIOUS (we ordered 2 loafs) and the ribs delicious - I can't remember what else we ordered - obviously unimpressive.. I would go back to the Goat - but only to hang at the bar.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzee2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Girl Got Our Goat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

At the risk of committing culinary heresy, I criticize one of Chicago's hottest eateries. Let me start with what works. Food, unique varied and flavorful. Staff, young, energetic and enthusiastic. Setting, buzzing, edgy and cool.
Yet, for all of the eatery's hype including a lengthy lead time for a Saturday night reservation, the four of us had a less than incredible time. Blame part of that on us for not understanding the concept -- small plates and dish sharing.
But greater fault can be directed to the menu and waiter, neither of which offered much guidance for creating our evening's dining experience. We ordered 8 plates including delicious and recommended items such as the beet salad, the chickpea fritters, the broccoli, the chicken and pork shank. Yet, between the beet salad's arrival and the pork shank finale, were two hours with no rhyme nor reason to the food sequencing. Also, some of the items were entree size -- the chicken and the pork for instance. Neither the menu nor the waiter distinguished small plates from large. Plus, sharing doesn't have to be the only option. One could have an incredible meal with the chickpea starter, the beet salad and either of the meat entrees. The broccoli could be shared for the table. The menu and waiter should suggest this option.
The biggest service failure was at the end of the evening. One of our party ingested a mouthful of sludge as she drank her decaf coffee. Our waiter offered a luke warm apology, shrugged his shoulders and bid us goodnight. Not the best of sendoffs to inspire a return to the restaurant.
Lastly, while the venue attracts with its buzz and energy, the music bordered on being annoyingly loud. Perhaps this was unique to our table, at the front of the restaurant on a low rise at the windows, but we had to shout to hear each other. Noise is a balancing act and we find it tipped in the wrong direction.
Will we go again? Perhaps. But next time we will be more educated about what and how to order. Too bad the waiter and menu didn't help for our first time dining experience after a 2-3 month wait for a reservation.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arkybergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great atmosphere but complicated menu, especially if you're a vegetarian. You need to inform your server before ordering because goat is (obviously) a component of pretty much every item on the menu.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Trendy place that has been overhyped!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We got our Friday night reservations through a friend who lives in Chicago. When I started reading the reviews and hearing people all over the city say "I can't believe you got a reservation" I thought "wow" this place is going to be amazing! I had not even heard of it until we planned our visit a week ago, but as an avid "Top Chef" fan, I was really excited. We sat at the front of the restaurant in a 1/2 booth table. The bench seat is about 2 to 3 inches lower than the chairs so I felt like I was looking up at my dinner companions for the entire dinner. We had the waitress choose a tasting menu for us and we settled in to be awed. The only stand out for me was a cauliflower dish and the green beans. The meats were fine, but not anything that I couldn't get my husband to grill at home. The octopus dish was not my favorite. The crowd is young and the restaurant is fairly noisy. I think that people read the reviews and note the long wait time for reservations and are too afraid to admit that it was not as great as expected.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank schlbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Girl & The Goat also viewed

 

Been to Girl & The Goat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing