We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the loop of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Chicago JW Marriott is a comfortable, well-appointed hotel with a location that may be unbeatable IF (a) you've flown to the city on Southwest or (b) intend to visit the Art Institute and the adjacent Millennium Park. The CTA Orange Line connects Midway Airport (Southwest's hub) to the city center and the Quincy stop on that line is literally steps away from the JW. A 15-minute stroll down West Adams Street in the other direction brings you to the front steps of the Art Institute, next door to which are the artistic attractions of Millennium Park. In good weather, the walk north along Michigan Avenue (aka The Magnificent Mile after it crosses the Chicago River) is a pleasant diversion. Hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. An erroneous minibar charge was removed immediately from my bill at checkout and a charge for an un-made long-distance call, discovered only after I got home, was also promptly reversed after I advised the billing department.
The reason for the minibar charge involves my only criticism: the minibar fridge is so full of items that I had to shift things around to squeeze in a pint-sized bottle of orange juice which I'd purchased at a nearby Walgreen's (there's also a nearby Starbucks for those desiring a smaller, cheaper and [probably] quicker breakfast than the hotel dining room). The shifting made it appear that I'd scarfed down one of minibar's $12 can of nuts. Horrors!
I believe the hotel has a pool, but it was out of action during our two-day stay at the end of September. My lap-swimming spouse made do with morning visits to a nearby health club at Union Station. Unless the hotel pool is a plunge pool putting on airs, it would be another reason, for a swimmer, to stay at the Chicago JW Marrriott.

Room Tip: Nothing except our 7th floor room overlooked the Quincy "L" station and we heard nothing f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHoulahan5832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,249 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Located on Adams Street (financial district), th JW is wonderful. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms well appointed, comfortable, with everything a business traveler needs. The hotel is within walking distant but you must like to walk as it's not right on the mag mile.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbaker3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Typical JW Marriott with clean, comfortable rooms and nice lobby with bar. We took the train from St. Louis for the Cards Cub series in July. It's an easy walk from Union Station to the Marriott even with luggage. The L is a few blocks away too for when you go to Wrigley. The only real complaint, and it is not the fault of the hotel, is that it is further south of all the restaurants and bars and shopping along Michigan Avenue. However, you are close to Millenium Park. I would stay here again if going to Cards Cub seris and taking train. Otherwise, I'd try and stay at one of the Marriotts north of here along Michigan Ave.

Room Tip: We had an interior room and it was fine. Since we are not in our room that much...we didn't nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElBirdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My room was on the back of the building and I lost count of how many turns I needed to make to get to it. My room, on the interior, must have overlooked a air shaft; my windows were frosted so I couldn't see out the window. I prefer natural daylight, so that was a disappointment. Also, the room was small. There was a chair at the desk, but there was no room for a reading chair. The bathroom was large and had a very high soaking tub. It was wonderful - I was there for one night and had a record breaking three baths (sorry, Mr. Manager, I know guests like me wreck havoc on your water bill projections) and housekeeping was kind enough to give me extra bath wash.
The concierge (Sunday morning, 9/30) was a very knowledgeable, professional and cordial woman. She was able to immediately answer my frequent questions.
The food. I ordered room service lunch and it was NOT good at all. I specified the way I wanted my hamburger to be cooked (medium rare) and there was not a trace of pink in the meat. Unfortunately, I had requested a late checkout and it was close to the time to leave; otherwise, I would have complained.
The bed. I think Marriott hit a home run with the bed - not just here in Chicago, but throughout the brand. It was heavenly. Also, what a treat I had with the wake up call!! It was a real person, not a recording.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This hotel was quiet with excellent service and comfortable rooms. Even the catered food for our business meetings was considerably above typical hotel standards. I found the staff to be very friendly. JW Marriott is good choice for your next stay in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBGTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#118 of 191 in Chicago
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#8 of 191 in Chicago
404 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 191 in Chicago
2,288 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
#28 of 191 in Chicago
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 12,832 - ₹ 36,487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at JW Marriott Chicago. Our luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois is located at LaSalle & Adams and it soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, historic JW Marriott Chicago exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our luxurious hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, JW Marriott Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing