We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet rooms....when on business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #37 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“quiet rooms....when on business”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Rooms are spacious and bathroom was huge... very nice hotel for the business traveller when staying in downtown Chicago.
inner rooms had no view obviously ... but good hotel if you have a company rate...
quiet rooms that let you sleep ...

Room Tip: ask for room with view to the street...not courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubiocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    389
    101
    25
    19
See reviews for
216
295
47
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had a great stay! We were located just blocks from everything. Easy walking to the Wills Tower, Giordanos and the subway. Our last night, we had a nightcap at the lounge. Lisa was fabulous! Very friendly, knowledgable and personable. She made our last night great. Other team members should feed off of her. We sometimes walked into the hotel and the guys with suits wouldn't even say hello. It's just hello, gentlemen. All in all, everything was great. I recommend JW Marriott Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbharrison78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I spent four nights at the JW Marriott to attend a conference, and color me unimpressed. I did not much care for my room - although quite a decent size about half the square footage is taken up by a very large bathroom, which is not an allocation of space that I find particularly appealing as I do not need the space I spend half an hour a day in to be so large. Also, the hotel floors are massive and only serviced by one set of elevator banks, and it took a bit of trudgery to get to my room each day - I might expect that at a Vegas casino but seemed unnecessarily inconvenient for a business hotel.

Finally, the doormen were quite brusque, there were always about four of them and they acted more like bouncers than hotel doormen.

To be clear, if you get the right room (e.g. not a kilometer from the elevators) and you spend a lot of time in the bathroom you may consider this a five star hotel. The bar and conference facilities are quite good and the overall quality is beyond reproach for a hotel of this type. But I did not greatly enjoy my stay here and I can only report what I experienced.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chadokimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

I was at this hotel from June 7 - June 9, 2012 for a mini-vacation with a friend. The hotel was immaculate, the room was quiet, the staff extremely accommodating. The location was great for going to the Art Institute. The only disappointment was when I called guest services to report that the tv would not change channels, I was connected to tech support in another state where the tech person spent 15 minutes while I hung on as he tried to fix the set from his remote location. He was unsuccessful and as we left the room someone from the staff was already on his way up and it was fixed when we returned. It felt surreal to be in a lovely hotel on the phone with tech support. I would have thought that a hotel of this caliber would not place the burden of getting the tv fixed on the guest. Other than that, it is a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Chicago.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank susie5109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I were going to a wedding at the art institute and we needed a place to stay downtown. I tried a couple of starwood hotels but they were booked. We were able to get a room at JW Marriott it was only 4 blocks from the reception. When we checked in we were blown away. This place is stunning! The bathroom is huge! We did not have a view but we did not care that is how nice the room was. They must have great soundproofing because I did not hear a single sound come to think of it I never saw a maid cart or even seen an employee in the hallways. The wedding was great but to be honest I was counting the minutes to get back to the hotel! Checkout was great a very helpful Steven Ramirez helped me sign up for Marriott Rewards. I did go down to the workout room and pool that are connected to the spa and they were great! This might be the nicest hotel I was ever at. It is a short walk to the Blue line that we took home. I think I am going to start giving Marriott a chance over Starwood.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soxfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 189 in Chicago
223 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#105 of 189 in Chicago
2,498 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,696 - ₹ 41,209
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing