We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #40 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. I have now stayed here three times an it is my go to hotel in Chicago.

Rooms are a good size. Bathroom had two sinks, a deep tub and separate shower and water closet for the toilet. A comfortable bed (I get a king room) though the sheets always seem too small for the mattress, and they could be of higher quality. That said, I have no cleanliness concerns. A large flat screen TV was across from the bed, but he controls were a bit confusing. I have never had any kind of a view at this hotel, it has always been facing another building, which is not unexpected in a city hotel with 10 floors. Room was very nicely appointed generally, and great for the price of about $300 per night. This would easily be a $500 or more room in New York.

Location is good with walking distance to lake, art museum and restaurants and train. Gym is good. All in a great hotel for a business trip or a weekend away.

Room Tip: Rooms can be a long walk from the elevator. I need and want the exercise, but if you have mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pickypickypickyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    375
    97
    25
    18
See reviews for
203
286
44
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Having been an international flight attendant for forty years, I've stayed in more then my share of hotels. The J.R.Marriott is my absolute favorite! Room is beautifully appointed, bathroom has deep extra long bathtub with separate shower. Shower is big enough that I don't crack my elbows when washing my hair! The staff can't be nicer. Everyone you meet greets you with a smile and a "how is your day?" Wish this was the only hotel I could stay in!

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dogflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

One expects every JW to achieve excellence, and the JW Chicago meets every desire for quiet comfort away from home. Wife and me spent 2 nites during the Chicago Blues Festival. Only a short walk to the Parks, museums, art and River Architectural Tour Boats (great by the way.) Great housekeeping girl, great turn down service. Wish we had requested an exterior facing room. Only had a view of the interior empty space, but prob quieter. Was glad you get premium channels, got to see "Mad Men". Close to Blue and Red line L-train, we went out to see friends in the burbs. Not inexpensive, but high quality. Thanks JW

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Hotel is in a fairly quiet area of downtown Chicago and only two blocks away from the L train bringing you from O'Hare. Very easy to find, great, welcoming staff. We arrived hours before our room was to be ready and asked if there was a chance that our room was available (it never hurts to ask) and to our surprise it was. This helped to take a load off and get out to see the City. Beautiful lobby. Found it's beauty to be a bit "cold" though. But if that is the worst I have to say about this hotel than all in all it is fantastic.

Would have loved a fridge in the room to keep drinks cold. Free WiFi would have made our lives easier also, being from Canada and with the high cost of hotels and high cost of roaming charges.

Something for the JW to think about as it grows and evolves.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hckym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great hotel.
Beautiful lobby, newer, redone rooms.
Too
Rooms with wood floor, large marble bathrooms, updated tv. Comfy beds and robes included. Wet bar.
Would have liked some room in the fridge to place my stuff. Would have also liked some wine glasses.

Located right off L, no need for cab to airport. Took L many places.
Not for families, no
Negatives- no nearby bars or late night eats.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buckijz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#101 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Kimpton Gray Hotel
The Kimpton Gray Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,811 - ₹ 37,963
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing