We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Palomar for a Labor Day weekend. From the time we entered the beautiful lobby we felt welcomed. Staff was courteous and considerate. The room was clean, well maintained and the beds were comfortable (I loved the feather pillows). We needed more towels and more water glasses for the room and they were delivered promptly. Bobby the consierge gave us GREAT information about restaurants and things to do in the area. I can't say enough about him! Upon returning to the hotel, he asked how our day went and what we did, how we liked and what we wanted to do next. Even on his day off he stopped in the lobby for a chat and gave us suggestions on things to do and directions to restaurants. The hotel offered delicious coffee int he morning and a happy hour with wine and sangria at night. A great way to meet other guests. There are several restaurants for breakfast and dinner in the area. It's centrally located with just a few blocks from "Magnificent Mile" and other areas of interest.

Room Tip: We chose a high floor to be away from the hustle and bustle of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeMaMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear MeMaMich :

Thank you for spending a girl's weekend with us recently. From your comments it seems you had a great time and were well taken care of by our entire team. As a hotel operator when you read such comments it can be difficult to understand why we may not have warranted a five star rating?

In any case, we are glad you stayed with us and hope you and the ladies come back to visit again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,799 - 1,803 of 2,797 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

We decided to book this hotel in our recent visit to Chicago based on the good reviews and the price compared to simmilar category hotels in Chicago and did not dissapoint us. As the main advantages:
- Location: Very close yo Magnificent Mile and other touristic areas in Chicago, choice of restaurant around or within walking distance
- Rooms: Pretty big and well appointed. Furniture quite new. Confortable bed
Although some people have complained about the noise we were in floor 22 and did not have any problems. If I go back to Chicago I would stay at Palomar again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Begoaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Begoaussie:

Thank you for revieiwng our hotel. We are so pleased you had a great stay and hope to see you back in our neck of the woods again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Labor Day weekend. It is in a great location and is within walking distance to many of the attractions in the city. It is also a block away from the Red line which made it easy to take public transportation. We used the El/subway system to get to the hotel from the airport and back and also took it to Wrigley Field. We did walk to other attractions such as the Art Institute, Field Museum, and Soldier Field. The hotel itself is modern and has a cool vibe about it. Our room was on the corner and had great views of the city. The room is smartly laid out with many outlets for any type of electronic device that you need to plug in. Overall the staff was friendly but oftentimes seemed preoccupied with other responsibilities, especially at the front desk. In their defense, it was a holiday weekend and the hotel was busy.

Just to warn you, the hotel is in a very lively part of town so there will be people everywhere on the streets surrounding the hotel. Additionally, there is a fire department nearby so don't be surprised if you hear fire trucks often (especially at nite). You may want to have earplugs handy if you are on a lower floor.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay overall and will consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pharmdhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear pharmdhawk:

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for detailing all the great things to do and see in Chicago.

I hope you will be our guest again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This hotel is located in a great spot for a variety of Chicago experiences and just across the street from the train! It is very trendy, has a great lobby and cute outdoor sitting area for people watching. The rooms are appointed with floral carpet and wood accents. The beds are VERY comfortable, especially after being out all day walking the streets of Chicago! They offer a free happy hour at night, with sangria, wine, and water, and serve some type of snack on the weekends with the happy hour cocktails- very nice touch and very welcoming! The staff is extremely professional, and the doorman/bellman gave us numerous suggestions for entertainment and restaurants- each one a winner!! They also extended a late check out to our party of 6, at no additional charge, because we were going on a segway tour and would not return in time for checkout!
The ONLY problem we had- VERY NOISY due to constant fire and emergency vehicles being dispatched ALL NIGHT LONG! We slept very poorly, and I am not sure what the hotel can do about this problem, but we were prevented from sleeping for 2 nights! I wish I had a solution for them, as aside from this, we had a GREAT STAY !!!

Room Tip: Find out if there is a "quiet side" and book that!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear julie m:

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay here and got to enjoy all of our amenities.

Unfortunately, as TA reviewers can see from previous posts noise in a downtown hotel is always going to be an issue. There is a fire station two blocks away from us. It affects about ten hotels in this immediate area. Even with double paned windows, ear plugs or any other type of noise insulation, being in a major downtown city, noise is unavaoidable. Although one can ask for a higher floor and a quiet side of the building, it is likely that some sort of car or street noise will be heard. We apologize for that.

We thank you for your review and hope to see you at the Palomar again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This was the first time I had stayed in Chicago overnight, despite living in a fairly close suburb. This was definitely the right place to stay. The staff were exceptionally nice, and the rooms were some of the cleanest and well kept I've ever stayed in. The beds were not at all uncomfortable, and I had a good night's sleep all three nights of our stay. The location is great (very close to Michigan Ave.), and even if you don't like to walk around, there are plenty of things to do at the hotel including an indoor swimming pool and an outdoor patio with an amazing view of the skyline. This is a great place to stay while visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Anthony R:

Thank you so much for writing a review about our hotel and thanks for coming in from Aurora - just far enough to make a good night out of it!! We hope to be your hotel of choice on any future nights away.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,232 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 192 in Chicago
3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 7,871 - ₹ 24,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing