We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wedding at Palomar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wedding at Palomar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife and I recently had our wedding reception at Hotel Palomar. We loved everything about it. We had a lot of out of town guests that came to the wedding. Many of them stayed in the hotel for the night. They were all very impressed with the hotel itself as well as the service the staff provided. Kerri was very easy to work with throughout the planning process and was very accommodating to all of our needs. The dinner was delicious, much better than your average wedding food. The ballroom, roof deck, and hotel rooms all had great views of the city. We wouldn't change a thing about our wedding. Thank you Palomar.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Mike M:

Congratulations on your wedding - we are so pleased that you chose us for your special day.Kerry is an awesome lady.

We hope you will celerate many anniversaries with us.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,888
    544
    83
    19
    10
See reviews for
618
915
117
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My mom and I recently stayed 3 nights at Hotel Palomar and were greeted with smiling faces and engaging staff. Everything at this hotel was beyond what I expected: happy, helpful staff, clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, which included lots of pillows and soft linens, lots of towels, complimentary wine hour (Yum!), and good location to all attractions. We did use public transit to get to Millenium Park to go Taste of Chicago since it's a little over a mile away. The red line is near the hotel, as well as a bus stop to take you there. The shopping on State St. is a 15 min walk and there are lots of great restaurants in walking distance also. I left some valuables in the safe when we checked out and within a couple hours I received a phone call saying they had my things. I was very grateful for the honesty and trustworthiness of the staff. I will definitely be staying here again for future Chicago trips and would look into other Kimpton Hotels elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iucoltskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear iucoltskat:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel - we are thrilled you and your mum had such a great stay. We appreciate all of your feedback. We can't wait for you to come back.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is by far one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The Palomar offers everything you need and more in a great location. Staff are super-friendly and helpful, the room was modestly sized but well equipped and luxurious. The hotel offers lots of little perks: jogging with a manager, complimentary coffee in the morning, complimentary flavoured water (usually lemon) throughout the day, a happy hour with wines and more, etc.

The hotel has one of the loveliest pool areas on the roof, with a great terrace suitable for eating, sun tanning or just gazing.

The hotel is also very well located - the subway is at the corner and it is a short walk to both the Magnificent Mile and its attractions as well as the Loop.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yazzy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear yazzy13:

Thank you so much for your recent review of our property. We truly appreciate it. We are so glad you were able to enjoy all of the amenities we have to offer and can't wait for your return.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed this past weekend with my husband and our friends. Loved everything about this hotel... location, room, bed, staff, cocktail hour, bar, beautiful scent when you enter the lobby and concierges (thanks Mark and Jake). You will not be dissappointed with your stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna81Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Donna81Us:

Thank you for your review - we are so glad you had a great time with us - and thank you also for mentioning Jake and Mark - they are awesome guys.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and Ashlee from the Front Office kindly sent us a bottle of wine. Jean-Luc was extremely helpful with the bags, tourist info, directions, etc. Dined at Sable Kitchen the first night we arrived and that was also great. Hotel is also within walking distance to other great restaurants that are highly reviewed on TA. Will definitely stay here the next time we are back in Chicago!

Room Tip: As with any hotel in the area, street noise may be an issue - there are some rooms facing an inner c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctpToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear ctpToronto:

Being from Toronto myself, I love seeing that so many Canadians visit us - we love our neighbors to the North. Thank you for sharing your experience with the TA community and for mentioning Jean-Luc - he is a true asset to our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#16 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 186 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#9 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#14 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,536 - ₹ 31,723
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing