We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #10 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and Ashlee from the Front Office kindly sent us a bottle of wine. Jean-Luc was extremely helpful with the bags, tourist info, directions, etc. Dined at Sable Kitchen the first night we arrived and that was also great. Hotel is also within walking distance to other great restaurants that are highly reviewed on TA. Will definitely stay here the next time we are back in Chicago!

Room Tip: As with any hotel in the area, street noise may be an issue - there are some rooms facing an inner c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctpToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear ctpToronto:

Being from Toronto myself, I love seeing that so many Canadians visit us - we love our neighbors to the North. Thank you for sharing your experience with the TA community and for mentioning Jean-Luc - he is a true asset to our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,932
    550
    85
    19
    10
See reviews for
635
933
120
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rcky mtn, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel is an oasis centrally located in the heart of Chicago. We chose the Palomar based on other TripAdvisor members and we are thankful we listened. The staff at this hotel is wonderful and extrememly helpful. Thank you Tyler and Beau for never failing to say hi and Danielle who took great care of us at Sable (hotel restaurant)! Please join the Kimpton membership program...it is truly worth the time it takes. (My husband loved saying the "password" for July.) Membership also gives you free internet and includes a daily social hour.

There are a variety of activities at the hotel. There is a morning run with the manager on Tuesdays, Barre Bee class on Wednesdays (combo dance/yoga/ pilates), nice gym, pleasant pool and if you still have energy the hotel will let you borrow their bikes for a cruise around the city. I swear I had so much fun in Chicago my blisters had blisters and I didn't care.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean. I know some guests mentioned street noise and sirens but honestly we slept quite soundly. The rooms have thick curtains so you may want to set an alarm if you count on the sun to wake you up. The furnishings are comfortable and in great condition. We liked the floor to ceiling windows as it was fun to watch people pass on the street below. The hotel is great for families, couples, friends as well as solo travelers.

There are a couple of grocery stores in close proximity as well as a variety of restaurants and shops. Michigan Ave is only two blocks north and the Navy Pier is within walking distance too. There is actually a free bus immediately across the street from the Palomar that will take anyone down to the pier but I preferred walking. There are also water taxis just three or four blocks away too. I have always liked Chicago but this is the first hotel in Chicago that I felt was worth my time to share with other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayakthearkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear kayakthearkansas:

Thank you so much for such a detailed review - sounds like had a really fun time in Chicago and were able to do so many things. We are glad you shared the secret.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Great location, very nice and helpful staff, and nice rooms. Bobby and Bleu were very helpful. We will be back for sure!!!

Helpful?
Thank UofMFan151
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is the place to stay in Chicago! Don't worry about it
Nice rooms , excellent location and great staff

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andresb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Andresb1:

Thanks for the short but sweet review. We love it. See you soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel is ideally located in downtown Chicago. Easy walking distance to anything you'd want to explore. An extra plus is that you can take the train and subway from the airport and get off at a stop right across the street. Easy, easy.

The staff, as with all Kimpton's, is friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable. What is outstanding at this location is the restaurant: Sable. The food is delicious and made with love. You can taste it. The wait-staff really enjoys working here and it shows. We were planning on visiting a lot of different restaurants, but kept coming back here because we just had to try another dish (or have seconds on the blueberry pie with roasted corn ice cream). Please, please check out the menu before going any where else. We enjoyed dining in the intimate outside "patio" by the dining-room (it's quiet if the noise of the popular bar is too much for you).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear SWriter:

Thank you so much for your review. we truly apreciate it and could not agree more - Sable is one of the best restaurants around - in fact Tripadvisor readers named it the 8th best in Chicago. What an honor.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,298 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,184 - ₹ 37,272
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing