We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further, this is "THE" hotel in DT Chicago” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #11 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Look no further, this is "THE" hotel in DT Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel is AMAZING. I didn't want to give such a raving review because once the word is out on this hotel it will be hard to book a room I am sure they will always be full. The service is the best I have experienced at a hotel anywhere. They met every request I had made for a corner room, foam pillows and early check-in (2:00 p.m. instead of 3:00 p.m.). The hotel is only a couple of years old so everything is up to date and you don't have to deal with the remodeling of most hotels in older hotels. The floor to ceiling windows are great and let in the light. You are walking distance to just about anything including 2 blocks to the Magnificent Mile. It was quiet and the beds are very comfortable. The roof top pool and terrace is great for laying out in the sun or swimming year round in the enclosed pool. The views from there are great. Make sure you go up there in the evening. The price was an excellent value.

Room Tip: Sign up on the website to be a club member to set your preferences and get $10 raid the mini-bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srichmond2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear srichmond2008:

Thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel. We are so pleased that you had a great time with us and appreciate all of the details you shared with the TA community. We sincerely hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,935
    550
    85
    19
    10
See reviews for
636
935
120
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Another wonderful find form Kimpton. Excellent location, friendly staff, lovely rooms at very good prices. Couldn't imagine anything better in the city!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear DJsdad:

Thank you so much for your TA review. We always appreciate it and are so glad you had a great time in our hotel and in Chicago.

See you again soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Upon arriving in Chicago, late, and from the awful Midway airport, we immediately knew this was going to be a great place to stay. For a start, the hotel is right over the road from the Grand/State Red line L stop, as well as a great brewpub called Rock Bottom (yeah, I know it's a chain, but the beer, food, and service are excellent). Secondly, we were immediately looked after by a very friendly lady on reception (Liara, I think) who filled us in on all that the hotel, and the Kimpton group, had to offer. This set the tone for a great stay.

We were very busy with sightseeing and beer-touring (I'm a craft brewer, and was primarily in Chicago to enjoy the city's wonderful craft beer scene) so I was sad we didn't have the time to avail ourselves of all the great facilities the hotel had to offer, like the wine receptions and roof pool, but I'm sure they would have met the high standard this hotel clearly prides itself in maintaining.

Having arrived VERY footsore, after lots of walking in San Francisco, and Las Vegas, and still (strangely) on New Zealand time for most of the trip, we valued long lie-ins in the morning before heading out. As such, we often find the maid service can be thrown by our routine, and we often arrive back to drop things off several hours later to find the room still un-refreshed. Not so at the Palomar. No sooner were we out and about than the maids would spring into action like aproned super-heroes, and we even managed to leave for 10 minutes, forget my CTA pass, and return to find them already at work! Seriously impressive. Tip them well, travellers.

The hotel itself is lovely. The decor is warm and relaxing, and the works of many local artists are displayed around the hotel. Our room was large, comfortable, and a pleasure to come home to after long days traipsing around Chicago.

That's not to say all was perfection. We had a recurring issue with the toilet in our room failing to flush, but these things happen, and again, the staff showed their calibre in how they dealt with it. They seemed very upset when the fault re-occurred after the first fix, and we arrived back in our room, very late, and several beers worse for wear, to find a lovely bottle of wine, a handwritten note and a voicemail, both apologising for the issue and offering to move us to another room if we liked. In hindsight, drinking the wine with my wife after a day of beer sampling may not have been the smartest move, but the gesture was very much appreciated - thank you Sam. Things can and do go wrong all the time, and only someone of the meanest spirit would ever count something like that against the hotel, especially when the staff were so amazing about fixing it.

In summary, for location, service, quality, and just general "wow" factor, I don't think you can beat the Palomar. I'll be back next time I'm in Chitown, that's for sure, and will be looking for other Kimpton hotels whenever I'm in the USA.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreigM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear GreigM:

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It was so detailed and complimentary - we thank you for that. As always, we appreciate candid feedback, both good and bad, even though we do love the good stuff even more.

Thank you for visiting us from so far away. We look forward to your retrun visit one day.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I know many discount the raving reviews, but this was a fabulous hotel! First, the location is great. You are only a few blocks off Michigan Avenue and close to Nordies and the Trib building.

Staff was impeccable. Super helpful and attentive. Even brought by ice and a weather report on my second night.

Room was clean and modern. Comfortable bed with lots of pillows and a down comforter. Shower had great pressure and hot hot water.

Sign up for the Kimpton club before staying as it will get you free in room wifi (fast too!), free newspaper, and $10 from the mini bar. I booked through Hotwire and got all these amenities.

FOr runners - Only one mile from the lake and they have towels and ice cold water waiting in the lobby upon your return (only in the morning).

I would stay again in a heartbeat and recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear twiggers77:

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and detailed descriptions.

Running along the river and lake is one of the best things about our location. We are right there.
Every Tuesday morning we have a manager led run that takes guests along the lake and back. Just be in the lobby by 6:15 a.m. It's a lot of fun.

See you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in the perfect neighborhood and very accommodating and helpful with transportation, recommendations of places to go and places to eat. Have two kids under 5 and it was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esiegel531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Esiegel531:

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate it. We also love having kids stay with us, so they can experience our indoor pool, special kids scavenger hunt and other fun stuff.

We hope to see you back soon.

All the best,

Nabil Mouabyed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,304 - ₹ 36,257
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing