We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #13 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Palomar in Chicago. We decided to try the hotel because of all of the great reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel was offering a 10% discount through TripAdvisor. I went to make the reservation and had a question about the hotel, so I called Kimpton reservations. They could not have been more professional or helpful. During the course of that conversation, the reservation agent asked the purpose of our visit and I told her that we were celebrating our anniversary. When we checked-in, we were wished a happy anniversary and informed that we had been upgraded to a suite. Then, when we arrived in the room, we found champagne and strawberries with chocolate and a note from Mark, the concierge, wishing us a happy anniversary - amazing! The room was awesome - spacious, floor to ceiling windows, immaculate, beautiful! Everyone and everything in this hotel was top notch. My husband, who travels extensively for work and stays in hotels all over the country, was really impressed with this hotel and its attention to detail. The Hotel Palomar is located in a great area of Chicago - easy to get to everything. I highly recommend this hotel.
Thank you Hotel Palomar for making our anniversary stay so memorable!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank er6362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,981
    562
    85
    19
    10
See reviews for
653
949
123
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Palomar for 4 days on our honeymoon. I cannot say enough about how wonderful this hotel is. From Tony the doorman to Jessica the conceirge. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. Conveniently located to shopping and restaurants. They sent champagne to the room our first night and every evening they filled our ice bucket, turned down our bed and chocolates on the pillows. The free coffee and tea every morning was a wonderful add on! They are always on the ball and helpful in every way. You can guarentee we will be back and we will be staying at the Palomar! Thank you for a wonderful honeymoon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indygirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I could literally go on and on about this hotel. The accomodating staff; superior location; comfortable and spacious rooms. A+++.

I am from Chicago originally, and come back for business and family visits 2-3X a year. In the past 6 months, I have chosen to stay at the Palomar hotel 3 times because of the exceptional accomodations and GREAT customer service.

First, if you want something, anything, JUST ASK. The staff will do everything they can to accomodate you. Your comfort and enjoyment is truly their #1 priority. If only every hotel treated their customers in this manner. I am a Hilton, Marriott and Sheraton Rewards Member. However, when I travel to Chicago, I choose the Palomar and am now a proud Kimpton member!

In your room you will find a well stocked mini bar, with some of the best assortment of healthy foods and drinks I have yet to see in my travels. There is a bathrobe, slippers and large umbrella in the closet for guests to use. . . .and/or purchase if so desired. The Sable Restaurant is DELICIOUS! I am a fish eating vegetarian, and there are plenty of options available on the menu to choose from. And guess what? If you are not sure you will like the food/drink. . .the wait staff is so certain you will be satisfied, they offer you the opportunity to try it and if you don't like it, you can choose something else. WOW! What do you have to lose?!?!

I did not have to return anything. . . .by the way.

The hotel has a great work-out area, and is conveniently located within walking distance of the John Hancock Center and the Art Institute (IF you like a 20-30 minute walk!). We walked EVERYWHERE, including the Shedd Aquarium.

And you are one block from the Red Line, which you can take North of the Loop.

Many thanks to Mark, who is always SO helpful when we are looking for places to eat.

Also, if you do have a car, I recommend parking in the parking Garage on Grand 1 block away. You will save $10!

Seriously, look no further! Book this hotel. You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have nice views and lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoisSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear LoisSedona:

Thank you so much for the detailed review you just posted. We truly appreciate it and are so glad you love staying with us. I agree about Mark, he is an awesoem concierge and always finds just the right spots!

We look forward to yoru return in the near future.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

I was born and raised In Chicago and this is one of my favorite places to stay for a night in the city. Perfect location right in the heart of river north walking distance to everything!! Beautiful room wonderful service. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mamck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Mamck27:

Thank you so much for the review you just left for us. We are so glad that as a local, you love spending sometime with us. That makes us very happy and we hope to continue making your visits special.

Warm regards,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Conveniently located hotel in magnificient Mile ,Chicago. Nice rooms, great view from pool. For a few days in Chi - perfect choice. Very friendly staff, pleasant add-ons as wine hour and coffee in the morning. One thing to improve- breakfast. Maybe for Americans could be OK, but I'm from Europe and , well, it is not OK.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Magad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Magad:

Thank you for your review about our hotel. We are glad you had a pleasant time here and also we are sorry that the breakfast did not live up to your expectations. Although I am not clear what the difference is between an European and American expectation reagrding breakfast, we appreciate your feedback.

All the best and we hope to see you again in the future.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,461 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,692 - ₹ 31,906
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing