We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

I was born and raised In Chicago and this is one of my favorite places to stay for a night in the city. Perfect location right in the heart of river north walking distance to everything!! Beautiful room wonderful service. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mamck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Mamck27:

Thank you so much for the review you just left for us. We are so glad that as a local, you love spending sometime with us. That makes us very happy and we hope to continue making your visits special.

Warm regards,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,898
    544
    83
    19
    10
See reviews for
620
919
118
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Conveniently located hotel in magnificient Mile ,Chicago. Nice rooms, great view from pool. For a few days in Chi - perfect choice. Very friendly staff, pleasant add-ons as wine hour and coffee in the morning. One thing to improve- breakfast. Maybe for Americans could be OK, but I'm from Europe and , well, it is not OK.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Magad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Magad:

Thank you for your review about our hotel. We are glad you had a pleasant time here and also we are sorry that the breakfast did not live up to your expectations. Although I am not clear what the difference is between an European and American expectation reagrding breakfast, we appreciate your feedback.

All the best and we hope to see you again in the future.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Love this hotel, well located in Chicago CBD. Kings spa rooms are very well appointed and have space, a large bathroom, large glass screened shower, excellent lounge seating, very good room service and friendly staff. I could not fault this hotel in my four day stay. I would highly recommend the Palomar for either holidays or business. Bar is usually pleasantly busy and restaurant is also good. Other hotels could learn from the design and size of the king spa rooms, price of extras, etc.
Yes I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Consider the hote'ls offer re upgrade for not much extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear cyberlion:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We always appreciate the feedback so we can look for ways to make things even better. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the King Spa premiere room - those jacuzzi tubs truly are one of a kind.

We hope to see you back with us again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I usually stay at the Peninsula...but we decided to give the Palomar a try because of the reviews on TripAdvisor (and because we felt the service at the Peninsula was slipping). We were very impressed.....service is 5 star. The follow through and attentiveness of the staff is really above the "5 Star" hotels. The rooms are nice-they are super clean, very functional (outlets), nice bath, spacious etc.
If you join the Kimpton club, there is no charge for the Internet! That's a plus for us!! We feel the Internet is a staple....up there with hot water. Nothing irritates us more than over paying at a luxury hotel only to be overcharged for a service that should come with the room.
Kimpton has impressed us....their service has beat the Peninsula!
We will be back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lntyrrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear lntyrrell:

Thank you so much for the review you just posted. To be favorably compared to the Peninsula is truly an honor and we very much appreciate it. We will continue to work hard to make this one of the most affordable yet special hotels in Chicago. Thank you for the inspiration.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Hotel is well located.
Consistently good service from the front desk. Door men were not so attentive and I was left to wrestle with 2 huge suitcases while they chatted and warmed themselves...the only Caucasian doorman there however, was helpful and attentive consistently towards all guests.
Housekeeping was fair with one exceptional staff whom I even hunted down to thank personally.

Beds and pillows were comfortable. Love all the extra pillows. The free wireless available when one signs up as a member of kimptpm is great!
The $10 in room bar voucher is a treat as well as the wine/ pizza being offered in the evening ( I myself didn't partake but I could see other guests thoroughly enjoying themselves!)

I like the idea of boarding pass print outs for guests in the business center .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NimBiTus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear NimBiTus:

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate all the feedback we get and I am truly sorry that you were made to struggle with luggage at the front door. That is certainly not typical or acceptable.

We also very much appreciate that you have become a Kimpton convert and hope to see you in one of our hotels in the near future.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#15 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,235 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 186 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#8 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#9 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#13 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,025 - ₹ 32,692
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing