We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa D'Citta
Nearby Hotels
US$ 811
US$ 755
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 974
US$ 792
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 626
US$ 599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Central Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 823
US$ 642
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 1,074
US$ 679
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
River Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 743
US$ 670
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 431
US$ 370
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 886
US$ 817
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 619
US$ 558
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hyatt Regency Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
350
20
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
20
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln parktuscan suiteeuro roomhot tubfresh baked cookiesbed and breakfastdepaul universitybreakfast pizzawell stocked kitchenthe inn keeperhome away from homehalsted streetheated floorsprivate bathroomgas fireplacebreakfast was amazingsmall elevator
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

There really is NO other place to stay in Chicago!

The Villa D'Citta exceeded all expectations from the moment we arrived. The rooms (ours was the Grand Tuscan) were breath-taking; the bathrooms opulent and luxurious; and the mostly do-it-yourself, fully stocked kitchen and dining room gave a comfortable, at-home feel. Considering everything the villa offered, it was also an outstanding value.

Thank you to Emily and everyone at the villa.

Skip

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Villa D'Citta. Here are the things we liked about it:
- Great location, just blocks from the El, great restaurants, shopping, and Lincoln Park (the park itself). Also, the Steppenwolf and several other theatres are within easy walking distance. There is lots to do in the area and the neighborhood is beautiful, definitely worth a stroll.
- Beautifully decorated rooms. Most were also very spacious, although a couple are maybe on the small side.
- Breakfast at 9 AM (we like to be able to sleep in a little on vacation, many B&Bs serve breakfast at 8 AM)
- Great breakfast with lots of choices. There were waffles every day, along with an egg dish, varying sides, and potatoes. For people who want healthier options, there was steel-cut oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, and fruit. The chef was very friendly and willing to accommodate special requests.
- An elevator for getting luggage up to your room (and back down again)
- Free wifi
- Very comfy beds with crisp white linens
- More than just breakfast. Ingredients to make paninis and hot dogs were always available, if you wanted snack or even lunch.
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Nice courtyard and deck, with hot tub (although we didn't have a chance to use these areas during our stay)
- It was very quiet. When our room door and all of our windows were shut, we heard very little noise from outside the room. This despite the fact that the El was only a few blocks away and was quite audible when we had the windows open and the B&B is located on a very busy street. When we had the windows and doors closed, we barely heard the El and we heard no street noise whatsoever (our room was at the back of the house). We also rarely heard the other guests when we were in our room. Whatever they used for soundproofing--it is excellent!
- Very clean--up to my fussy, slightly OCD standards.
- The flameless candles in our room were a nice touch. I especially liked having the remote for them, so we could go to bed with them on and then turn them off without having to get up again.
- The gas fireplace in our room was also a nice plus. We did use it on our first night and it worked great.

A few minor compliants:
- The wifi connection seemed a little slow
- The indoor temperature was a little chillier then we would have liked. It's a house not a hotel, so there's no way to individually control the temperature in your room. We did not bring this issue to our hosts' attention, so it's entirely possible they would have changed the temperature if we had asked. We were also there during a heat wave, so it's possible they had the AC running more than usual.
- It would have been nice to have a desk in our room
- There were a few instances where it seemed like the amenities weren't quite up to the ambiance they are trying to create. The orange juice was from concentrate, not fresh; Dove products in the bathroom instead of more luxurious toiletries.
- No decaf coffee in the morning (but luckily there is a Starbuck's just half a block away)
- Although very nicely done, the bathroom in our room (Florencia) was a little small with no counterspace.

But these are all very minor complaints--really, nitpicking to be honest. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Florencia and loved it. It was great to have the doors that opened over the back courtyard, the room was very spacious, and the beds were super comfy. We also peeked in the Milan and Grand Tuscan suites and both looked fabulous. The Euro room was very small--this would probably be our last choice.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Hello!!

Thank you so very much for your review. We appreciate all of your kind words and thoughts! It was so great to meet everyone during your stay!! Thank you!! Great suggestion for decaf coffee!! I will make sure that we have that on hand.

We started off using high-end hotel products but soon after we were receiving complaints concerning allergenic issues and a need to fit a gender neutral demographic. Dove products seemed to be the end all be all answer without quams. During your next stay I am more than happy to meet any requirements that you desire.

Again, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great five star review! We really appreciate it! Come back and see us soon!

Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I come to Chicago at least twice a year and used to stay at the W as it is one of my overall properties to stay. However after staying here due to a wedding in Lincoln Park I will definitely be returning. The inside is like a museum with so many things to look at. The property itself is done very tasteful and classy. The only thing I didnt like is that it wasn't mine. The neighborhood was great. Shopping,restaurants, the zoo, and the lake are all walking distance. My wife and I stayed in the Venetian and had our breakfast on the little private patio outside our door. The staff even brought the breakfast up to our room which was so great. Planning another trip and if available will definitely make the Villa our first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My friends and I from Serbia, were travelling throught USA in May. On our stop in Chicago we spend 3 nights at the Villa and would go back again in a heartbeat. Perfect location and surroundings, villa is gorgeous inside and out, spotless and very elegant. The staff are incredibly friendly and professional and you just want to take them home with you :) The rooms were very clean, warm and cosy. Having breakfast in that lovely and comfortable place is just perfect beginning of a day in Chicago !!!
Thank you so much for everything! Staying in the Villa was one of the most pleasant spots on my trip :) !!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank elakralj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed in the Venetian with my girlfriend over the weekend and felt like I was in a different city. Beautiful property and our suite was perfect. I definately got extra brownie points for this one. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jae g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews