We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #14 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience ever!”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My daughter gave me an early Father's Day gift of spending a couple of days with her in downtown Chicago at the Waldorf Astoria. She booked a suite and paid for everything! From the second I got out of the taxi, I experienced nothing but first class service. I was greeted by the doorman who immediately collected my bag and promptly delivered it to our suite. Every employee encounter was a friendly experince and all of them made a point of asking if there was anything we wanted. The rooms of our suite were well appointed and immaculate. The beds were comfortable and had the softest sheets I ever slept on. Room service, nightly turndown service, etc. were prompt and courteous and no one accepted a tip when offered on multiple occasions. We were consistently told that service was included as part of our stay -- even a complimentary shoeshine! I've stayed at several hotels that may have had comparable accommodations, but this one had the best service I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RRaccoon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,894
    226
    109
    34
    22
See reviews for
544
939
116
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I booked a Waldorf Suite for 3 night's to surprise my wife on her 40th birthday. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are courteous, friendly and extremely accommodating.

The spa is wonderful and my wife solely enjoyed her massage. Food and wine are excellent. The whole hotel has a luxurious yet welcoming and warm atmosphere.

We have stayed at various Chicago hotels, but this hotel has everything and then some! If you are looking for something special, plan your next stay here. You will not regret it!

Thank you to all staff for making my wife's birthday a memorable one - for all the right reasons!

Room Tip: Try to get a corner suite (larger balconies). But then again, do not be disappointed if you do not g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SavoirVivreDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is one of my favorite hotel in the country. I was staying here on business and not only did the room exceed my expectation but the food in the restaurant was fantastic.

The room was spacious, updated with all modern amenities, well decorated and very well kept. My corner room had a great view with a balcony to enjoy the view of Chicago. There was enough room to work and relax. The bedroom was spacious with and the bed was comfortable.

The food in their "bistro" style restaurant was 5 stars. If you have time to go to the bar, it has a cool vibe, almost a lounge setting. A great place to have a drink, snacks and relax.

The location is also ideal. Walking distance to great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LANative72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great hotel, will definately stay there again. The service is second to none. Wonderful room. The only weird thing is that we had to ask for more hand lotion and soap as it was not replenished. Breakfast was disappointing for the price. You will not be disappointed if you stay there.

Room Tip: We had a coner suite, about 1100 SqFt. It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is our third stay on this property but our first since the change from the elysian.
Gorgeous, so relaxing,outstanding service and a tremendous value for all the amenities you receive.
Splurge and you won't regret that you did....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank napervilletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,346 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,467 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,597 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,760 - ₹ 42,037
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing