We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Polo Inn Bridgeport U.S.A.
Ranked #10 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2015

My company was attending a conference at McCormick Place and all the hotels in the city were completely booked, and we found Bridgeport when looking at surrounding areas. It really is a quaint B&B just outside the city, but a quick 10 min ride to downtown and the conference center. The area is not tourist friendly (meaning no shopping/dining places within walking distance). You will need to call a cab/uber to do anything, but short/cheap ride. They do provide shuttle service to the convention center. The rooms are dated, but keep in mind this is a historic building and business.

This place would be perfect for a family or a group of people looking to stay in the same "room". I had a two room suite that was very spacious. There was a small kitchen area, bedroom with 2 twin beds, medium hallway that led to the bathroom and the other bedroom that had a queen bed, a couple of reclining chairs and a t.v. There is plenty of space for a group of 4 people to share. Each bedroom (2) had it's own door.

The breakfast was AMAZING! If you stay there, you MUST try the french toast. French toast is one of my favorite breakfast items, so I have had my fair share over many, many years. This was by far the best french toast I have ever had! It was actual thick french bread slices, which I have never had as french toast. I typically drench mine in syrup, but didn't even need to add a drop. It was baked with (what I think) syrup, butter, and magic. The crust was crispy, and the inside was warm, soft, sweet deliciousness. If I was a local, I'd be a regular at the cafe.

If you want new, middle of the city, hip hotel - then this is not the place for you. If you're open minded, like a great deal, and don't mind a 10 min ride to city center, then you'll love it at Bridgeport. If you do book Bridgeport, get the french toast!

Room Tip: Keep in mind just because it's old, doesn't mean it's dirty. While the furniture, carpet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lyndsie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2015

We traveled to the Chicago area in Feb 2015 for a 40th anniversary celebration in our family. The party was less than a mile from the Bridgeport B & B so rather than make the trip downtown after the party we chose to stay close by. What a great decision! We were initially attracted by the character of the area and the "neighborhood" feel. Parking was close by and entry during business hours is through the Cafe on the main floor. We were greeted by Kevin then the owner, Dave, both of whom are warm and informative. Be prepared for stairs because this is an older, well-maintained building with rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor. We chose the 11th Ward Suite on the 2nd floor. Our understated but well appointed rooms were ready with lots of space. Though we didn't use the kitchenette to eat, I was glad to have a place to use the steam iron near a sink. Modern amenities like wifi, thumbprint locks, and a work desk area combine with a clawfoot tub and high ceilings. Much of the original features have been maintained with creature comforts like zone area heating/air conditioning. It was chilly when we first entered but warmed up quickly. Our bed was amazing! They apparently have the mattresses hand made. I usually miss our bed at home but not this time. The walls were decorated with prominent 11th Ward civil servant photos and Dave could tell a story about each one. While we were there only one night, we would definitely choose Bridgeport B & B again. We expected to take breakfast with the cafe crowd starting at 10 am on Sunday. Instead, Dave asked when we would like to have breakfast and what would we like from the menu? Since we wanted to get away early, we ate about 8:30 am. My husband had the unforgettable French toast while I enjoyed the goat cheese omelet. The cheese was SO creamy! If I had to pick a "last meal" this would be it. Portions were large and presented with flair. The decor of the cafe which has evolved from Dave's candy shop is filled with fascinating memorabilia and a local-artist rendered chalkboard filled with local sites and celebrities. We could have talked to Dave about Chicago history all day. Dave has, by-the-way, an amazing singing voice which we got a little taste of as he showed us the ballroom portion of the building complete with stage, grand piano, loft area, and organ. Dave and Kevin have done an amazing job repurposing an older building while keeping the delightful charm of the place intact. We have traveled extensively to B & Bs in the US and Canada and this is one of the best experiences we've have. Don't miss it if you love local color, great food and entertaining hosts. Close to lots of great things in Chicago. We went to the Field Museum of Natural History after we left and it only took 10 minutes! Sorry Dave that it took me several weeks to post this - our new grand baby arrived shortly after we returned home.

Room Tip: My husband is a very light sleeper. 11th ward was a VERY quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoOverfifties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

We knew this would be an exceptional place to stay when Dave burst out of the café to greet us on the pavement as we got out of the taxi from the airport.
When visiting a big city it's all too easy to stay in an anonymous chain hotel, but this is somewhere quite different. Dave told us that when he decided to start a B&B he aimed to get both the bed and the breakfast right. Well, in our view he succeeded: the bed was big and comfy, the suite we stayed in was roomy and comfortable, and the breakfast just has to be seen (and eaten) to be believed.
A great place to stay in a fascinating part of Chicago with an up and coming artists' community. Just 10 minutes walking and bus to the Red Line, so pretty handy for downtown.
And when we needed a lift Dave ran us all the way to Union Station.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RedhillChiliPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2014

What a great experience. The owner, Dave Samber made us feel right at home the minute we arrived. We arrived late and had plans for the evening. After our cab didn't show, Dave drove us all the way over to Lincoln Park so we wouldn't be late. Plus he has great stories! We stayed in the White Sox suite which was very quirky and fun. Super quiet at night. Breakfast was terrific! Great food and service. Martin and his staff took good care of us. Highly recommend the Gospel Brunch on Sundays. Too much fun! The B&B was close to the White Sox stadium and the train station with an easy commute into downtown. The neighborhood looks interesting and seemed safe. Next time I would love to spend more time exploring. Appears that there are quite a few artists in residence in the area. I will definitely be coming back again. Maybe to watch the Twins beat the Sox!!

Room Tip: The White Sox suite was super quiet at night! Was suprised how quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LAW231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Dave, the owner makes you feel like an old friend from the minute you arrive. He made sure we got settled and had everything we needed. He provided information and directions; he even drove us to the train station. He's also the chef and the included, full cooked-to-order breakfast is not to be missed. We were lucky enough to be there on a Sunday so we got to experience the Gospel brunch! Sing along as you become the choir or just enjoy the music.
We stayed in the Mayor's suite which has three bedrooms, a kitchenette and 2 seating areas. The suite was very comfortable and was like being in a home instead of a hotel. I especially liked the big bath sheets instead of the usual bath-size towels most hotels provide.
The rest of the staff was just as nice and helpful. It's a great, quiet little spot that's an easy train ride to downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank blista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Rogers Park
Lang House Bed and Breakfast
West Loop
The Publishing House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Sono Chicago
The Sono Chicago
#2 of 22 in Chicago
99 reviews
Northwest Side
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#5 of 22 in Chicago
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Polo Inn Bridgeport U.S.A.? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Polo Inn Bridgeport U.S.A.

Address: 3322 S Morgan St, 2nd and 3rd Floors, Chicago, IL 60608-6727
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 16,008 - ₹ 21,905 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above his legendary restaurant, Polo Cafe and Catering, chef-owner, and now innkeeper, Dave Samber continues to offer "something different...something wonderful!" in his spacious 2 and 3 bedroom Bridgeport-themed suites with private bath and complimentary parking, plus free shuttle service TO local trains and McCormick Place. You'll also be treated to Dave's scrumptious breakfasts and his weekend brunches: Bloody Mary Brunch on Saturday and HALLELUJAH!! Sing-along GOSPEL Brunch on Sunday. It's all part of their real Chicago Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Polo Inn Bridgeport U.S.A. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing