We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Place”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I spent about ten days here and was delighted with the experience. Dave was a most gracious host and fixed outstanding breakfasts each morning. The suite was perfect with a touch of old and new. It is located on a nice quite and safe street in the Bridgeport section of Chicago and Dave provided shuttle service as required. Downstairs is the Polo Cafe which has an excellent menu and outstanding food. I will be staying here on future trips to Chicago, without a doubt! Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTrainTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
18
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed in the Sox Suite with a couple friends on a weekend trip. We had three bedrooms, a dining area, kitchen and bathroom. The decor was unique but perfect us as baseball fans. Lots of White Sox decorations and memorabilia. Dave and Kevin were gracious hosts and went out of their way on several occasions. Great breakfast, very comfortable stay. It beat staying in a hotel by a long shot.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

It's hard to find a comfortable, economical place to stay in Chicago: The Bridgeport B&B is it! Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms, in a building that is full of character, in a neighborhood that is full of character. Dave and his staff are also full of character. They are full of recommendations for whatever you need, and it was always good advice. They went way above and beyond to make us comfortable and to make our trip a success. Reasonable cab fares to downtown, etc., and VERY well located if you like public transportation. Great food in the restaurant on-site.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed here for a weekend because most of the traditional hotels were fully booked and ridiculously expensive. It was our first time at a B&B. We had a suite with two bedrooms, a small kitchenette, and a bathroom. Our rate also included full breakfasts at Dave's Polo Cafe (downstairs) and free parking. Our flight was delayed for two hours and we did not get in till almost midnight on a Friday night. We did call Dave, the owner, from the airport to let him know we would be late. Dave was very kind and understanding and was there to receive us when we arrived. The building is old (90 years old, according to Dave) so plumbling and the interior were a bit dated. The suite was relatively clean, though the carpet could use a good vaccuming especially underneath the queen-sized bed. There was also no toiletries in the bathroom but there was plenty of towels and a hairdryer. The breakfast on our first morning there (Saturday) was very good. We could order anything from the brunch menu. We had the Creme Brulee French Toast, Chilichilles and Eggs Benedict which were all very delicious, especially the Creme Brulee French Toast. Our second morning there, we were under the impression that we could order anything from the breakfast menu but was told by Kevin (Dave's right hand man/manager) that we only had two choices - Creme Brulee French Toast or scrambled eggs, potatoes and bacon. Our stay was pleasant. Dave is an awesome host. He is very hospitable, kind and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VACATION1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin. Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago because all of the traditional hotels were booked solid and insanely expensive due to a trade show being in town. Ended up having a fantastic time! We had a suite with two bedrooms, a full kitchen, and a bathroom.

Dave, the owner, is very kind and happy to give you all sorts of tips for a great weekend in Chicago. The breakfast in the morning is included at the downstairs Polo Cafe, as is parking. The breakfast is really good, although the omelet could have used more cheese.

Even with taking cabs to and from the city (about $12 each way), you will save a bundle by staying out here. The location is the only downside - it's in a neighborhood with not a lot happening nearby. It's also fun to learn about the history of the place from Dave and to hear his stories about how the place has changed through the years. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erintravelaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#139 of 187 in Chicago
111 reviews
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#134 of 187 in Chicago
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chicago South Loop Hotel
#105 of 187 in Chicago
1,502 reviews
Carlton Inn Midway
#47 of 187 in Chicago
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3322 South Morgan Street, 2nd and 3rd Floors, Chicago, IL 60608
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,650 - ₹ 22,805
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above his legendary restaurant, Polo Care and Catering Bridgeport U.S.A., chef-owner, and now innkeeper, Dave Samber continues to offer "something different...something wonderful!" in his spacious 2 and 3 bedroom themed suites with private bath and complimentary lighted parking, plus free shuttle service TO local trains and McCormick Place. You'll also be treated to Dave's scrumptious breakfasts and his weekend brunches: Bloody Mary Brunch on Saturday and HALLELUJAH!! Bridgeport GOSPEL Brunch on Sunday. It's all part of their real Chicago Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing