We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay in Chicago” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia Studios
Perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great stay in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Mea culpa, mea culpa. I had forgotten to write a report on our stay here back in September! What a great place in a nice neighbourhood with Bryn Marr L station 5 minutes walk away. Kate is delightful and I was pleased to sit down and have a beer with her one day. Looking forward to coming back in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ditu-Wonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
56
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

This vacation rental has become my (and my husband's) home away from home ever since my daughter had her first baby last December. We stayed in the apartment for three weeks then, and found it more than spacious for our needs - including cooking Christmas meals for the kids! Since then I have stayed several times in the studio and found it equally spacious and comfortable. I can walk to my daughter's apartment nearby through the beautiful neighborhoods of Andersonville. Kate is a funny, pleasant and efficient host who will appear when you need her to, but stays low profile when you just want to come and go as you please. I'm so happy I found this!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgoold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

a very friendly, warm, reasonably priced accommodation in Chicago. very close to a lively yet safe area with pubs, restaurants and shops (plus add the beach in summer). Kate is an exceptional landlady, while her husband is always willing to help and sort out the odd inconveniency. Definitely recommended. Close to the Tube: it takes roighly half an hour to get downtown

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augustonotaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Hubby & I attended a November wedding in Andersonville. The bridal couple had reserved hotel rooms 15 miles away. Upon looking for a closer option, the Magnolia apartment was ideal! It has a private bedroom, a cozy living area with pull-out sofa for my mother. She slept very comfortably in the glow of a fireplace. Loved the security measures, convenience to area transportation, beach, shops, restaurants, and the personal touch of Kate's greeting upon arrival. Plenty of blankets, towels, hot water & coffee! Andersonville is our new favorite Chicago neighborhood. Parking in the garage with a large vehicle was challenging but well worth the extra charge since street parking was limited. Only negative was no-pets-allowed. Would have loved to bring them along.

Room Tip: apartment is in basement of owner's main house so we often heard foot-traffic of their kids. st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annvan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I decided to stay here on a recent visit to see our daughter. It was such a lovely little spot off the beaten track but not far from the city. Quiet and cozy neighborhood, too.
Kate was a delight to work with, even when we had to cut our trip short due to a death in another state. Having a laptop available was a real plus in this instance.
Very comfortably furnished with everything you need for your stay. A modern and cozy little hideaway at very reasonable prices. We would definitely stay here again.
Hank & Charlene Clausen, Sun Lakes, AZ.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#44 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#80 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#63 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Studios? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Studios

Property: Magnolia Studios
Address: 5705 N Magnolia Ave, Chicago, IL 60660
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,284 - ₹ 12,284
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Guest House situated on a quiet, tree-lined street in Chicago’s Edgewater / Andersonville neighborhood, Magnolia Studios offers a choice of 3 unique Chicago suites, only five minutes from the beach and thirty minutes from downtown Chicago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Studios Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing