We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best choices in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #35 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 December 2009

I stayed at the Wit for 5 nights and liked it a lot! The hotel is very nice, everything is new and hip. I stayed at a Spa Room witch was a corner room with two walls of floor to ceiling windows, big LCD TV and a fabulous soaking tub with a very nice view of the city.

I also went to the bar one night and was really nice.

The hotel has the perfect location (near to the river, lots of stores, the Art Institute, a subway station…)

Looking forward to stay in the Wit again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marce_LCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,541)
There are newer reviews for theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,400 - 2,404 of 2,541 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2009

My first time staying at The Wit and would highly reccommed this hotel for convenience and hospitality.

The staff was gracious and accommodating at all times. Can't beat being welcomed at check-in with a warm cookie!

The location is fantastic. I was seeing theater at both the Goodman and the Oriental and both were very close. The Chicago Theater is also less than a block away. The hotel is also right next to the El to Midway so it made airport transport exceptionally easy.

The room is very nice and modern. Comfy bed, iPod dock, large flat screen tv (the direct TV takes awhile to find a signal, which can be annoying - I don't know if this happens with all satellite tv?). Bathroom nice and clean (though a large, flat and square sink would not be my design choice as it has trouble washing anything down the drain).

I asked for a humidifier when I checked in and it was brought up to my room within minutes. Room service was tasty and relatively quick. The concierge had an umbrella to loan me as I ventured out. Check in and out was quick and easy. The business center has computers that you can pay to use, but to just print out my boarding pass was free.

All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meliberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I never really think too much about service at a hotel -- as long as it's competent and not overtly rude.

But The Wit's service is superb -- everyone was sincerely warm, welcoming, and eager to help.

I really like the rooms, even if, as some have mentioned, form doesn't always follow function. (The freely hanging sliding door in the bathroom that doesn't truly close, and the shower easily floods if you don't carefully adjust the shower head).

But the rooms are a real pleasure: fun, slick and stylish but really comfortable. One reviewer complained about the views, but our river view -- which we reserved specifically for -- was absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckdexterhaven37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2009

Very well done! Professional and efficient check-in by friendly staff, breakfast at State & Lake was nice, room was clean and perfect. Stayed a long 3-day weekend, loved Roof and the staff - brought clients on Saturday and while a 30 minute wait, door staff on second floor took care of me and was ushered right in with guests. Made a major impression, they were very professional. Room service also fantastic, Charles was top-notch!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We switched our reservation from the Conrad to the Wit and absolutely loved it. The hotel is new and has an amazing look from the lobby to the hallways. Staff is incredibly helpful and attentive. Rooms are done in a very modern look with excellent bathroom fixtures. Bed is very comfy.

Visited roof, the bar on the top floor. While it can get crowded, guests of the hotel receive passes to get in if it's too crowded. It can be touch to get a table, but the staff will take care of you.

All around an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScooterRed71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,088 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,769 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 9,450 - ₹ 35,292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing