We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just book your room now!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #39 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 October 2012

It's not just a place to stay, it's an experience. Top notch facilities, and the most consistenly personable and well trained staff we have ever encountered. The location is excellent. If you are a shopper, you can walk 2 blocks load up with bags, drop them back off at the room, and be back at it in quick fashion. We will NEVER consider another hotel when we come to Chicago. We came celebrating my birthday, and we left with an experience at The Wit that will never be forgotten. A special thank you for Yesenia at the desk for going above and beyond for my birthday.
SERVICE IS IMPECCABLE and this staff may consist of the most friendly and personable people north of the Mason Dixon!

Do yourself a favor and stop looking. You have arrived!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,029 - 2,033 of 2,669 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

This was our second stay at the Wit. The location is fantastic, located across the street from the Chicago Theatre and within a block of Michigan Ave. The room was spotless, quiet, and very nicely appointed. The Spa rooms have a wonderful shower and a large, very deep, spa tub. If you fly into Midway, take the Orange line "L" train from the airport to State and Lake, which is right across the street from the hotel, and save the $30 cab fare from the airport. We have traveled to Chicago dozens of times and we ride the "L" trains while we are there and we have never had a safety issue. Buy a visitor pass from the CTA kiosk in the stations or order it by mail prior to going. You pay a flat fee for unlimited riding.

Room Tip: The spa rooms are well worth the extra money. Very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 492PatrickS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Simply stated... theWit LOVES our repeat guests!

Thank you.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The hotel is very centrally located, but everything felt squeezed. The lobby area is small, the bar areas are small. It is Hilton's attempt to be hip and trendy, but . . . falls flat. Overall though a good hotel due to the location and ease to the trains and walkablity is simply great.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the rail line and station - can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFamilyMiami, General Manager at theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for more reviews and perspectives. Amongst the first times we have heard concerns regarding the physical space as guest rooms are about 10-15% larger than most downtown rooms. State and Lake Chicago Tavern and ROOF both see a generous amount of guests daily with waits at only peak times. Our lobby area was designed to be a high-energy environment whether there is one guest or a couple of dozen- with great floor to ceiling views of the center of Chicago at State and Lake. For guests who wish to spread-out, utilize complementary wi-fi or otherwise relax, we do have a 2nd level Phoenix Lounge for complimentary seating, work and more. This area, too, has complete views of the city life about us.

Again, thank you for the feedback.

-Mark Shouger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

theWit is located a couple of blocks from the train (the L), so it's easy to get to and from the airport. I was not aware the name was "theWit", so I was looking for a "Doubletree" sign, which you will not find on the outside of the building. But you sure can see "theWit" sign. The staff was very friendly and professional, the room was clean and comfortable, and the bed was comfortable. The flat screen TV was a nice size, so what else would a guy want. The hallway white-sound was a nice touch, especially at the end of a long day.

There are a couple of areas for slight improvement. Bath towel and toilet paper management could be more responsive. The sheets should be tucked in on both ends. And, water bottles were $6... a little too high for water. Other than that, all was great.

My room was quiet enough. However, a couple of my colleagues commented that they thought the rooms were a little noisy with the train going by, I didn't hear anything but the occasional police/fire siren.

The lobby side bar offers good food and drink, and again the service was great. The roof top bar was a little too dark and loud for me. But it looked liked it had fun potential. If I was not too beat at the end of the day, I would have explored a little longer.

Check out was quick, accurate, and friendly. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I stayed one night for a business meeting that was held in the hotel. It's all you'd expect from a trendy downtown hotel. I enjoyed walking to Millenium Park and the Art Institutes museums. Local food was bountiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnmarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
5,001 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#20 of 192 in Chicago
1,188 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 201 N State St, Chicago, IL 60601-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 8,471 - ₹ 25,350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
theWit is intelligently renewing one of the original "It" locations on the corner of State (the great) Street and Lake. Its history is rich with artists, theatre people, journalists and musicians as it is nestled between the theatre district and the river. Blending the amenities of a resort with the flair of a boutique hotel, theWit has brought a new energy and vitality to the downtown Chicago Loop. Striking design, unparalleled comfort, and remarkable services create a dramatic sensory experience. This is a destination for anyone who gets "It" or at least wants to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thewit Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing