We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Chicago Hot Dog!”
Review of Portillo's

Portillo's
Ranked #52 of 9,520 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Near North Side
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love the Chicago Hot Dog!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was the first time I've had the Chicago famous hot dog. Delicious! Portiollo's Hot Dogs was a great restaurant and the employees were friendly!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kardwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,604
    1,410
    398
    72
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“NEVER ANHY KETCHUP!!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Chicago Style Hot Dogs at their best, what more can I say. I moved away from Chicago and one of the best gifts I ever got was a care package from Portillo's with all the fixins!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CASABOHEMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OMG - R U Kidding?? For this price?? It's Awesome!! Great Food and Fun atmosphere!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is the deal of the century! not a quiet cafe - this is a noisy, fun, frenetic Chicago experience - with the cheapest, Best food I've ever had! I got a big Beef sandwich, Chicago hot dog and coke for $10! And they were Awesome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat.”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

There are so many choices, you can't go wrong by stopping by here for a bite to eat.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank pgriffin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Portillo's is AWESOME!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Ate at Portillos recently and it was wonderful! So great we ate there twice during our weekend visit to Chicago. Italian beef and hotdogs are awesome, and they had a bow tie pasta dish that was outstanding! LOVE IT!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachloverfromSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portillo's also viewed

 

Been to Portillo's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing