We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Small Hotel in an EXCELLENT location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #75 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic Small Hotel in an EXCELLENT location!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We live in the area and were just doing a night downtown and my husband was able to get a great last minute price on a suite for a night - the room was very spacious and comfortable - well appointed, with a comfortable bed. The location is awesome - it is right in the heart of the shopping area by Michigan Ave, but is quiet and small - has that boutique hotel feeling. It is in a VERY safe neighborhood and steps from Northwestern Hospital and what will be the new Children's Hospital, making it an excellent choice if you needed to visit people there, but you would don't feel like you are by a hospital - more like you are in a great shopping and dining area but on the quiet part of the street. The front desk staff was excellent - very helpful! We have stayed at Affinia Hotels in NYC before and have found them to also be excellent - reasonably priced, and wonderful service and rooms! This one is great and the location is just awesome!

Room Tip: I don't know for sure, but since the area is a bit busy, I would bet that higher up rooms are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opinionatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,715
    1,060
    339
    127
    74
See reviews for
716
1,146
230
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had an amazing experience at this hotel. It was in a prime location, close to major shopping area and gino's pizza east. Hotel room had really great view and was clean. The only thing that I did not like was finding a spider near the bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

On check-in, we were greeted by very friendly doorman and front desk staff, and our room was upgraded as were on our honeymoon - really a perfect start! The room itself was spacious, with a separate desk area on entry and large sitting room attached to the bedroom. Bathroom was clean and modern, with a separate dresser/makeup table which is great when other half is using the bathroom. Location was also great, short walk to the magnificent mile shopping street with plenty of restaurants (try Gino's next door - Chicago style pizza worth the wait in the queue). Within walking distance of the Loop, as well as subway station if you didn't want to walk home. Room service breakfast was great - delivered promptly and food was still hot. Street noise was the tiny negative but staying right in the city - really shouldn't complain.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InteractiveMarketing, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear TKT11, First and foremost, congrats on your marriage! So happy to hear you had such a great stay at Affinia Chicago, thanks for the compliments on our oversized guestrooms & location. I agree Gino's East is a must for Chicago style pizza! If you didnt this time, next time you'll have to let our front desk know you're heading there - they have passes that you can cut the line in 1/2. Congrats again on your recent wedding & we hope to share with you anniversary #1 next year, Klaus Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel itself is in a prime location downtown, on the doorstep of the shopping district - tick
The staff are knowledgable, friendly, can-do and pro-active - tick
The bar on the roof (29th floor) does a mean martini and the views are fantastic - tick

The rooms are clean, spacious and if you're lucky enough to get a view that's a big bonus BUT what was a let down was the lack of free internet. As we were working we were forced to pay a pricey $10 a day for the privilege or go to a cafe 2 blocks down to log on. I can't help but feel that if a cafe can provide free internet when you pay $2.40 for a tea, surely a $200 a night room should do the same? There wasn't even somewhere communal in the hotel (the bar?) to log on.

The online concierge that lets you order your pillows and hairdryer attachments of choice ahead of your stay (among other chargeable services) is a nice touch. Pity non of the things we requested (and which were confirmed via email) were actually provided.

And last, and perhaps the least, there was no cable TV - & although one doesn't go on holiday to watch TV, sometimes a bit of HBO helps the jet lag. It's not necessary, but would be a nice touch for the weary traveller, and add a little luxury to the whole experience.

All in all - a nice hotel and worth the try. Just don't expect any added value.

Room Tip: Anything North facing will give you a view right on to the Sears Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InteractiveMarketing, General Manager at Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Bug B, I appreciate the time you took to post about your experience. I have shared your comments regarding the internet fee with my team and while comparable to our comp set, we're always reviewing procedures. I'm sorry you didnt receive the items in your MyAffinia profile, I can't explain what happened but know that's not the norm and again I apologize. Thanks for the compliments on our cleanliness, location and generous room size; I hope to welcome you back soon, Klaus Peters, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Affinia. Perfect location and the staff was so helpful. We were disappointed to find that the rooftop area is not open on Monday and Tuesday. Also, the "copper" wal.ls in the bathroom make applying make-up interesting. Overall it was a good experience

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
The James Chicago
#45 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,170 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#101 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#71 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 166 E Superior St, Chicago, IL 60611-2924 (Formerly MileNorth Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#53 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,434 - ₹ 27,801
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban contemporary hotel residing in Chicago's Streeterville neighborhood. Visit Cambria and experience high standards of service in a setting that feeds off the local energetic vibe. Hip, comfortable and sophisticated, yet down to earth. The over-sized guest rooms and suites styled with a splash of Chicago flair, showcase dreamy views which will ignite a romance with this beloved city. Enjoy the 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge, for a glimpse of why Chicago is known for its architecture and stunning beauty. Surrounded by highly desirable shopping, dining and entertainment such as the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Millennium Park; yet also walk able to major local businesses, this 4 Star Hotel in Chicago is appealing to those looking to be productive, to dazzle or just to play. Welcome to Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Affinia Hotel
Affinia Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing