We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Ranked #30 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
237 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I travel a great deal and this is our favorite hotel in the United States. We have stayed at this hotel several times and we have never been disappointed. From the moment that we arrived until the moment that we left, everything was perfect. The staff is so well trained, the rooms are so clean, spacious and inviting that we hated to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jscottjoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,519
    343
    138
    52
    28
See reviews for
507
554
71
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis, mo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights. Been to Chicago many times and have stayed at several different types of hotels and I would say this rated as one of the best. Phenomenal service, great locale - we walked everywhere from dinners to playing at the beach. They took care of us and some friends after a last minute announcement it was their anniversary! Great views only wish they had some type of rooftop bar / summer lounge. Wife loved the slippers and lotions and I was even able to get a couple pair of shoes shined for free!! If u r up scaling and do not feel like setting fire to your wallet via the trump or peninsula, this should work beautifully...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphym35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Everyone needs to stay at Ritz Carlton once when they visit Chicago. By far, It was the best hotel and service I've ever experienced!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is obviously a hotel with an unbeatable location, and very upscale. As someone who has visited Chicago several times over the past 25 years, I chose it for a family (wife and 2 kids) vacation of 3 days ... because of its location and high standard. We also had a good deal (getting 3rd night for free), otherwise I would have opted for 2 lake view rooms at the nearby Drake ... a more nostalgic hotel, where I stayed a few years ago.

We booked a Michigan Avenue suite, with - as advertized and confirmed through a follow up phone call - 2 queen sized beds. Interestingly - after having flown over the atlantic - we were lead to a suite with 2 single beds and a sofa bed. Hence going back to the reception and dragging our luggage to rectify the situation. The second go, was a suite with 1 queen sized bed and a sofa bed .... not what we booked. On the next complainning trip to the reception (me now irritated and loud voiced) ... we got an additional suite for free that was interconnecting with the original one. I wonder why the booking mess ?

Other than that it was a pleasent stay. The rooms are well appointed, but not to the standards of a 4 Seasons in my opinion... unlike the common areas which are superb. But it is not a big thing, as one is rarely in the room in summer time, except to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The location is great and the rooms are very nice.
The lobby is very old and crowded, but still, the service is great.
In my opinion, the rooms could be a bit bigger.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nacho507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#11 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,205 - ₹ 44,719
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing