We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #99 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
battle creek
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historic Class”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We recently enjoyed a one night stay at the Historic Palmer House in downtown Chicago. I booked on hotwire and was very happy that i got this hotel. When you first walk into the lobby you are taken back to a different era of elegance and class. The detail on the ceiling murals is incredible. We walked up into the Empire room to look around and it was incredible. Standing there thinking of all the great performers that have been in there was so great. i was able to upgrade my room for $45 and was not disappointed. The upgrade got us a private elevator, all day snacks and sodas, continental breakfast and evening appetizers. I have not seen the "regular" rooms but the "upgraded" room was beautiful. The beds were very comfortable, the view was very nice and the tv was huge! The bathroom had a really nice double massaging head, but other than that it was 'ok'. The staff was all so nice and very helpful. The concierge was very helpful in helping me to map out which routes I should take for all the places i needed to go. She even told me which buses to take. We were greeting by every single housekeeper, waiter, desk clerk and bell hop that we passed! I truely felt like a princess. We did visit the pool once and it was just a simple pool, nothing special, but clean. The hot tub could use a little TLC but it worked fine. The location was perfect as it was very close to the subway and the main line for the buses. We were also just a short walk away from Union Station and the water taxis. I look forward to our next stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 23rd floor, in corner room with a great view. I highly suggest the upgrade - very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilszoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,305
    2,945
    1,359
    659
    321
See reviews for
1,535
2,195
476
3,026
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,734)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed here during a conference at the McCormick Center. It was an easy cab ride to the center, and it had very nice rooms, and a good work out center.

The rooms were clean, and I enjoyed my time here.

I would still recommend staying at the Hilton on Michigan Ave. over this one, because I really enjoyed eating at SNAX.

Room Tip: Fine place for business travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilmissmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

If you like big, beautiful , historic and impersonal, this is the place to stay in Chicago.The front desk and hosts at the restaurant were arrogant and rude. House keeping is a joke.There are no coffee makers in the rooms. Due to the size of the hotel, it's quite a hike to get coffee in the morning. The hallways are a maze, very dangerous if there were a fire. I have never stayed on a club/concerige floor where you have to pay for your drinks. Our friends made reservations, by phone for a room with a king bed. There were none available so they were put on the Club floor AND charged for the upgrade.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the EL. Best advice, go see but don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeltours2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikeston, Missouri
Level Contributor
211 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Spent 3 nights, 4 adults. 1 room. Why would any motel put 2 SMALL full sized beds and market it as comfortable? Paid extra for food and beverage and breakfast had no bacon, eggs or biscuits and gravy. Maybe we are not classy travelers but "free" soda was hot and melted ice before cooling soda. 2 teenage grands would have preferred pizza or burger to pasta salad. Room was clean, employees friendly and helpful. Maybe chicago is just more expensive than i thought!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

We booked over priceline and asked for a room to stay in with our two children.
The man at the front desk told us that this would be no problem.
The first room was so small, that two people are lucky to find place in there.
We got a bigger one and an extra bed should be delivered.
When we came back at 8 - no bed, 3 phonecalls and 2 hours later - no bed.
Down again - after 5 minutes the bed was there - for 1 person!!!
Luckily we had an airbed in the car.
Nice interior, and higher prices don't necessarily mean good service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaheleja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,846 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Property: The Palmer House Hilton
Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,183 - ₹ 31,351
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing