We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chicago Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
Ranked #100 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The Palmer House is pretty much my only Chicago hotel unless the location just wouldn't work for me. It is the hotel that my children (now adults) grew up knowing about Chicago. The location is great for dining, shopping and the arts. It is close to the Millennium Park area. The hotel is a historic landmark that began in the later part of the 19th century. The rooms are always interesting as it seems every time is completely different. Over the years, it has ranged from standard (but very nice) to some with two bathrooms and once in a while a large suite with a living room, a dining room and bar area. The concierge lounge floor is amazing as with the staff there. The last time pulling up at the front, both the parking valet and the older doorman recognized us as the folks from Minnesota. That was pretty special. We are there several times a year maximum and some years only once. The overall ambiance, the service, the attitude of the staff and the appointment, amenities and the housekeeping are all perfect. Three generations of my family have enjoyed it over the years. It is a great Chicago hotel, dignified and fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kawidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9,108)
There are newer reviews for The Palmer House Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,725 - 6,729 of 9,108 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed at the Palmer House twice recently, both times to attend ballet. I was with a friend the first time and we had one of those great, old double rooms with the two bathrooms. Luxury! The second time I was traveling solo and I had a king room. Both rooms were scrupulously clean and well appointed with nice toiletries, thick towels and comfy beds. (I wish they had bathrobes, though, my favorite amenity and pretty standard in most hotels of this quality.) The Palmer House has a great location in the heart of the Loop, it has a Starbucks on site, and it has visible security, which I appreciate when I am traveling alone. The lobby is a work of art; you should stop in even if you aren't staying the night. I arrived early in the morning and was prepared to check my bag and get on with my plans, but they had a room available, which certainly smoothed the way for me. The Palmer House is a special, elegant grande dame of hotels.

Room Tip: Listen to the desk clerk when you arrive. You will probably be offered upgrades that are well worth...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyQSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The lobby is exquisite, which only served to highlight the disconnect with the pathetic service. The Concierge Floor is a joke. For this kind of $$, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Check in was a breeze. However, I forgot my usual schpeel...not near the elevator, no adjoining rooms...ugh...It was not near the elevators, but there was an adjoining room. I thought okay we will try this it was at the end of the hall, big hotel, what's the chances of having a noisy neighbor? Headed to bed around 10:30 and the guest next door arrived. Sounded like a bunch of young women since they kept laughing loud and often. However, they quieted down about 1/2 hour later...which was acceptable. The next night however was a different story. They arrived around midnight and sounded like they put a movie on and kept laughing (very loudly) every couple of mintues...put a call into security around 12:30 since this kept up...I did not hear security knock on their door and the sounds did not stop...Called again after 1:00am and asked if they sent someone since the noise level did not stop. They apologized and sent security this time (since I could hear them talking in the hall) and it quietened down around 1:30am. We had to get up early to drive home, so needless to say no sleep that night. We were also on the 16th floor with the *L* just located to the side of the hotel and you could hear it go by every 3 min. Which wasn't that much distraction for sleeping, it just sounded like an airplane going by but it was hard to get used to since I'm such a light sleeper.

Back to the hotel. Excellent location. Beautiful bar/lobby area. Friendly staff. Parking cost was extreme $42 per day (2 days), but we had a really good deal on priceline.com so we didn't mind paying the costs. The room was very nice, a little dated, but the king bed was awesome. Very comfortable, sheets and the 5 pillows were awesome. I am very particular and they passed the test. The bathroom was very small, basically no counter room, shower drained slowly, but the towels were very nice. Desk area/sitting area with a 40in? flat screen tv this area made the room not seem crowed at all with lots of room to move around. We had requested a refrigerator to store my husbands insulin which we received, but upon check out there was a $40 charge (we have NEVER been charged for medical purposes). I called the front desk and they were more than willing to waive the charge and apologized for this.

So beware of adjoining rooms. I did find the hotel very noisy as we walked back and forth to our room you could hear others in their room. I don't usually notice that much when we've stayed at other hotels, but the racket seemed to be quite noticeable and we didn't have 'that' long of a walk to the elevator.

All in all good stay. Would I stay here again? Maybe, but I would definately make sure 'no adjoining room' and away from the "L".

Room Tip: High floor away from the L.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I came for an event and stayed an extra day to sightsee with my son. I wanted something close to some of the attractions...I found it!!!
It has old world charm and all the class included. The lobby is ful of life and always buzzing.
Looking to return and this isone the best spots to stay to be in the thick of things!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RastaMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 191 in Chicago
5,176 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 191 in Chicago
6,845 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#24 of 191 in Chicago
4,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 7,224 - ₹ 34,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing