We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 252
US$ 200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 386
US$ 350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Central Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 344
US$ 326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 307
US$ 290
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$ 766
US$ 500
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 313
US$ 269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 358
US$ 342
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 353
US$ 332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 722
US$ 655
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 401
US$ 374
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (9,694)
Filter reviews
9,694 results
Traveller rating
3,723
3,287
1,555
741
388
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,723
3,287
1,555
741
388
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive levelempire roomlockwood restaurantbeautiful lobbybeautiful hotelart institutethe loopclassic hotelstreet levelmillennium parklobby bara hilton honors memberrooms are smallan older hoteltwo double bedsdowntown chicagoconcierge desk
Filter
Updating list...
7,296 - 7,301 of 9,694 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at The Palmer House Hilton recently to enjoy easy access to The Art Institute. My kids LOVED this stay. We were on "The Executive Level". This level provides snacks, appetizers, and desserts. My kids REALLY enjoyed this. The pool has floating toys so there is no need to bring them with. This trip was great for EVERY member of the family. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Ask for The Executive Level.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natejake1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest,

I’m so glad to hear you and your children loved your stay at the Palmer House. I’m also happy to hear they enjoyed the snacks on the executive level, along with the pool and the floating toys in. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a great hotel. We always seem to find amazing rates on this hotel by using Hotwire (4 star hotel in the Loop). The hotel lobby is classic and beautiful. The rooms tend to be small but the amenities are very comfy and modern. Location is great. The red line L station is right outside the door. All other L lines are within walking distance. Close to Millennium Park.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the elevators as these tend to be louder. Also, to avoid a really small room, it might be best to request a 2 bed room rather than a single bed.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marybink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on the Palmer House. We appreciate your feedback on your experience during your stay. Again, thank you and we hope you will have an opportunity to visit again.

Sincerely,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel is beautiful. A beautiful Art Deco lobby with nice leather chairs to lounge in and a beautiful painted ceiling. As a Hilton Gold member, my room was upgraded to the Executive Floor and got two queen size beds with two bathrooms and a huge living room area. It was a nice treat. Plus we got free breakfast every morning and appetizers at night.
The only negatives were the bathrooms were small (not a lot of counter space for all my toiletries) and the bar wines were very expensive ($16 for a glass of Mathew Fritz Chardonnay) - retails for $28/bottle. Next time would just go to Miller's Pub next door for a more reasonably priced wine.
Overall the hotel was a great experience and would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: See if they have rooms with bigger bathrooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seattletraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Check in was fine but got to the room assigned and the key didn't work! Oops they wrote down the wrong room. The rooms are fine not great, not much you can do with an older property, bathrooms really dated and even after calling the drain in the tub shower would never work! The worst part of the hotel is don't wast you money on the club level! Every service from food to drinks is subpar to other club levels. Drink is extra and food is all cold finger food! Not a good deal! Worst was they slept in one morning and by 7am no one was there to set up so gave us a coupon for main breakfast place, but no hot food only cold. sometimes I think Hilton just doesn't get it! Then the next day we went to the main breakfast area, closed down, go sit in the lobby! Give me a break

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Ghofmann111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel was very nice, and the location was perfect. I definately agree with its four star status. The lobby bar was awesome, the potter bar was awesome, the service was awesome. From check in to check out all was easy and efficient. For those looking for a brand new hotel this is not it, but this hotel was built in the 1800s. WOW!! Renovated and really cool. but still authentic. Could'nt have asked for more. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on the Palmer House. I hope you were able to have the opportunity to spend some time with your College student and hope you enjoyed your stay. I’m also glad you find the Potter’s bar and the lobby awesome! We look forward to your next stay.

Best wishes,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews