We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palmer House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #104 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the Palmer House recently and found it to be very grand. The lobby is very impressive. Our room was neat and clean but by far the smallest room I have ever stayed in. People were congenial. No complaints. For the money I have stayed at other hotels with much larger rooms comparable to cost and amenities. Overall satisfied, but would probably go back to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibby517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (9,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,945 - 6,949 of 9,304 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Palmer House Hilton turned out to be an ideal location for our week-long visit to Chicago. Here's the breakdown of the amenities:

Check-in:
Busy but the wait wasn't too long. Had some mail delivered here which is picked up from the on-site UPS store (be prepared to pay a holding charge).

Elevators:
Elevators are divided by the floor range but ours were fairly quick.

Room:
Got a double bed room after getting a rate though Hotwire. As we were only two people, it was more than adequate. Plenty of space for our luggage. Internet is through a wired Ethernet cable but I was prepared by bring my netbook. Cost to use the internet however, wound up over $90 for the week. Room managed to accommodate a decent sized work desk. Bathroom soap provided was a keeper.

Restaurants:
We tried two restaurants that was on the same block as the hotel. Corner Bakery Cafe was a delicious spot for our daily breakfast. Miller's Pub served better than average pub food.

Location:
Multiple el stations easily accessible within minutes. Millennium Park and North Michigan Avenue were also less than 5 minutes away walking. Actually, a lot of our touring was done on foot so getting to the attractions didn't take too much time from the Palmer House Hilton.

Check-out:
Used the TV check out feature without any problems. Bellhop got us a taxi to the airport fairly easily.

Only downside:
Walls are fairly thin but this is a historic property. You will be able to hear noise from the adjoining rooms (fairly clearly) as well as people walking by in the hallway. Thankfully, there weren't too much people making a ruckus the week we were there.

Overall:
If you can get a good rate for this place, you'll just love how well placed this hotel is if it's your first time to Chicago like it was for us.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Beautiful Rococo lobby with Tiffany acoutrements. Just lovely. The rooms are average sized but beautiful. We had two rooms- the king room had two bathrooms (most likely they took down a wall to make a bigger room) and one with two queens (one bathroom). The bathroom was about the size of the one at home so nothing grand but the floor was marble and the bathtub was as white as it could be. Very clean and new.

The hallways have a fantastic peacock feather carpeting and there are nice black and white photos of all of the famous people that have performed there over the years (with the names and the years).

The doormen were attentive and helpful. Free boarding pass printing in the business center and at the UPS store on the street level.

The only hassle was the one clerk at the front desk that wouldn't let my mother check in bc her name wasn't on the reservation (my father made the reservation and was returning the rental car). He was a little too matter of fact about the rules. I understand their view point, but it seemed a little extreme.

Room Tip: The interior rooms don't have a great view but you don't hear the L rumble past and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on the Palmer House, we most certainly appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Palmer House. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Best regards,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

bday trip here...lobby was stupendously grand and gorgeous....nice old clean room but view of L tracks/other wing....good location to get around Chicago....overpriced unless u are big hilton honors member... we felt quite brushed aside on any requests (our key would not lock!??); having lived/worked in chicago....recommend other downtown hotels before palmer house...sorry, our freq travel $ will be spent elsewhere

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Happy birthday!! I hope you were able to enjoy and celebrate your birthday. Also thank you for taking the time to share your review on the Palmer House. I apologize for any inconvenience you experience during your stay. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and I apologize for our failure to do so. Please feel free to message me more details about your experience, so I can make sure you receive the proper treatment.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. Unfortunately, finding a two-inch size mega- roach in my bathtub was too much of a shock for me to ever consider this hotel again. I mean, I've seen a few roaches scurry around over the years, but I have never seen anything this size. I've stayed in hotels all over the world, but I've never seen a giant roach like this before in a hotel. I tried to give some feedback to the hotel about this, but they don't seem interested. I mean, what can you say? What could cause a giant roach like that to develop? I can only think that there's a major cleanliness problem. Too bad, beautiful lobby and wonderful location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biztraveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#103 of 192 in Chicago
5,301 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,901 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer House A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer House A Hilton Hotel

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603-5608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Green Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#71 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 6,431 - ₹ 26,697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmer House A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palmer House A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing