We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #27 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Hotel Burnham has the most professional and Friendly Staff that goes above and beyond to ensure you have an outstanding experience. Location is fantastic, Macy's State Street right next door and great restaurants within walking distance. You owe it to yourself to stay at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pringmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

So happy you enjoyed yourself on your recent trip to chicago, the team will be happy to know you found our hotel inviting and a good place to stay - thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,737)
There are newer reviews for The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,127 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Burnham for our 10-year anniversary. The building is gorgeous; the staff is super helpful, kind and thoughtful; the restaurant is fabulous (we had breakfast -- try the homemade donuts, made-from-scratch raspberry jam and the delicious crab cakes benedict); the location is perfect (just a couple of blocks from the lake/Millenium Park and walking distance from the theater district and Navy Pier -- well, we walked it, but it is a bit of a trek); the rooms are clean, cozy and beautiful (we had a corner room on the 12th floor -- fabulous view!!). I can't say enough good things about this place -- oh, I forgot to mention complimentary coffee and a wine/beer happy hour. Don't pass up a chance to stay here. It is the perfect place for a vacation to remember.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill6E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thanks for choosing to stay with us on such a special occasion. We appreciate your feedback and the knowledge you enjoyed yoursleves so much means a lot to the team. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Have stayed at this hotel with just my husband and with our kids. Worked out equally well. Very nice place and friendly staff. Location was perfect. Would definitely choose again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

We love to hear guests say they loved to stay with us. Thanks so much we so appreciate your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is what staying in a hotel should be. From the moment I walked in, I knew it would be a great experience. An historic office building converted into a hotel, the staff is beyond friendly and helpful, and all the little touches -- handwritten welcomes from the manager and housekeeper; room upgrades; the cleanliness of the room; the views; the comfortable bed and furniture; the mini-bar voucher; the loaner bicycles; the ever-present infused water and iced tea; the wine reception in the lobby every day at 5:00 -- add up to an unmatchable experience,

I almost always have one or two little complaints about a hotel -- in this case, the TV in the sitting area had terrible reception -- but my biggest complaint was that I couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Join the rewards program -- free wifi and a chance at a room upgrade.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsikula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBurnhamChicago, General Manager at The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us, so happy you loved our little hotel. We do too and appreciate you telling us. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My friend recommended this hotel and I didn't know what to expect other than that I would have a good time. Not only did I enjoy myself, I felt right at home. The staff made sure we had everything we needed. When we needed extra towels, they brought them to our room right away. The room was very stately and had high ceilings with a great view of State St, even though our room was on the Washington St half of the building. The hotel is perfect for a few days in town as it is perfectly located in the heart of city, literally a few blocks away from Millennium Park.

Room Tip: Washington St side was very quite.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sappy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,091 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 191 in Chicago
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-1603 (Formerly Hotel Burnham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 9,611 - ₹ 30,897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, The Alise Chicago is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, The Alise provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and home of the Atwood Restaurant, The Alise is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. See the Windy City with the perfect homebase: Staypineapple at The Alise Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing