We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location ... Some Issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #53 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Location ... Some Issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

First the Good: Excellent Location, Red Line station outside the front door. Adjacent to Weber Grill, entrance in lobby. Rooms were clean and generally well maintained. Quick Check-In / Check-Out. 1 King Bed room had plenty of room for luggage . Work desk and chair better than most. Free Wired and Wireless In-room internet. Now the Bad: A/C Unit works great, but is extremely noisy when compressor starts, and woke me up a few times during the night - and I am not a light sleeper. This seems to be an issue in most rooms, including the two rooms I stayed in as well as the rooms of my business colleagues. One of my rooms had a connecting door to the adjacent room, and you could hear the TV and even people talking in normal conversation in the adjacent room - avoid rooms with a connecting door. There is an ever present odor of meat being grilled from the Weber Grill from around 1PM to midnight, although you get used to it after a while. The evening of my fourth night, the DHCP server used by the hotel was not working properly and it was impossible to connect to the internet. The hotel staff claimed everything was fine, but it didn't work in another room either. The A/C unit stopped working around 11 PM on the fourth night, and I was told that there was no engineering staffing on the overnight shift. I was offered another room and took it. No offer to assist with relocation. The replacement room was configured with 2 Queen beds, which made things a bit tight. Using the workdesk was just about impossible. During check-out, I was asked how my stay was, and I responded that it was generally fine, except for having to change rooms. Staff apparently has not been trained on how to respond to this kind of answer as all I got was a blank stare "deer in the headlights" look.

I will probably stay here again, but will bring my earplugs with me as well as my own Internet broadband card. Would have rated this hotel as "Average" if not for the location.

Room Tip: Rooms with 1 King Bed are more spacious. Avoid rooms that have a connecting door to adjacent room du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI_Chicago, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear RD57:

Thank you for your feedback, pointing out the positive attributes of your stay and those areas of opportunities. Feel confident, that I will share both with our operational managers. I want to thank you for sharing with others, that you would however, return to this hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gina Danze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    769
    188
    42
    41
See reviews for
545
445
135
536
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was my second visit to this hotel. The first one was uneventful but this stood out. I had to use my Diamond level (Hilton points program) to even get a room. It was costly at $299 but at least i had a place to stay. When I arrived on this very hot day, soaked in perspiration, I was greeted by a very friendly woman at the desk. She immediately acknowledged my Diamond level and thanked me (this rarely happens at the Hilton family places I stay). I asked if there were any upgrades and she came through with 2229 (picture of view from room attached). She even gave me my water bottles, recognizing that by changing rooms, my Diamond "perk" would not be in the new room. The last few times I upgraded at other Hilton hotels,, I had to call down to the desk for water.
The security is comforting too as you must use your room card to get into the lobby elevator.
Room service is from the Weber's Grill restaurant. I ordered a strip steak and potatoes. The steak arrived but no potatoes-however, the waiter was quick to come back with them. Both the meat and potatoes were delicious, albeit expensive as after adding a can of soda, tip, etc. it came to more than $52. Checkout was a breeze, though since it had rained in the morning, getting a cab took a few minutes. But the person getting the cab for me was persistent, causing me to increase his tip for his effort.

Room Tip: High floors have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripp F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI_Chicago, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Tripp F:

I am delighted that you enjoyed your return visit to the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. I was particularly pleased that you recognized the attention to detail, recognition for Hilton Honor’s’ upgrade when possible and cold water on a very hot day.

Thank you for your loyalty.

Kind Regards,

Gina Danze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel was so perfect. I was ill upon my arrival and requested to be put into a room early if something was available. I know this can be a tall order, especially on a weekend! The staff was wonderful, they brought me a bottle of water while I waited and offered to let me freshen up upstairs on a community floor (where the pool, etc is located). They got me into a room in about twenty minutes. I was so impressed with the staff.

The room itself was beautiful and comfortable. Above all, it was really clean and quiet, must-haves for me (especially because I wasn't feeling well). A bonus was blackout curtains. I took a nap as soon as I got into the hotel and I slept really well - could not even tell it was mid-morning in a busy area of a bustling city.

Location is amazing, right on a subway stop with easy connections to the "L" trains. The stop that the hotel is on has elevator access to street level so it's not a problem if you are lugging around a bunch of luggage. That's key for me - I've definitely been caught carrying bags up stairs due to poor planning. I always try to pack light, but sometimes it is unavoidable.

The price was great for this hotel considering how perfect the property itself is. I was majorly impressed with everything and I will definitely book again if I return to Chicago soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_Solomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI_Chicago, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Nicole_Solomon:

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile with other reviews on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and hope that your next visit to Chicago includes a stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Gina Danze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Had a little bit of a view of the Lake. Loved our suite. Perfect for the small amount of hours we ere there. Bed - very comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful and VERY friendly. All were so willing to help.

Room Tip: the higher you can go up the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Marilyn C:

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Your feedback will be shared with associates throughout our hotel. We realize you had a number of choices when selecting a hotel, thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. We value your business.

Kind Regards,

Gina Danze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
258 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I have stayed here before, but felt compelled to write an updated review to note that on my most recent stay it appears the room had been entirely renovated, and it now included a fridge, much nicer furnishings, and the new adjustable bed. I remembered this hotel being ok before, and a good choice for downtown stays, but with the upgraded room that I experienced I wanted to give the hotel credit for the renovation. The room was very clean and definitely didn't look "well-travelled".

Room Tip: Rooms facing East aren't above any roads, and I didn't experience any city noise in my East...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyinlow427vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Flyinlow427vette:

Thank you for sharing with other Trip Advisor viewers, your observations of the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. This hotel is always looking for opportunity to enhance each guests visit. We hope you will return to our hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gina Danze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,424 - ₹ 25,131
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Magnificent Mile in the heart of downtown Chicago, the Hilton Garden Inn has everything you need, just where you need it!Enjoy juicy steaks and burgers right off the grill at Chicago’s very own Weber Grill or just relax with a drink at Smoky Joes Bar located inside the hotel. Keep caffeinated with our very own Starbucks located right in the lobby. Over 200 restaurants and bars including Rock Bottom Brewery, Harry Caray’s, Cantina Laredo Mexican Cuisine, and Chicago’s newest addition Michael Jordan’s Steakhouse are all within walking distance.Many of Chicago’s unique entertainment options are in our neighborhood like world famous Navy Pier, endless shopping on the Magnificent Mile, Second City Comedy Club, Comedy Sports, Chicago Theatre, Apollo Theatre and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing