We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Downtown Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #51 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Convenient to downtown shopping and restaurants, pleasant helpful staff, good housekeeping that was flexible with our hours, front desk staff helpful and cooperative, willing to extend our stay even though busy season

Room Tip: Good housekeeping, were willing to extend our stay longer even though very busy, nice breakfast
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mala K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback! Happy to see the kind words which I will be sure to pass on to the staff and even happier we could accommodate you during our recent string of high demand nights! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is well kept in a nice location in the Near North area of Chicago, within walking distance of the Chicago Riverwalk, Millenium Park, etc. The restaurant on ground level is affiliated with Rosebud and is very comfortable with good food. The negatives are the parking rates and the fact that the fire station is next to the property. The horns of the fire engines woke us up a few times.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank rjsm1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback. Glad you had a pleasant staycation with us and we were in a suitable location for your traveling needs. Sorry for the high parking rates, however that is the competitive rate for our dense area and you will actually find mostly higher rates from our neighbors. Also, if you should find yourself back at our hotel, please feel free to request a quiet room, which we have plenty of and they do a wonderful job of minimizing outside noise. Thanks again for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Room was spacious, big bed.
Television didn't work day one due to bad wiring from hdmi.
Very thin walls and doors no privacy
Gap under doors saw plenty of outside light
Lots of outside noise Tv wire lose no picture
Cleaning staff ate some of my personal snack

Room Tip: Room was spacious, big comfy bed. Very thin walls and doors no privacy Gap under doors saw plenty...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roadwarriorrdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Roadwarriorrdl,

Thanks for the feedback! I am truly sorry for the challenges you encountered during your experience with us. We did just upgrade our cable TV to include a wide variety of new channels and increased functionality so we were still working through the kinks to get that amenity up to an acceptable level.

We also apologize for the outside noise disturbances you experienced as well. I am sorry that you encountered outside noise during your stay. As with most hotels in downtown, street noise is something to be expected: Downtown Chicago is a dense, bustling city with lots of city noise including emergency vehicles that may be heard throughout the day. Most guests are not generally disturbed by the noise, but we realize that each person has their own sensitivity to it. For those light sleepers or to those not accustomed to city noise we do offer earplugs at the front desk.

Overall, it looks like you had a less than pleasurable experience with us and I encourage you to reach out to me so I can rectify the situation. It is my goal to make sure no one leaves the hotel unhappy.

Peter
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

great location however breakfast and restroom was not the greatest did allow us to get into our room when we arrived at noon the front desk was excellent parking was not very good however saved $ by parking the car myself around the block

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback. Glad our friendly staff could get you checked in ahead of schedule. I understand the elevated parking rates in the area, but glad you could find a better deal so close by. Thanks again for the review... we hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We had a suite it was very large plenty of room for the 3 of us,
Breakfast was good plenty of choices but not a lot tables.Hotel is in a nice area lots of restaurants with walking distance.The only problem was with the hotel was the Wifi it was very weak and kept dropping out, and you have to join every time you log back on.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ray1694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback! It is good to see you had a pleasant experience with us! My apologies for the Wi-Fi issues, we are aware and have an upgrade coming! We hope to see you back and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 6,209 - ₹ 20,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing