We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ideal Chicago Downtown Hotel for Business and Family stays!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #56 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I am a consistent traveler to the Chicago downtown area for business and have stayed at almost all the Hilton branded hotels in the downtown area. In this trip to downtown Chicago I had the pleasure of bringing my wife and kids along. Based on previous experience I was a bit squeamish about bring my kids along given the typically small rooms in the Chicago downtown area but they were quickly put to rest with my stay at the Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown North Loop

The lobby itself is relatively modern and tasteful. When I checked in, the front desk people were extremely friendly, professional and got me checked in quickly. As a Hilton Diamond, I was given several snacks and water bottles. They even allowed me to choose what I wanted so I didn’t end up with a bunch of snack items my family doesn’t enjoy.

The best part of my stay was my corner suite. In a word, it was huge! I mean, in downtown Chicago, to provide such a large space including a living area, dining area, separated bedroom and full kitchen is both a rarity and a genuine luxury. This was perfect for families. My room had a full sized fridge, microwave, stove and dishwasher. The beds were comfortable, the linens were fresh and the bathroom was clean.

As expected with Hampton Inns, my family had a very nice breakfast every morning. Despite what some of the previous reviewers have stated, there are multiple protein items including sausage and eggs. They have several hot items as well as a variety of fresh fruits, fresh pastries, waffle irons, yogurts and more. It does get crowded at peak hours but we never had an issue getting a table. There is even an expansion area.

We valet parked our car with this hotel. At $59 it may seem somewhat steep but bear in mind that this is core downtown Chicago and it really is tough to do better – especially if you want same day in out privileges, which we certainly used. The car was always downstairs at the promised time (they will give you anywhere from a 10-20 minutes estimate based on how busy they are) The valet staff were excellent and courteous. They even turned down my tip on occasion saying that tipping once per day was more than enough!

If you are looking for a comfortable business or leisure trip in the Chicago Downtown area, look no further! I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the firestation if you are sensitive to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank leesh96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you so much for the feedback! I am very grateful for the detailed critique of the hotel. All details aside, it looks like you had a good experience and enjoyed the spacious room you had and that is great to hear! We hope you choose us again on your next venture to Chicago! You know who to reach out to if you need anything else!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 136 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

Great Location for exploring the city. Clean rooms, helpful staff, good breakfast options. Valet parking expensive, but figure that goes with the downtown location. Close to Red Line - Grand Station. Suggest that 200 characters minimum is pushing limit. Drop to 150.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank RJW258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thanks for the feedback! Glad you were able to have a good experience with us and glad the facility accommodated you nicely. Thanks again and we hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We couldn't have been more pleased. Check in was easy & young man with german name???? & gal working with him were professional, fun & pleasant. They asked why we were in town & when we said 49th anniversary, dinner, boat ride, shopping etc. they had ideas for all! We went up to our room & it was perfect! Then out to lunch & when we returned we found towels made in swans, champaign & chocolates - wonderful surprise!! When we left for dinner that night, I asked at desk if Esteban was available & he was right there!! We told him how thrilled we were with surprise & it was very, very thoughtful - I hope we made his day, cause he made ours!! Breakfast was good & everyone - Michael Z. Pamela, Angelina & all staff were the best!! Will stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TKDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

We are all please to know that we made this stay memorable. I know for your 50th anniversary you will be traveling to the islands but I hope you visit us again! Please for you next travels to the city feel free to contact me directly at esteban.salazar@hilton.com and we will make sure you are set up for an even better stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Suite rooms were good size and clean with living room with Sofa and mini kitchen. No self parking available ONLY valet parking which is very expensive. River walk is only 4 blocks away. Breakfast is ok. Not good variety. Canned fruits in breakfast taste horrible. No trays to put plates and bowls. Main lady serving breakfast was very mean. Coffee and tea available almost all the time-this was good so if you going out for sight seeing or coming back, grab a cup. Alley behind the hotel has garbage cans.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kamp664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamelap720, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Sounds like you had a great visit while here in Chicago. We're glad your room accommodations was a good fit for you. We would like to apologize for the disservice you experience during breakfast and hope this does not keep you from visiting with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Great location, clean, comfortable bed, good size bathroom, good breakfast. Could have been better with a mini fridge. We spent most of the day out, as we were visiting family and were out with them most of the day, but it was nice to come home to a comfortable room at night with a nice hot shower.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gosara1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thanks for the feedback! Glad that you had a comfortable experience with us. That is what we strive to create for our guests and it is good to see that you were. Next time, feel free to ask for a mini-fridge as we have them available to give out. They are also in all suite and wetbar rooms! Thanks again and we hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Chicago
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 5,740 - ₹ 18,941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing