We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #57 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 December 2014 via mobile

Rate was quite high for Hampton but we used points. Fantastic location just three blocks from Michigan Ave. Uber cars were always very close so easy and cheap to get around when we didn't want to walk. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Room was spacious for downtown location. Breakfast was typical hampton. Joe Fish restaurant in lobby with best clam chowder ever! Great time and great place.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

J J

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are so happy to know you enjoyed your experience with us while in Chicago! This is a very popular location with easy access to unlimited fun activities in the city. Our staff will be excited to hear that you were satisfied with their service, as we want every guest to feel at home here. So thank you again, and we hope to service you when you return to the city!

Sincerely,
Brandi Cartmill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,090 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2014

This hotel is well situated for access by walking or the L to both the magnificent mile and the loop. The suite was very comfortable, but while it had a kitchen area with a fridge and microwave, sink. There was no utensils etc. we had to even go buy a cork screw to open our wine. We were in 312, which was near their elevators and the noise was constant. It took a while to figure out it was the elevators and not he subway. At the desk I overheard a couple in 712 asking for a new room due to the elevator noise, so it seems to be consistent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Stv50

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I would like to first apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while at our property. Certain rooms come with certain amenities, and there are others that are available by requests, including cork screws. We will look into finding a better way to inform guests of what extra amenities we do have available to better convenience everyone. There are a lot of historical buildings in Chicago that have been refurbished into different businesses, but still use a lot of the original amenities, such as the elevators. I definitely understand your concern, and we will continue to explore solutions with this matter because we only want convenience for our wonderful guests. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us while in Chicago. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014

It was a good experience having a hotel downtown Chicago, close to restaurants ans public transport. Rooms were good, bed very clean, bathroom very clean. Breakfast was poor, could be better however. All together a good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Thomas S

Thank you for your nice review of our property. We are happy to know you had a good experience while visiting Chicago. I also appreciate your feedback on things that were not to your best liking. It gives us an idea of what we can change or upgrade for better satisfaction of our guests. Thank you again, and we will see you next time you are in the city!

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2014

An easy block to block and a half walk off the CTA red line. The hotel is just outside the loop, 3 blocks from Mario Batali's Eataly, close to the Miracle Mile. The front desk staff are super friendly and very helpful with directions etc. We were in town for a Blackhawk's game and they were very helpful with public transportation information. Flew into Midway and use the CTA train (orange line to red line) and the 1 to 1 1/2 block walk to the front door....super easy!! Close to lots of restaurant options etc.....excellent location. My only advice to other travelers would be that you should know the hotel is right across the street from a fire station....we actually looked right down on it. We were a bit concerned about the potential noise but we only heard sirens 2 times and they were brief.

Room Tip: My only advice to other travelers would be that you should know the hotel is right across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RJFfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2014

RJFfromCO,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. This location is definitely a great place to be when looking for good times in the city. Our staff greatly appreciates your kind words. We always do our best with each and every guest. We hope you come see us again when you visit Chicago!

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Enjoyed our 1 bedroom suite - pool/hot/tub and location were exceptional! Keep up the great job Hampton - you exceeded my expectations. The one bedroom corner King had a spacious living/kitchenette area along with a nice size bedroom. We enjoyed the location - convenient to the Christkindl market, River North dining and the Mag Mile shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2014

Kathleen A,
We greatly appreciate your wonderful review. We take pride in giving our guests the best every day all the time, so it is very nice to hear that we exceeded your expectations! Chicago is a beautiful city with so many things to do, so location is a key when traveling here. We hope that you choose to share your experience with us the next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#14 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 5,830 - ₹ 18,188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing