We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,797)
Filter reviews
2,797 results
Traveller rating
1,606
877
218
60
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,606
877
218
60
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire stationfire departmentgreat locationfree breakfastcorner suitebreakfast roomnavy pierhear sirensfresh fruitlight sleeperwithin walking distancechicago downtownhot breakfasthot tubbreakfast stafffront desk staffthe magnificent mile
Filter
Updating list...
1,273 - 1,278 of 2,797 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2014

This hotel is well situated for access by walking or the L to both the magnificent mile and the loop. The suite was very comfortable, but while it had a kitchen area with a fridge and microwave, sink. There was no utensils etc. we had to even go buy a cork screw to open our wine. We were in 312, which was near their elevators and the noise was constant. It took a while to figure out it was the elevators and not he subway. At the desk I overheard a couple in 712 asking for a new room due to the elevator noise, so it seems to be consistent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Stv50

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I would like to first apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while at our property. Certain rooms come with certain amenities, and there are others that are available by requests, including cork screws. We will look into finding a better way to inform guests of what extra amenities we do have available to better convenience everyone. There are a lot of historical buildings in Chicago that have been refurbished into different businesses, but still use a lot of the original amenities, such as the elevators. I definitely understand your concern, and we will continue to explore solutions with this matter because we only want convenience for our wonderful guests. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us while in Chicago. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014

It was a good experience having a hotel downtown Chicago, close to restaurants ans public transport. Rooms were good, bed very clean, bathroom very clean. Breakfast was poor, could be better however. All together a good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Thomas S

Thank you for your nice review of our property. We are happy to know you had a good experience while visiting Chicago. I also appreciate your feedback on things that were not to your best liking. It gives us an idea of what we can change or upgrade for better satisfaction of our guests. Thank you again, and we will see you next time you are in the city!

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2014

An easy block to block and a half walk off the CTA red line. The hotel is just outside the loop, 3 blocks from Mario Batali's Eataly, close to the Miracle Mile. The front desk staff are super friendly and very helpful with directions etc. We were in town for a Blackhawk's game and they were very helpful with public transportation information. Flew into Midway and use the CTA train (orange line to red line) and the 1 to 1 1/2 block walk to the front door....super easy!! Close to lots of restaurant options etc.....excellent location. My only advice to other travelers would be that you should know the hotel is right across the street from a fire station....we actually looked right down on it. We were a bit concerned about the potential noise but we only heard sirens 2 times and they were brief.

Room Tip: My only advice to other travelers would be that you should know the hotel is right across the street from a fire station....we actually looked right down on it. We were a bit concerned about the potential noise but we only heard sirens 2 times and they were brief. If you are concerned ask for a room on the other side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RJFfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2014

RJFfromCO,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. This location is definitely a great place to be when looking for good times in the city. Our staff greatly appreciates your kind words. We always do our best with each and every guest. We hope you come see us again when you visit Chicago!

Sincerely,

Brandi Cartmill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Enjoyed our 1 bedroom suite - pool/hot/tub and location were exceptional! Keep up the great job Hampton - you exceeded my expectations. The one bedroom corner King had a spacious living/kitchenette area along with a nice size bedroom. We enjoyed the location - convenient to the Christkindl market, River North dining and the Mag Mile shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandiCartmill, Guest Experience Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2014

Kathleen A,
We greatly appreciate your wonderful review. We take pride in giving our guests the best every day all the time, so it is very nice to hear that we exceeded your expectations! Chicago is a beautiful city with so many things to do, so location is a key when traveling here. We hope that you choose to share your experience with us the next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2014

We went to Chicago for a 4 day pre-thanksgiving vacation. The hotel is in a great location...the River North neighborhood has lots of excellent restaurants and it was an easy walk to both the magnificent mile and the Loop. When we checked in we were greeted by Benjamin who very friendly and was able to check us in at 2pm even thought check-in was at 4pm. He gave us information about the Holiday of Lights parade on Michigan Ave later that night (FYI the parade is a waste of time). Benjamin started the weekend off right. All staff members we met were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and neat with a nice view of the city. Leticia cleaned our room each day and did a great job taking care to keep our bathroom stuff organized. On Monday night we needed a place to store some yummy leftovers from a Centro a local Italian restaurant. The desk clerk was able to get a small refrigerator deliverd to our room...very impressive. Two small issues - the satellite signal on the TV went out several times and the drawers on the 3 drawer chest in the room would not stay closed. Minor issues...we will definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Guest Services Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Steven A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience here at The Hampton Inn & Suites- Downtown Chicago. We appreciate all the lovely comments you left and I will certainly forward your kind words over to Ben. We take great pride in our team here and we strive for excellence when it comes to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Glad we were part of your Thanksgiving success!

Graciously,

Samantha A. Rice
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews