We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 429
US$ 365
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 206
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 329
US$ 267
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 271
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 129
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 180
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 178
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 197
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 269
US$ 256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Swissotel Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 223
US$ 200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,768)
Filter reviews
2,768 results
Traveller rating
1,583
871
218
60
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,583
871
218
60
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire stationfire departmentgreat locationfree breakfastcorner suitebreakfast roomnavy pierhear sirensfresh fruitwithin walking distancelight sleeperchicago downtownhot breakfasthot tubbreakfast stafffront desk staffthe magnificent mile
Filter
Updating list...
2,474 - 2,479 of 2,768 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We have just spent 4 great nights at this hotel. My wife is in a wheel chair and the room was fully accessible, the bath is even wider in the middle so you can turn round in the shower.

All the staff were very friendly and the doors were always opened for us before we got there, even when it was snowing like mad - Thanks everyone.

You must visit the Rock Bottom Brewery just around the corner - the burgers are great and huge, the main courses are elegant and sophisticated and the carrot cake is big enough to use as a building brick - but a lot tastier!! BUT the main attraction is the great beers available all local brews and tasting great.

Again would recommend this hotel to everyone, they were still filling up the breakfast racks with 5 minutes to go (Finish -10 am weekdays, 11 am weekends), and fresh coffee is always available in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank keith_wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2008

This hotel is located just north of the Loop. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to get to Millenium Park. The subway red-line is less than two blocks away. The Magnificent Mile is about 5 minutes walking. There are tons of bars and restaurants very close to the hotel. The location could not have been better.
The valet attendants, front desk and breakfast staff are very pleasant and professional. The breakfast was great, loved it all three days. The room was clean and quiet, there were 40 plus channels to watch on TV, the wireless access really made looking up things to do easy, and the fitness facilities were great. I loved the little fridge with bottles of water for guests. The doors were secured at night which made me feel safe eventhough there was nothing to worry about in the neighbourhood.
I recommend dining at Vong's Thai Kitchen for great Thai food. It's about a block away.
Overall I can't think of a better experience, 5 stars all the way.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gradstud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

We stayed at the Hampton the last weekend of January. We were only there for one night, but we wish it could've been longer. The moment we checked in, hotel staff was willing to find us the best room for our needs. We requested a room as far away from the fire station as possible since we had a 7 month old baby with us. We got just what we asked for. Our room was exactly as it was pictured on the websites. It was up to date with mission style furniture and 1920s style stained glass light fixtures. Nothing looked worn or dirty. The carpet was in great condition. You notice these things when you have a baby playing on the floor a lot. All the furniture was substantial and comfortable. The king bed looked inviting with a cozy duvet and crisp comfortable pillows. The bathroom was not particularly modern or special in any way, but it was clean and practical. We were surprised at how roomy the entire suite was. It was bigger than we expected with a spacious living area, kitchen with full-size appliances and lots of extra room in the bedroom. There was plenty of room for our family of 4 including a 6 yr old and infant.

During our stay we especially loved the following things:
The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on--really, it was absolutely wonderful. A quality fold-out bed for kids in the living room. A decent hot breakfast with a little something for everyone. Free internet in the room, but if you don't bring your laptop, free use of the hotel computer room (with internet, printers, faxes, etc). Nice pool and work-out room. Very friendly staff. Great location to all that downtown Chicago has to offer...all within walking distance. Lastly, we loved the sense of calm and quiet you get when you step into the hotel after being on the bustling city streets. Some hotels are as busy and crowded inside as the city is outside. But every time we stepped into the Hampton, it felt like a quiet, relaxed respite from all that was happening outside. It was warm and comfortable. We will definitely stay there again. With the AAA rate, we stayed for less than $150 a night with all taxes included. Parking is $30 for the day or $38 for valet (well worth it). Downtown Chicago hotels do not have to cost a lot. This hotel had everything we needed and plenty of what we wanted in luxury and comfort.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kaiverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2008

I am writing this review from my room during my week stay at the hotel... I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. I am in a corner room suite which is huge. The "suites" include a full kitchen, living room, dining table and separate bedroom with vanity and king bed. The room has nice decor and they have done a good job bringing it up to date.

I am on the 10th floor (I think there are 12) and you hear the typical horns and trucks from the streets below, which is not too uncommon at downtown locations. I think some other hotels may do a better job of soundproofing the windows. Given this hotel is fairly old, the windows may allow for additional "ambiance" to creep in.

The location is nice and close to some very good restaurants and a brisk (It's 12 degrees outside currently) walk to the theatre district a few long blocks away.

One thing you will not see in the brochure is that there is a 5 bay fire station directly across the street on one side of the hotel. As soon as the vehicles head out of the station, they hit the horns and sirens. The room I am in is directly across form the station. It might be a little quieter on the opposite side of the hotel. I am a light sleeper, so I hear them every time (3-4 times per night), but it really hasn't deterred from the nice stay I am having.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 52_Weeks_A_Year
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2008

My husband and I were in Chicago for an overnight trip and stayed at Hampton Inn and went to a Second City show. Both were beyond our expectations. The staff at both places were courteous, professional, friendly and went beyond the call of duty to give us directions, hold our bags in storage while we went shopping, gave us great seats at the show and also, since we had to alter our original plans due to a blizzard, both companies were gracious in changing our reservations to accomodate our change of dates without a penalty! Can't say enough good things. The Hampton Inn was off of Michigan AVe about 4 blocks but had plenty of shopping between the blocks. We would definitely stay there again.

Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews