We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #52 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We arrived very early on Thursday, 2/24, but the front desk still tried to check to see if our room was available for us. When it was not ready yet (it was only 10AM!), they stored our luggage for us and we were able to explore the city for the day. Our luggage was promptly brought up to our suite when we came back, and Willy, the bellman, was a great help to us during our stay. He always said "Welcome back" when we'd return from an outing - nice guy.

The suite was great! Super clean, convienent and spacious. Some people had complained about the noise earlier, but what do you expect from a city? Quite frankly, it lulled us to sleep! Hotel is at a great location for everything, has a really good breakfast included and we didn't run into ONE staff member who wasn't polite and welcoming. I'd definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mom4marley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,235 - 2,239 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2008

We have just spent 4 great nights at this hotel. My wife is in a wheel chair and the room was fully accessible, the bath is even wider in the middle so you can turn round in the shower.

All the staff were very friendly and the doors were always opened for us before we got there, even when it was snowing like mad - Thanks everyone.

You must visit the Rock Bottom Brewery just around the corner - the burgers are great and huge, the main courses are elegant and sophisticated and the carrot cake is big enough to use as a building brick - but a lot tastier!! BUT the main attraction is the great beers available all local brews and tasting great.

Again would recommend this hotel to everyone, they were still filling up the breakfast racks with 5 minutes to go (Finish -10 am weekdays, 11 am weekends), and fresh coffee is always available in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank keith_wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2008

This hotel is located just north of the Loop. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to get to Millenium Park. The subway red-line is less than two blocks away. The Magnificent Mile is about 5 minutes walking. There are tons of bars and restaurants very close to the hotel. The location could not have been better.
The valet attendants, front desk and breakfast staff are very pleasant and professional. The breakfast was great, loved it all three days. The room was clean and quiet, there were 40 plus channels to watch on TV, the wireless access really made looking up things to do easy, and the fitness facilities were great. I loved the little fridge with bottles of water for guests. The doors were secured at night which made me feel safe eventhough there was nothing to worry about in the neighbourhood.
I recommend dining at Vong's Thai Kitchen for great Thai food. It's about a block away.
Overall I can't think of a better experience, 5 stars all the way.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gradstud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

We stayed at the Hampton the last weekend of January. We were only there for one night, but we wish it could've been longer. The moment we checked in, hotel staff was willing to find us the best room for our needs. We requested a room as far away from the fire station as possible since we had a 7 month old baby with us. We got just what we asked for. Our room was exactly as it was pictured on the websites. It was up to date with mission style furniture and 1920s style stained glass light fixtures. Nothing looked worn or dirty. The carpet was in great condition. You notice these things when you have a baby playing on the floor a lot. All the furniture was substantial and comfortable. The king bed looked inviting with a cozy duvet and crisp comfortable pillows. The bathroom was not particularly modern or special in any way, but it was clean and practical. We were surprised at how roomy the entire suite was. It was bigger than we expected with a spacious living area, kitchen with full-size appliances and lots of extra room in the bedroom. There was plenty of room for our family of 4 including a 6 yr old and infant.

During our stay we especially loved the following things:
The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on--really, it was absolutely wonderful. A quality fold-out bed for kids in the living room. A decent hot breakfast with a little something for everyone. Free internet in the room, but if you don't bring your laptop, free use of the hotel computer room (with internet, printers, faxes, etc). Nice pool and work-out room. Very friendly staff. Great location to all that downtown Chicago has to offer...all within walking distance. Lastly, we loved the sense of calm and quiet you get when you step into the hotel after being on the bustling city streets. Some hotels are as busy and crowded inside as the city is outside. But every time we stepped into the Hampton, it felt like a quiet, relaxed respite from all that was happening outside. It was warm and comfortable. We will definitely stay there again. With the AAA rate, we stayed for less than $150 a night with all taxes included. Parking is $30 for the day or $38 for valet (well worth it). Downtown Chicago hotels do not have to cost a lot. This hotel had everything we needed and plenty of what we wanted in luxury and comfort.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kaiverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2008

I am writing this review from my room during my week stay at the hotel... I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. I am in a corner room suite which is huge. The "suites" include a full kitchen, living room, dining table and separate bedroom with vanity and king bed. The room has nice decor and they have done a good job bringing it up to date.

I am on the 10th floor (I think there are 12) and you hear the typical horns and trucks from the streets below, which is not too uncommon at downtown locations. I think some other hotels may do a better job of soundproofing the windows. Given this hotel is fairly old, the windows may allow for additional "ambiance" to creep in.

The location is nice and close to some very good restaurants and a brisk (It's 12 degrees outside currently) walk to the theatre district a few long blocks away.

One thing you will not see in the brochure is that there is a 5 bay fire station directly across the street on one side of the hotel. As soon as the vehicles head out of the station, they hit the horns and sirens. The room I am in is directly across form the station. It might be a little quieter on the opposite side of the hotel. I am a light sleeper, so I hear them every time (3-4 times per night), but it really hasn't deterred from the nice stay I am having.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 52_Weeks_A_Year
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 6,060 - ₹ 20,525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing