We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous people & location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #45 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous people & location!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here last Nov for a week at the end of a four week holiday, my husband, myself and our 27 yr old daughter. We were a bit tired and it was so nice to arrive at the Hampton and have such lovely helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. The complementary breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices. Kids and adults alike loved the make your own waffles. Rooms were large and very comfortable and I loved having a laundry in the hotel I could go and use at any time. Because they knew we were from Australia the staff asked every morning was there somewhere they could give us directions to or suggest places for us to see, on our return they would ask how our day was and could they make dinner reservations for us etc. All up great place to stay, will stay again if I return to Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenbo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,372
    776
    169
    48
    31
See reviews for
887
489
88
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I've been a fan of the Hampton Inn chain since first using it some years ago. I don't think I've ever stayed in one which has let the side down and the Downtown Chicago is no exception. Reception was welcoming and efficient. Our room was fresh, bright and immaculately presented for our arrival. The Breakfast room on the second floor overlooked a crossing so there was activity in the street below to watch over breakfast. The choice of food was good and the cereal and fruit selections were great. Fresh fruit, tea and coffee were available throughout the day.
The location of this hotel is a real winner. A few minutes walk from both the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier, it is also close to the boat tour docks and a good restaurant area. I did find the noise of the fire trucks disturbed my sleep on our first night there but asked for some earplugs from reception and had a great night's sleep on our next two nights.
I think the advantages of its position and a great overall standard outweigh the odd night when there is more than one callout next door. And those earplugs really work. Its proximity to the fire station wouldn't deter me from going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripstaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Tripstaker,

I am glad that you had such a great time enjoying out perfect location in downtown Chicago. I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary earplugs, as you said, they really do work! Many guests that visit us are not used to the hustle & bustle (and the noise that comes with) in a downtown urban area. That is why we offer complimentary earplugs.

We look forward to having you back at the hotel on your next visit from Northern Ireland!

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Chicago Downtown Hampton is across the street from a fire station. I should have thought something was wrong when there was a bowl of ear plugs at the console table on my floor. Plus, I stayed on a holiday weekend and the staff was absolutely unable to control people who had obviously drunk way too much. I stay in Hamptons when they are available because of the ambience and service. NOT THIS ONE EVER AGAIN. And, my son and his wife had a laptop and purse stolen out of their room when they had a "no service please" sign on their door with no concern by the management to assist them in recovery. The credit card in the purse was used within an hour of it going missing. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE FOR ALL!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossGuthrie, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Jan J,

I want to assure you that we take issues of theft very seriously at our hotel. I have sent you a private message in regards to your stay; you may contact me at the hotel so that we may investigate this issue of missing items from your room.

I do apologize about encountering other guests that had too much to drink in the hotel. We do take this matter seriously as well… upon notification of any guests of the hotel acting inappropriate, we send security up immediately.

Again, please contact me at the hotel so that we may assist you with your past stay.

Ross Guthrie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We have stayed here for the past 3 years because it has consistently been well run and the property well maintained, and is in a terrific location. During our most recent visit, we couldn't help but notice how the staff seemed genuinely interested in making sure that everything suited us. We highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsam1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our visit to Chicago became much more enjoyable by staying at the Downtown Hampton Inn. The facilities are somewhat dated and the complementary breakfast acceptable, however the staff is a real joy. They are friendly, and some actually start to call you by name! Any question we had about eating, entertainment, directions, was quickly addressed and answered.

Room Tip: There is a fire station on the West side of the hotel. During our visit we did not experience any s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayzee780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,351 - ₹ 23,420
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing