We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant hotel, great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Ranked #45 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We had a super time at this friendly, well-run hotel. It is located a block from an "L" stop and shares the neighborhood with several very good restaurants. A buffet breakfast is included. The staff is exceptionally pleasant and efficient. Although we usually used the well-labeled "L" system, you could walk to the northern side of the Loop with ease.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith_SCanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    739
    159
    46
    30
See reviews for
839
471
84
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I was one of nine women travelling to Chicago for the first time, and our expectations were exceeded by this hotel and its staff. We booked one suite and one room, and requested adjoining rooms. Our request was unnexpectedly granted which completely suited our needs to function as one whole group. When we arrived we were greeted by pleasant, jovial busboys/valet people. When we went out for food and drink supplies they directed us to a close-by market that had everything we could ask for. The staff behind the front desk were pleasant and were able to split the total cost nine ways. They offered a printed list of restaurants, organized by type of food and distance from the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but people we met said it was very good. The staff also ordered late night pizza for us and delivered it to our door. Each staff member was always pleasant and greeted us each time we went by. The included breakfast had great selection, even the coffee was good (but super hot). No one had difficulty finding something - selections from breakfast sausage, eggs, ready to make waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, oatmeal, breads etc. And there was plenty of room for all the guests. We checked out the pool area though didn't use it. The staff offered to let us use pool area/patio for our party needs. The rooms were very clean, modern design, beds comfortable, and lots of places to sit. I can't imagine a better place for a group of people. I would definitely consider staying here again the next time I come to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I've stayed in many hotels but have never had such a positive experience with hotel staff across the board. Everyone was very courteous, upbeat, and friendly at all hours and greeted you every time you went in and out of the hotel. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable, nothing outstanding. The area is a bit loud, so take advantage of the earplugs they offer at the front desk. Thanks Ross and Andrew for handling my check-out and suggesting a review on TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkimjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Let's face it, when you stay at a three-star chain hotel, you go in with certain standards. The hotel facilities itself met those standards for our family, but the staff absolutely blew them away. The room was clean and spacious for Chicago and the the housekeeping staff was great, tidying up our personal things (my husband said it was like my mother was traveling with us!) and laying items in the bathroom out on a fresh hand towel. Breakfast was exactly what you'd expect for a free breakfast, expect for the awesome oatmeal and fresh fruit-not fruit salad; fresh fruit.

The front desk staff was fabulous. Tracy and Cara planned the whole trip for us, and then told us about city passes which saved us a lot of money on the musuems, art institute, and skydeck. They hooked us up with trolley passes to save on cab fare from place to place. The kids loved the trolley, and even though it added a little bit of time to our commute, we had a lot of fun riding it and saved loads in cab fare. It was so nice to have someone welcome us back by name when we came into the lobby; That made it remarkable for me. Can you imagine asking for pillows at the front desk of a busy downtown chicago hotel, not giving a name or room number, and having them at the room 5 minutes later?

Pros: The staff, location, value, free breakfast, hot coffee 24hrs a day, great environment for families- indoor pool, outdoor terrace
Cons: The noise- But this HAS to be expected. It's the city...it's noisy. It's the price you pay for being able to be so close to everything. Ask for earplugs. Valet parking...it can take up to 20 minutes for your car if they're busy when you call, but again, it's the city and it's to be expected that all things traffic related take time.

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded room...the suite we had was jsut $20 more the regular room and was twice the siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This place got good reviews on TripAdvisor and was reasonably priced so we booked in for 5 days. It really is the best valued place for a big city. It was within walking distance of Navy Pier the loop, Millennium Park and the Magnificent Mile. The train (or subway stop) is one block away. We took the Blue line train transfered to the Red line at Jackson and got off at Grand in from the airport. It cost $2.25 each and took about 45 minutes. That beat the about $45.00 it would have cost during rush hour.
We had a suite that was spacious and clean. The hotel was quiet except for the occasional sirens. I used earplugs and never thought of them again.
The breakfast was simple but had great fresh fruit salad. They constantly replenished the food and coffee. The breakfast people were so helpful and nice. It really was a nice start to the day.
There is a really nice outside patio for cocktails in the afternoon.
When we go back to Chicago, we will stay here.
Right across the street is Cantina Laredo a great Mexican restaurant. Very contemporary with authentic Mexican food without the high prices. Not large but nice sized portions. Really great Margaritas.

Room Tip: I think most rooms would be good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveladventure07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Address: 33 West Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,240 - ₹ 20,780
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience downtown Chicago from our Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown hotel. Located in the heart of trendy River North neighborhood, you're in the ideal location to Chicago's entertainment, shopping and dining venues, with easy access to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shops. Explore the Loop's business and theater districts, or discover Field Museum, Adler Planetarium or Shedd Aquarium with your kids during your stay. Start your day with the convenience of Hampton's free hot breakfast. Enjoy free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. End the day with a reservation at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse connected to our hotel by sky bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown Hotel Chicago
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago - Downtown
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown
Chicago Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing