We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visits”

Chicago Architecture Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 75.00*
and up
Chicago Explorer Pass
More Info
US$ 18.00*
and up
Chicago Walking Tour: Historic Skyscrapers
More Info
US$ 18.00*
and up
Chicago Walking Tour: Art Deco Skyscrapers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Chicago Architecture Foundation (CAF) is a nonprofit cultural organization with tours, exhibitions, programs and events for all ages. Visit CAF on Michigan Avenue to view our 1,000-building scale model of Chicago, shop in our award-winning store, or participate in a fun LEGO® building event in our ArcelorMittal Design Studio. Choose from 85 tours by boat, walking, bus, or even L train, including the CAF River Cruise aboard Chicago's First Lady Cruises. Tours depart daily and are led by CAF's expert docent guides. Every October, check out CAF's free annual Open House Chicago festival. Proceeds from CAF’s tours and gift shop, as well as grants, sponsorships and donations, support this educational mission.
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Returning to the monument brought me peace. It was therapeutic to talk to other vets and compare notes.

Thank Tars2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 2,328 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

This is a wonderful organization. They have trips around Chicago to architectural high points and I've been on a number, in the past ten years and ALWAYS thought they were absolutely wonderful. The leaders know their material, can answer all questions and make the tours very educational as well as enjoyable.

Thank Deedee46927564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so glad that you have enjoyed all of the tours that you have taken with us! Thank you for taking to the time to review us and for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

This tour costs around 40 US dollar per person, the company booth for tickets was near the bridge, their one of the girls who was selling the tickets , her name Carmen a part time worker, radiation therapy student was very friendly and helpful, appreciated her help for tickets and photos.the tour guide Ben was knowledgeable,however the tour which was one and a half hour was interesting as Chicago buildings architecture was told, however if you miss it is not a. Big deal.

Thank alisword111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

...but the tours stay terrific! Russ was our docent and explained many of the new building and kept us up-to-date on future changes. Even though I just took the tour 2 years ago things have changed so much.

Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We are so glad that you enjoyed the river cruise, Catherine! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to your docent, Russ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Our docent was Dan Johnson. He presented the information in a fun, captivating way! He is very professional and knows his history about this area! I loved going under the bridges. I also loved going out a bit further from the boat and seeing the skyline from a distance! Oh, what views! I enjoyed learning all about these lovely buildings and hearing about their stories. Overall, a great experience and I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to learn more about Chicago's architecture!

Thank EpicSpirit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiArchitecture, Social Media Coordinator at Chicago Architecture Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the river cruise! Thank you for taking the time to review us and and for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicago Architecture Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Architecture Foundation? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing