We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Review Highlights
Very nice people and good price

I dove there after diving in Papeete. The price was half as much than Papeete for similar or better... read more

Reviewed 14 January 2019
P6414VDchrisj
,
Miami Beach, Florida
via mobile
Snorkelling with Humpbacks

We spent two days at Tahiti-iti diving. The first whale watching and snorkelling with Thomas who... read more

Reviewed 7 October 2018
NowOzTravellers
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 121 reviews
  
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
101
13
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
13
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two hours whale watching equipment thomas dove boat
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2015

This is a nice dive shop at Tahiti-Iti ("the peninsula") with different dive sites. They also offer whale watching tours, which I also took, and we were able to see a mommy whale and her baby, and snorkel really close to them, even though it took us more than two hours to locate and get close to them, as they move fast.

The only problem is that some of the staff have a bit of the undesideable "French attitude," which is having the ability to understand and speak English, but refusing to do so "just because."

Also, they were on the lazy side, and not particularly keen to present me with diving options for my next days, even though I told them I was staying at the Peninsula for 15 days and was planning to make several dives. They just told me to call them to arrange (duh, I was there in front of them and I don't have a local number).

I also inquired them about an Advanced Open Water course/certification I was willing to take, since I was staying at the Peninsula for so long, but they were not particularly interested in selling me the couse. So I took my money and did my business with another dive shop, which were much more responsive.

Too bad for them, they are losing money with this attitude.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Gabriel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIONEL H, Directeur général at Tahiti Iti Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thank you for your commentary about the whales. Sometimes it takes time to find them as they never settle at the same place or they do more than 20 minutes apnea.
About the "french attitude" of some of the staff, I'd like to precise that we try to do our best to welcome people in general and english speaking tourists particularly. English is not our mother tong, some of our staff is not fluent in english but there's always at least one staff who speaks english.

I really don't undestand why we didn't suggest you to dive at the peninsula. We dive every day, even during the humpback-whale season and there's always availability to dive because we have 2 boats. We have a good reputation in Tahiti, we are not a crowded and busy center and we have a welcoming team, so we sincerely regret you didn't even try to dive here and wrote such a bad commentary.

Morover we are a PADI dive center, we train from Open Water to Dive Master. Maybe it was such a busy moment that we misunderstood your request. Or we didn't have an instructor available to be "entirely dedicated" to your advanced PADI lesson (we work seriously and only with instructors or trainees directly supervised by instructors (as required by the law)). That's why and specially during the whale season, and for PADI or french certification, the best is to ask for it a week in advance to get a better service.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Propriétaire at Tahiti Iti Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Propriétaire at Tahiti Iti Diving, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews