We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McLean County Museum of History
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great architecture

Look at the worn edges of the marble stairs and imagine how many feet have passed over them. Then... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
TravelFan34602
,
Brooksville, Florida
McLean County History and Route 66

This Museum always has something on tap to interest its visitors and members. The exhibits are... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
BunnyoftheGlen
,
Peoria, Illinois
Read all 78 reviews
  
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
57
15
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
15
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jail cell on tuesdays north main street marble stairs pioneer room abraham lincoln small fee lots of fun in town gift shop courtroom courthouse politics route farming exhibits admission
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful well curated exhibits centered around the people who have lived and worked in McClean County, including the Abe Lincoln story as well as farmer's and business folk. Insightful compassionate, well researched professionally presented. Building architecture is worth the price of admission. We had the good fortune to meet the curator Susan Hartzold and we're impressed by her passion and approachablility. Loved this local history experience!

2  Thank TerrilynnMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

This is a very nice smallish museum in the old courthouse. It's very reasonable ($5 per person, less for over 65), and has lots of interesting history and artifacts. Everyone there is very nice and helpful, and many stopped to chat and obviously loved and took great pride in both the museum and the courthouse. It would take approximately 2 hours to see it all, which could pose a problem, since much of the parking around the courthouse seemed to be for only 90 minutes.

2  Thank Laurieuhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Very well done and the building is one of a kind. Parking is easy. We enjoyed the local and state history.

Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth W, General Manager at McLean County Museum of History, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

The building is indeed worth the trip alone, and we're happy to hear you enjoyed the exhibits so much. We're rather proud of our team of Museum professionals and the excellent work they do as a small nonprofit. Thank you for sharing! Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

I took my 8 year old daughter and her friend on a Saturday. They were the only kids in the museum at the time. The girls had a blast dressing up, pretending they were part of a family of pioneers. We also went through some of the exhibits. There were a few interactive features that captured their attention in the farming exhibit and in exhibit on the people in the area. Their only disappointment was not being able to check out the jail cell as that exhibit is closed til Spring.

1  Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth W, Manager at McLean County Museum of History, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

We are happy you enjoyed the visit. Please come back in March when we open our new Pedal Power! exhibit featuring toy pedal cars. The exhibit that is currently closed will open in September of this year and it will be worth the wait! And don't worry, the jail cell will remain a part of the visitor experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

I use to live in Bloomington and went to museum occassionally when special exhibits came.
Being a vet I use to stand on steps Vetrans's Day for dAV Chapter 60 as commander.
Great VietNam exhibit.

Thank cj61754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews