We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Luxury Resort? I don't think so.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Chicago/Indian Lakes Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Chicago/Indian Lakes Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bloomingdale
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxury Resort? I don't think so.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

First of all, make sure to get an outside room, not one facing the atrium, because there's a big six story open space on the inside and people's voices echo all over the place, whether they are at an early breakfast or up late coming from one of the hotel bars. (Lots of weddings and conventions.) I stay there because it's convenient to visit family. This time, I made sure to get an outside room overlooking the golf course and it was quiet but the hotel was not nearly full either. And they first tried to give me a room on the atrium side until I complained. Can anyone in this country do their job right the first time? However, on at least two of the five days I was there, and I'm sure this went on daily, a maintenance man was clear-coating some of the wooden chairs in the lobby with lacquer, no protection under or around them so it was going all over the rug. I went to the business center downstairs, which is convenient if you don't carry a laptop or smartphone. It's open to the atrium and I could inhale the lacquer as I was going down the stairs. Probably could have gotten a good buzz if I lingered. That should be done outside. ANyone could see hime doing it, the bell captain, front desk people, whoever- noone said a word.
As for the room itself, it rained the last night I was there- I had plugged my phone into an outlet near the window and the rug in that corner was all wet. There's a big metal and rubber doorstop two inches from the bathtub that you could easily forget was there, put the bathmat over it and step on it when you get out of the shower. Caulking around the toilet was a non-existant mess. Bring earplugs because the heating/air-conditioning is LOUD. Most of the suspended ceiling pieces in the bathroom were cut wrong- some hanging down. Closet door wouldn't close- out of the track. I tipped the maid adequately for the nights I was there and asked her in a note written in English and Spanish for four packets of regular coffee instead of any decaf- she did that once. Please, see the pictures. I complained to Hilton and the hotel did give me a free night and a little compensation. However, for the price, if not for the family convenience, I wouldn't stay here unless I was a golfer.

Room Tip: Outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank russellupsomgrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    226
    170
    111
    59
See reviews for
255
186
31
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here for our Anniversary and the professional pictures on the site are very deceiving. The rooms are no where near as nice as they appear on their site. The carpet throughout the place is very old and stained beyond repair. The hall way and bedrooms are very small and smell molded and like smoke, it is not a good sleep for anyone with or without a respiratory issue, they are old rooms like 1970's old. The only pluses to this place are the restaurant the bars, and the staff were very nice but this place is extremely over priced. I was completely disappointed as a Hilton rewards member I will never ever stay here unless they do a complete over haul to the facilities. With the prices of their rooms and golf packages they could at least put some money into bringing this place up to date.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divamom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bloomingdale hotels

chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

we booked this hotel as a 'stay cation' for the kids. i normally do not write reviews, but we were quite disappointed with this hotel, esp. since it is a hilton property.

the pros:
wonderful wonderful staff. from the front desk, to the waiters, housekeeping, people working in the spa, the golf shop - very friendly staff.

big pool area - didn't have a heavy chlorine smell. kids loved the movies by the pool. water was the right temp. had fun swimming, watching movie.

beds are comfortable.

kids had fun, loved the mini golf and thought the atruim was really cool! (we did not!)


the cons:
our room had a wet feel to it and smelled really musty. i told the front desk, and we were given the chance to change room, but i noticed the entire atrium had that 'musty smell'.
something was def. in the carpet or air, b/c two of my kids were coughing, had to use asthma meds (one has pretty bad asthma though). my kids had a rough night. we almost left the hotel in the middle of the night. the carpet in the room was heavily stained. needs to be replaced.
the hotel is just dated and in major need of a face lift. we didn't care for all the honeycomb shapes. the cave bar was just a bit odd. not a lot of dining options. we tried to eat dinner at 6 and our only option was shiraz on the water. it was a small place, people were celebrating anniversary dinners, the menu was losbter and steak - and we showed up with three small kids, when we really just wanted a place to grab a sandwich. (yes, on the menu, but the food was more fine dining). with that said, it was fine, they worked with us and got us in and out!

we wish we didn't have the problem with our room, b/c the kids did have fun, but now that the kids are sick (and weren't before we visited) and when we unpacked our clothing, all of it smelled like an old basement -clothes we didn't wear, but were in the bags in our room. .. we will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My stay here was for a convention with meetings. The convention area was away from the hotel proper. However, all efforts were made to accommodate the older members of our organization. Shuttle service was provided between the areas which helped these members. Food and staff were very accommodating. Rooms were spacious with a large bathroom. The quietness of the room was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnStockton_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This Hilton property is an older one, but it has everything you would expect from a Hilton. The hotel was booked, but the hotel and staff handled the large number of guests exceptionally well. Most times you never realized how full it was. Unfortunately, we weren't able to take advantage of the golf due to the weather, but we were able to observe the braver golfers from our room. Food at Shiraz on the Water was excellent - service was great. The pool layout is unique - only thing missing was a sauna. I think this is our new #1 home-away-from-home in Chicagoland!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomingdale
5.1 km away
Eaglewood Resort & Spa
1.8 km away
Residence Inn Chicago Bloomingdale
1.8 km away
Courtyard Chicago Bloomingdale
Courtyard Chicago Bloomingdale
#3 of 3 in Bloomingdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Westin Chicago Northwest
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Addison
15.8 km away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago/Indian Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago/Indian Lakes Resort

Property: Hilton Chicago/Indian Lakes Resort
Address: 250 W Schick Rd, Bloomingdale, IL 60108-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Bloomingdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bloomingdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,634 - ₹ 10,601
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Chicago/Indian Lakes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience premiere service and accommodations Chicago Resort style at the Hilton Chicago/Indian Lakes Resort. Located 30 minutes from downtown Chicago and O'Hare International Airport, we're perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. Situated on 260 acres of stunning grounds, offering access to the Championship Blackhawk Trace Golf Course with three 9-hole layouts and a one of a kind island green. Hotel guests can choose between five on-property restaurants, ranging from bars to contemporary high-end cuisine. The resort offers an impressive 50,000 total sq/ft of meetings/events space, ready to host your next business meeting or memorable, unforgettable wedding. Relax at either our indoor or outdoor swimming pool, or stay fit in our fully equipped fitness center. Treat yourself to a spa treatment in our fully renovated Resolution Spa and Wellness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Chicago/Indian Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chicago/Indian Lakes Hotel Bloomingdale
Hilton Hotel Bloomingdale
Indian Lakes Hotel
Indian Lake Resort Bloomingdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing