We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay again”
Review of Colonial Motel

Colonial Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Weiser
south lake tahoe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Weiser only offers a few places to stay and we chose the Colonial because of the other reviews. Perhaps it was just the room we were given and even though we were not expecting much, it was far below our minimun expectations. The gentleman who checked us in was not friendly, made us feel that we had interrupted something; his manner was gruff and abrupt in answering our questions. We even asked if we had interrupted something and he said no. He assured us the WiFi was operating (it wasn't); overall front desk experience left a lot to be desired.
Room smelled old, musty and got worse when we shut the one window. Furniture dated, which was okay, however, one of the chairs was not even usable, you felt you would would fall through the chair when sitting down. It reminded me of one of the reviews about the furniture being purchased at a yard sale - this should have been thrown out. Carpet looked dirty and was stained. Curtains had small holes in them; bedding was cheap and very old. Dresser drawers lined with newpaper.
The shower stall was moldly around the outter edges and the shower head was placed about 4 inches from the side wall instead of being in the center, making it so you could not stand directly under the shower head.
Again, we were not expecting a Hilton or even Best Western experience, but we felt that while this motel was old, it could have been cleaner, the furniture more functional; more on the level of what you would find in a Motel 6 or Super 8.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leestrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motelman, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
This is a 3 year old review, but as the owner, felt compelled to respond. A lot has changed here in that time, and then again - a lot hasn't. We recarpet when we need to or can, repaint, get new furnishings, etc. as the need or opportunity comes to us. But the Colonial is still old. :-) That won't ever change. This place was built in the glory days of the "Motor Courts" that dotted the landscape from coast to coast back in the 40's and 50's." Our goal is to try and create a functional blend between old and new. We do our very best to compensate and 'modernize' whenever possible.

'Leestrips: 'We are very sorry your stay didn't pan out as hoped. As far as the "not friendly" goes, that is NOT my normal nature. I can't recall this particular guest, but if I seemed "unfriendly" there is a good chance that it may have been toward the end of one our more busy days. We work 14 hours a day, 7 days a week here. Two of us. We've had 2 vacations of 6 days in a row in 12 years. Sometimes I (we) get a bit tired; sorry about that.

Regarding the Wi-Fi - That is at the very top of my list of amenities that we have. I'm very aware that 'connectivity' is critical for travelers in this day and age.
If the Wi-Fi isn't connecting, PLEASE tell us while you're HERE - not after you've checked out!
It's a very simple fix. All I have to be told is that it is not connecting, and I resolve the issue. (Kinda like eating a meal somewhere and not liking the food; instead of talking to someone while you're THERE, one waits until the next day to WRITE about it??...) Doesn't make much sense.

If there are ANY issues or problems, please Let Us Know!! (Re: "non usable chair...) "It is VERY IMPORTANT to us that we have happy guests, and we work VERY HARD to make things as nice as possible!
Furniture in rooms has been getting changed out (albeit slowly) and upgraded when necessary and/or possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hermosa beach
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The motel is a little hard to find but well worth the trouble of finding it. Very quiet, Low price.
Good bed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank deserttraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My best advice is only stay in Weiser if you have to. We were driving from Hell's Canyon and didn't want to drive another hour to get to a bigger town, so decided to stop here. The town is just about void of anything to do or anyplace to eat, at least that we could find. The Colonial Motel is near what is called downtown and looks like it comes directly from the 1950s. Rooms are basic. The only strong point is it is very cheap, I think something like $45 a night. In all sincerity, it isn't worth much more. It is clean and quiet and did the job for us for one night. And for all I know, it may be the best place in town. Try to stay in some other town if you can.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank therman1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weiser hotels

boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

STAY AT THE COLONIAL MOTEL IN WEISER, IDAHO, it is a great little motel.
This small, historic motel is a small jewel (not a precious stone).
The motel's concierge is ROCKY THE CAT !
Kerry Kendall & his entire staff takes very good care of us.
The rates are low, The location is on Main street (convenient & easy to find).
The rooms are spotlessly clean. If you are staying over with Kerry---his cleaning staff does a great job EACH DAY you stay to clean your room. As with other small motels--the furniture is ole' fashioned. The towels are not so thick.
Each room does have air-conditioning & heat. The weather can be brutal (extreamly hot 0r extreamly cold). If you phone ahead--Kerry will run down to your room & turn heat on so that the temperature is great for you.
The t.v has many channels, Each room has a micro-wave, tiny refrigerator, coffee-pot.
This tiny mountain town only has 5 0r 6,000.00 population ;and, a couple of motels.
IT AIN'T THE RITZ ; But if you are after some incrediable service, a family friendly establishment run by a very nice man & his family, a unique & independent Motel---YOU MUST STAY AT THE COLONIAL MOTEL, in Weiser, Idaho.

.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Lonesometravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I have stayed at the Colonial 3 times now and with different members of my family and have always found the rooms clean, furniture in good repair and comfortable. The staff has always been courteous and helpful. One my last trip with my sister the microve kept messing up the air condition but with only one call to the office and he came and fixed every thing. We had clean towels and wash cloths every day. We had a smoke free room. The TV is with cable and works well. No internet service but not a number one thing we neede although it would be nice. The microwave and refrigerator all were clean and worked well. Have stayed in the cold weather and had no problem with the heater. We plan on staying there again this coming October and have our reservations made. Looking forward to a comforable stay.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff, Clean rooms
  • Disliked — no internet but so what
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyYakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weiser
24.4 km away
Best Western Inn & Suites
24.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario
24.7 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 10 in Ontario
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 10 in Ontario
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
24.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Ontario
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
24.6 km away
Ontario Inn
Ontario Inn
#5 of 10 in Ontario
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Property: Colonial Motel
Address: 251 East Main Street, Weiser, ID 83672
Region: United States > Idaho > Weiser
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Weiser
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Nice Rooms, Nice Prices & Friendly Folks" is what you can expect when you stay with us. 24 units - 1,2 or 3 beds; Four Kitchenettes. All Non Smoking Rooms. 2 blocks from downtown. Biker Friendly & Pet Friendly, so bring your Hogs or Dogs! 50 miles from Hells Canyon. Just off Hwy. 95 in Weiser. We strive to make our guests stay as affordable, comfortable and pleasant as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Weiser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing