We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely enchanting”
other travellers have booked this property
Summer Night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summer Night
View from the loft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Summer Night
View from the loft
Downstairs bedroom
Gazebo and bbq for outside dining
Look for Starfire cabin sign on your left on Sagle Road
Cozy up to the wood stove on a chilly night
Area Hike
Where you can find us :)
Kayaking on Idaho's largest lake - 7 minutes away!
Natural organic goodness from the Garden
More of Nature's Bounty from our 20+ year garden
Starfire Cabin garden
Peonies in the garden
Patrick,s cairn
Into the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sandpoint, Idaho

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Don Z
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely enchanting”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our 4 nights at StarFire cabin exceeded everything we had hoped for. The cabin is comfortable and lovely. The property is private and beautiful. Our hosts, George and Kristina, provided everything to make our stay memorable. George had more than enough wood for the stove inside, as well as, wood for the fire pit which we enjoyed sitting by in the evening. We can't say enough good things about this magical place. If you are looking for a charming cabin in the woods you need not look any farther. Coming from Hawaii we traded one paradise for another!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed the cabin, and enjoyed the amenities.It was great hearing your laughter around the campfire at night !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise K
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Cabin!”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

George and Kristina's hand-crafted cabin is an ideal getaway. The cabin is breathtaking. A rustic log cabin with modern amenities (electricity, plumbing, heat). It is located in a beautiful area with tons of hiking on the grounds and nearby. We are already planning our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cabin
Liked least: no cell reception (could be a good thing, too!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Thankyou so much ! We are delighted that you had such a good time, and hope that you will be back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa S
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the perfect place to go and get unplugged. No phone, no TV, no internet, no cell tower. It was brilliant- a perfectly relaxing two days. This beautiful log cabin, along with a lot of the furniture inside was crafted by hand by the owner using wood found on his 40 acre property. You can feel the love that went into it. I cannot say enough about the craftsmanship and quality. This is a getaway I will not soon forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance A
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
“Perfect Honeymoon?”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Is it nice to have cell phones that did not work,
we opened some wine and removed the stop.
We arrived for our stay with the wood fire burning,
how comforting the smell and warmth to sooth our souls.
Get up whenever and no need to panic,
organic coffee was on the shelf just like medicine.
No need to leave just bring clothes with you,
washer and dryer available to keep clothes fresh.
Stare all day at the large window t.v.,
watching drop leaves is good enough for us.
Jennifer came over to give us a massage,
together as a couple we were seeing a dream.
If this like couples to disappear for a while,
no disappointment from us we left with a hug.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and private
Liked least: No curtains
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
We are so glad that you were able to have a wonderful honeymoon and truly relax into the energy of the cabin and land.We hope you can visit us again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K
Sandpoint, Idaho
1 review
“In a Class of it's Own”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I had the privilege of staying - and completely unplugging - at Starfire Cabin and getting to know George and Kristina earlier this year. The level of care as well as craftsmanship in and out of the Cabin is exquisite yet grounding at the same time. I learned that virtually every element of the Cabin is custom and was done by hand, by the owners themselves. Of which I believe is behind the very real and tangible energy that I found profoundly nourishing on multiple levels during my stay.

As to the owners, both George and Kristina are salt of earth people who each have a unique energy similar to the very special energy that exits inside and out of the cabin. Every interaction I had with them - before, during and at the end of my Cabin stay - left me refreshed instead of drained.

I have lived and worked outdoors West of the Continental Divide for over 15 years. In that time I've gotten to intimately experience multiple types of physical environments and accommodations in the West, Northwest and Alaska. In all those years I've yet to experience anything like the 'The Starfire Cabin Experience'.

In summary, I view my total Starfire experience as a 6 star experience. For I've yet to directly experience (or even know of an experience) that compares to the combination of N.Idaho environment, Starfire Cabin, hosts George and Kristina and all that they have not only to offer, but genuinely provide.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ability to completely unplug from all devices while not having to give up comfort on any level in order to unplug
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thankyou, Kevin, for such a detailed review. You covered so many areas and we appreciate that you taking the time to write us up.We are thrilled that you had such a positive experience !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing