We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Should be a must-see

One of the few times there aren't good directions to reach a National Park site. But Google maps... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2018
rdgtchr
,
Astoria, Oregon
via mobile
An event that needs to be remembered

There is limited information available at the site, The visitor center said it was open, there was... read more

Reviewed 23 September 2018
1818Dee1818
,
Woodridge, Illinois
Read all 55 reviews
  
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
16
30
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
30
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guard tower world war ii visitor center sad history learn history twin falls national monument mile trail park ranger root cellar citizens plaques camp signage gravel information visitors
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

If more Americans understood the consequences of unjust racial profiling during WWII we wouldn't have the political jingoism we have today.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Nice to learn about this place and the people who had to endure it. It has a really great memorial wall for all the people that had to be here.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The fact that this feels so out in the middle of nowhere already feels historically important. Its proxy visitor center is miles away in the town of Hagerman. There is an app with a map and detailed information on various significant spots on a self-guided tour of the area, but I found it difficult to match what I was looking at physically (mostly foundations of buildings that no longer exist) to what the map was pointing at. It is probably easier to follow the map at the site, wander around, and read whatever placards you come across, then read the app for more details after the fact. I hope that there are plans for further restoration and improvement. What exists currently is very basic but just enough to inform and generate curiosity. Warning for summer months - there is little shade, and it can get very hot - bring sun protection!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Marilyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We missed seeing a visitor centre on site, it is yet to be built. It was really hot when we visited so bring sun protection and lots of water as it is remote if forecast is same, 96 the day we visited

Some original features remain and there are recreations of the guard towers and fences. The signage is helpful and there are audio presentations available. Washroom was a porta potti but it was clean and not unpleasant as I expected in the heat!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank BarbJ758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I wish they had left more of the original buildings. Even as it is has a high impact. It is located beside a river. There are only parts of little rock houses and there is also a watch tower.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Lulu1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews