We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Modern Hotel and Bar
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 123
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 214
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 202
The Grove Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 220
US$ 198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 127
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn America(Boise)(Great Value!)
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Boise/Towne Square(Boise)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveller rating
432
224
66
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
224
66
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel lodgerain showermid centurybig city coffeedowntown boisehuge showercontinental breakfastfun place to stayyogurtsoaking tubquiet roomclose to downtownhippitstravelodgeretroidaho
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
639 - 644 of 759 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here one night based on a high recommendation from a friend. Very cool concept and it almost works. We liked the design of the rooms but they just didn't have a good balance, especially the bathroom. The style is high end but it somehow clashes with the fact that the hotel used to be a crappy, concrete establishment. It gives off a David Lynch-like feel which can be cool but somewhat unsettling for a good, romantic evening. Plus, the rooms stayed quite cold, especially the bathroom, even with the heat on for a few hours. The drinks down in the bar were good and the vibe nice and cozy. Other people seem to really like the place so perhaps I'm being too critical or have stayed at too many concept hotels that really work. Its good, just not great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piddyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My husband I go to Boise quarterly to do some volunteer work for a nonprofit and discovered the Modern Hotel and Bar on Trip Advisor. It was newly renovated with a fun retro chic style decor, had a lively bar and was very affordable for downtown at $99/night. Our only complaint was that the room was kind of cold when we first arrived so we turned on the heat. Later that night, it got so hot that I turned the heat off completely. To be honest, I didn't spend much time looking at the controls so it could have been operator (me) error. Would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IdahoCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

From the outside, this looks like a nicely renovated Travelodge. (I seriously think it was) but renovated by some people with really good taste who have traveled a lot. Once you get past the weirdness of your door opening to the great outdoors, the following features are nice:
-Great location downtown, but not in a noisy area.
-The most mind-blowing orange juice and Grapefruit juice every squeezed from fruit.
-Busy and lively bar with bartenders who are passionate about making a good cocktail. For heaven's sake they have two sizes of ice cubes!! If they tweak out about that, you can only imagine the lengths they go to make a good drink.
-Outdoor courtyard with gas and rock fireplaces in the place where the pool used to be
-Very comfortable beds & high end bath amenities from Aveda
-Ceiling mounted shower head in a huge shower.
-Perfect WiFi in the room and elsewhere
-Coffee is excellent

The following things are not so great:

-The shower made a very loud foghorn noise for about 5 minutes after you turn it on.
-Boise is not warm in the winter and thus every time you open the door, the entire room chills
-Desk/work area is way too narrow for serious business travelers who work in their rooms and the work lighting is poor.
-The continental breakfast is minimalist, which turns out to be kind of lame (other than the mind-blowing orange juice and coffee) It is toast, granola, milk and bagels. Period.

Overall, it was a fun place to stay and definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We are impressed by the high-end decor, Aveda toiletries and the helpfulness of the staff. They accomodated our dogs and 14' trailer, as we are moving across country. We had the best meal of our trip at the Modern Bar. We thought we'd go for cocktails and apps but were hooked by the sophisticated atmosphere and delicious fare. Definitely a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelbyLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The Modern was an excellent stay and the bed was very comfortable. I can see how in summer it could get loud there, as there is not a lot of noise cancellation through walls and such. It was a bit noisy when we returned from our concert, but settled not long after. The morning was a bit noisy too, as we could hear the whole hall waking up.

We were within walking distance of everything cool in Boise. We enjoyed the concert we went to at The Knitting Factory and only had a 1/2 mile walk back to our warm, comfy bed. The shower was fun, as it was a rainfall type shower. The room was utilitarian and minimalistic, but met our tastes. Breakfast was nice. I wish they had toasted the croissants. Overall, it was a nice experience and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They have a few pet friendly rooms. I liked the balcony room so we were away from the bar and didn't have anyone above us.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asugargreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews