We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home Away From Home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Boise Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Boise Downtown
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Vista, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife and I went to Boise for a wedding last week. We submitted a bid through Priceline for a 3-star in Downtown Boise and wound up with good value at the Residence Inn by Marriott. The location was convenient to the wedding reception at the Zoo Boise of all places. Also nearby were Boise State University and the many government offices.

The staff at the Residence Inn was consistently outstanding, especially at the front desk and the dining area. Daily breakfast was good, somewhat varied daily and all you could eat. We got a free buffet dinner one evening including beer/wine. The room we had was large and included a full kitchen and fireplace. Furnishings were adequate, but not plush. The room was quiet except for very slight noise from the room overhead and the furnace coming on at night. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but the pillows were marginal. There was one PC with Internet access. It wasn't speedy and occasionally locked up. Still, we were able to check-in for our return flight and print our boarding passes.

We visited another family member staying at the Hampton Inn/Spectrum in West Boise. The furnishings there were considerably more plush, but the room itself was considerably smaller and with no kitchen or fireplace. The Spectrum/Mall area has newer stores and restaurants than where we stayed. We enjoyed our time at the Residence Inn, especially at a favorable Priceline rate.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1413, at the far end from the lobby. Other than one day when it was raining hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gringoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    51
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
51
25
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Cannot express how accommodating this hotel is. We do staycations here as often as we can. This is our "home away from home", and we love this hotel. The front desk gal (Nikayla) was very friendly. She is fairly new, but knew exactly what she was doing. She made our stay even more enjoyable. Everything we needed, i.e. extra towels and pillows, were provided with a smile. As one of the maintenance workers, Wayne, was leaving, we mentioned that there were a couple of bees/wasps near the hot tub. Even though he was off work, he wanted to see if there was something he could do to help us out. Problem solved. Kudos to Nikayla, Wayne, and Jeff! Our room, as usual, was clean and very comfortable. The hot tub relaxing. The full kitchen allows us to bring our own food and stay in for dinner. The fireplace is an added benefit! (If you forget, or are unable, to bring a fire-log, they will provide you one for a very small charge.) TripAdvisor will only allow us to post a review of this property every 6 months or so. We stay here at least once a month, and have never had a bad experience. Thank you all for making our night out another memorable staycation! See you soon.

Room Tip: We love the "second" hot tub, near building 12 or 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, MD
Level Contributor
386 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed there 4 nights. Staff is exceptional! They provided shuttle or cab service for me several times. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with full kitchen. They will do grocery shopping if you give them a list. Breakfast is wonderful... several hot items, oatmeal with toppings, great coffee, fruit, cereal, etc. I went to one of the managers' receptions... they had hamburgers, chicken sandwiches, cole slaw, potato salad, brownies, and beverages including wine and beer. Used their computer in the lobby... it always worked well. Although they do not have an indoor pool, they will send guests to In Towne Suites across the parking lot, and they will send their guests to Residence Inn during the summer for their outdoor pool. I used the indoor pool once, and it was great. Wonderful stay; exceptional staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlhjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

As a Marriott frequent traveler, I chose this over the Courtyard for a recent trip to Boise, and I wasn't disappointed.

On a scale of 1-5, with 1 being very tired and 5 being brand new, this Residence Inn is a solid 4. I was upgraded to a "penthouse" which is a unit with a small kitchen, a sitting area, a room with a queen-sized bed and a loft with a king.

The breakfasts were a little above average (in addition to the usual cereals, fruit, eggs and meat there was usually some sort of "sandwich" option - like a sausage and cheese biscuit or a breakfast burrito) and while they also had mid-week evening events I usually was out so I can't comment on them.

The best part of this hotel is the shuttle service - if you are in town for business, you can skip renting a car. Most days I just walked the mile or so to the State Capitol (follow Capitol on the hotel side until you cross the river and it will turn into 9th - cross the street toward 8th, etc. and you will be the heart of downtown) but on days where it was raining I just hopped in the shuttle for a quick ride downtown. Considering how bad parking can be, this is a huge plus.

In short, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sortova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here on a combined business/leisure trip to Boise. The location of this hotel is great: very near to Boise State campus and not far from all the offerings of downtown. You can also walk to the Boise Depot, if you don't mind an uphill hike.

Caveat: I probably would have loved this hotel had we not stayed the previous two nights at a competitor suites hotel in Boise. Since we did, this hotel suffered in comparison. I think they are doing a great job with a slightly older property with an 'unusual' layout. This layout (think condo or townhome or apartment) would probably be appealing to some people or travelers, but on cold January mornings, I just wanted to be able to eat breakfast w/o having to put on my coat and venture across the parking lot to the main building. I found the breakfast offerings to be fine, but the breakfast room is cramped and a little dated (again, they are doing the best they can with the property they have).

The room itself was clean and had an impressive full kitchen. The bed was comfy. I liked the "rolling" end tables/work tables that we could move around the room to use as work or eating surfaces. I loved the little white board/key holder thingy right inside the door--cute idea and it came in handy for us. However, our suite had a tub that drained very sloooowly, so that you were showering in water above your ankles. We opted for a room downstairs (so that we didn't have to drag out luggage upstairs) but our upstairs neighbors (a visiting basketball team) made us regret that choice. I swear they were playing basketball above us! Also, we found it odd/frustrating that there were no lights in the center of the room--making it hard to use the sofa/TV area for work as it was too dim for us. Be advised that the heating system is quite loud--whenever it came on, we had to significantly increase the volume on the TV in order to be able to hear above the noise (sorry to our neighbors!).

Is this an awful hotel? No, far from it. It's tastefully appointed with lots of amenities in the suites and a great location. Just a few issues, many of which come from the age/layout of the hotel. I'm sure it's a fabulous place for many travelers.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs, get an upstairs room to avoid thumping above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiberryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.1 km away
TownePlace Suites Boise Downtown
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
1.8 km away
Courtyard Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Boise University Area
3.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Boise ParkCenter
1.5 km away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#7 of 55 in Boise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boise Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boise Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Boise Downtown
Address: 1401 S Lusk Pl, Boise, ID 83706-2863
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Boise
#21 Business Hotel in Boise
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,696 - ₹ 15,189
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boise Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Boise Downtown offers a great combination for Boise Hotels; a hotel near downtown, a hotel close to BSU and that provides all the services and amenities you need like free airport shuttle, free breakfast buffet and large spacious suites. Whether you need a Boise hotel for business or you are traveling to Boise for fun, you will enjoy all the great amenities that make us Residence Inn by Marriott. You can enjoy our free breakfast buffet and our complimentary wireless internet or perhaps relax outside at our outdoor pool. You can stay on track by using our exercise room or get out and enjoy the scenery and run or bike along the Boise River Greenbelt. This Boise Marriott hotel is near Downtown Boise, near Boise State University, Micron, HP, Gowen Field, NIFC and other Federal Government or State Government offices. This Boise hotel is close to all the fun activities the city can offer including "Alive after Five", Art in the Park, Albertson's Boise Open, and BSU football games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Boise Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boise Hotel Boise
Boise Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing