We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
60
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kilpatrick hills clyde estuary views are amazing glasgow city thought of everything everything you could possibly need home from home location is ideal short drive wonderful stay on arrival wi fi welcome basket cameron house highland cows leigh anne log burner
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Absolutely perfect base for an exploring the Kilpatrick Hills and watching New Year Eve in Glasgow in the warm with a glass of champagne. My husband grew up nearby and his family couldn’t believe what a gem the cottages were.

Alex and Leigh-Anne provided a warm welcome and provided much needed reassurance when the snow threatened our arrival.

Now trying to find a date to return

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Am0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, Owner at Gavinburn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Alice,
Many thanks for the feedback and we love the headline. We are glad you could come and stay at Gavinburn for Hogmany and even happier that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Alex & Leigh-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Had a fabulous weeks holiday staying in the Glenlivet. The cottage is homely and equipped with every thing you need. The attention to detail from the owners is superb!! Views across the river Clyde are amazing and from the top near Loch Humphrey !

Great communication from Alex throughout.

Easy train journeys into both Glasgow and Edinburgh .

The spa at Cameron House was amazing, the hot stones massage was the best ever. The burger in the Claret Jug was superb.

Also recommend the fish and chips from Old Kilpatrick !!

Will definitely look to revisit !!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anitab4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, Owner at Gavinburn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Anita,
Thanks for the positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your first stay at Gavinburn.
We often hear good reports about the spa at Cameron House from our guests and we are lucky to have it so close to us. The new fish and chip shop in the village is a welcome addition to Old Kilpatrick and very handy for our guests! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

If you are looking for a true home from home then Gavinburn Cottages are the place for you. Access to Glasgow City or Loch Lomond are at your fingertips either by car or train. A break in the cotttages places you literally in the landscape and the views are amazing. We have stayed in a variety of the Gavinburn cottages over the last few years and can honestly say that all are extremely well equipped. The cottages are warm and cosy, not easy to achieve on a Scottish hillside! Lovely to open the curtains in the morning to a view across Glasgow and Heilan Coos (Highland Cows) just outside the window.
It is good to know that any issues or questions can be put to Alex and he will respond promptly and comprehensively. You’d be daft not to use these cottages as your base.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, Owner at Gavinburn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Maggie,
Thank you for your review and your continued custom. Its good to hear feedback about our handy location. I think the coos are missing you all, as they have been up at the gate looking for treats! Hopefully we can welcome you back again, soon.
Kind regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Cottage was well equipped and clean. Views in both directions... Erskine bridge and planes one way and peaceful river the other. Our cottage did not have an upstairs loo... bit of a pain when you are of a certain age... and didnt realise when we booked.
Owners are very apologetic about the shared road which is in a bad way in places,.... not a problem if you drive very slowly.. but a careering pair of cyclists caused us to graze the bottom of the car. Be aware that this is part of a small complex. Fortunately we felt sociable and happy to join the extended wedding party celebrations next door.... and weren't too bothered about their guests trooping past our door for a couple of days.

Room tip: check if you want loo on same floor as bedroom... think ony one property has this issue
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WandaG147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, Owner at Gavinburn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Wanda,
Thank you for taking time to give feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the views and found the Glengoyne cottage clean and well equipped.
The road as you know is not owned by ourselves and the owner is in dispute with the Forestry Commission and wont allow us to patch the potholes until the dispute is resolved. Hopefully we can get the road situation resolved soon. As you said, the potholes aren't an issue if drivers take their time, when they approach the short, affected stretch of tarred road. Im sorry you weren't aware that there wasn't an upstairs loo. We do state on the website that the shower room is located on the ground floor. We have 3 other cottages where all rooms are on the ground floor so hopefully we can book you into one of them, if you ever wish to return and hopefully we will have the potholes filled in!
Kind regards
Alex & Leigh-Anne

Just to clarify to any readers, The Glengoyne has two bedrooms upstairs with a wc/shower room, kitchen and lounge downstairs. The Auchentoshan has a wc/bathroom, lounge and kitchen downstairs and four bedrooms and a wc/shower room upstairs. The Glenmorangie has all accommodation on ground level. These three cottages are housed in the Victorian terrace of cottages, as seen on our website and the Auchentoshan guests do have to walk past your front lounge window to get to their cottage. The Macallan & Glenlivet are the two semi detached new cottages and they have all rooms on the ground floor. They are located 40 yards away from the Victorian terrace, across the car park. As you can see, its not a busy "complex" and there is plenty of peace and tranquility to be had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Wanted a few nights away where we could visit the usual sights of this part of Scotland. We stayed in the Glengoyne - fantastic cottage, very clean and extremely comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Add in the views, log burner, food hamper, Wi-Fi and the fact that they are also dog-friendly - it all added up to a fantastic stay. Alex and Leigh-Anne you've set the bar high for others - but then dont think about going elsewhere! Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank KeithnRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, Owner at Gavinburn Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Keith & Rach
Many thanks for the review and we are delighted to hear we are setting standards. Its always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and hopefully you can return sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews